R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2003, 12:41 PM   #6616
Tech Elite
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,978
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trackdesigner71 Send a message via Yahoo to trackdesigner71
Default

Sounds like you need to seal your diff if there is nothing lubricating in there. Id put some fresh lube in there seal the diff and try again
trackdesigner71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 12:59 PM   #6617
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I have no lube on my gears and the bearings have been flushed and I can get about 10-15 seconds of wheel spin. I have one spacer on the input gear pushing it towards the rear diff and no spacers on the Diff.

In the Front I have it like the books says but no spacer on the DIff.

I have trimmed the bearing holders.

Lubing the gears slows down the freeness....but makes the gear mesh quieter.

How do you have your stuff shimmed?

Last edited by mike_Webb; 10-24-2003 at 02:17 PM.
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 01:29 PM   #6618
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

uh no lube at all that dont sound good does it hurt anything???....and really it spins better and not as loud im might do that for when i race sunday on pavment
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:16 PM   #6619
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I have not run the car yet..I built the tranny only so far. I broke it in for 45 min with a 10 turn motor at 5amps with 0 timing. I would stop it occasionally to check the gears and nothing.

Then I hooked up my speed controller and ran the car forward and Hard Break for the full pack.

After that was done I took the motor out and spun the tranny and you could really tell a difference beteween the rotation from when I first did it and after breakin.

If any lube got on my gears it would have been from the diff balls. But this is what I have done so far and I see no problems with the white gears.
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:23 PM   #6620
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

what about the stock gears??? dont the white gears have some kind of lube in the plastic?
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:33 PM   #6621
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Stock Gears that I had last year I never put anything on them. This is my first time with the white gears and I am doing the same thing with them that I did with the stock gears
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:35 PM   #6622
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vere513
what about the stock gears??? dont the white gears have some kind of lube in the plastic?
No lube, the white ones are just not dyed to have color
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:36 PM   #6623
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
Stock Gears that I had last year I never put anything on them. This is my first time with the white gears and I am doing the same thing with them that I did with the stock gears
You should, the only difference is, is that they do not have the color.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:37 PM   #6624
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

so not lubing the stock gears wont hurt them at all? and it spins better than if it hade lube? b.c right now my car is in a million places in my room and i want to try it out
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:44 PM   #6625
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default Re: Motor Clamp

Quote:
Originally posted by Shayd
Hi all,

Anyone ever have the problem where no matter how tight you tighten down the motor clamp/heatsink the motor remains loose enough that under power it eventually pulls away from the spur giving you that really nice grinding sound?

I had that problem on Saturday. No matter what I did it wouldn't keep the motor from pulling away. I mic'd the motor cam and it was round and .870. Checked against a brand new one and exactly the same diameter. Had the original motor clamp/heatsink so spent the cash and bought the FT one with the larger fins. Same exact problem. DNF first qual, had to run to pit in second qual to reset pinion and finished fast enough to get 3rd position in B main. Then in B-main happened again just after I took the lead, and I just walked off totally frustrated.

After I got home and chilled out here is what I did to fix it so that it clamps the motor. After I had time to sit down at home and look at it without getting all frustrated again(like at the track that night.)

On the spring side I took a flat file and basically filed down that little ridge where the screw goes into the chassis, and then took it down a bit further. Now the motor stays in place.

Anyone else EVER have this happen?

Scott
Just out of curiosity, do you race in very hot weather?
Were you running modified?
Was your motor overgeared at anytime in the life of your chassis?

When your motor is HOT, it heats up the Cam on the motor. As this is hot, it could start to liquify that section of your chassis, causing the Cam to "sink" in the chassis. Giving more "play" between the cam and the motor clamp.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:46 PM   #6626
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

what do u mean by "you should"
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:47 PM   #6627
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vere513
so not lubing the stock gears wont hurt them at all? and it spins better than if it hade lube? b.c right now my car is in a million places in my room and i want to try it out
Although you could do this, I would not recomend it. The gears will wear out quicker, and be much louder than if you did have lube in the gears.

Just use the lube, but not too much. That way the drivetrain should be freeish, and the gears will last longer than with no lube.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:52 PM   #6628
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vere513
what do u mean by "you should"
I meant that you should lube the "white" gears as you would the "black" gears.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:52 PM   #6629
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

how much lube should i use
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 02:59 PM   #6630
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

It should be about feel when you are lubing the gears on the TC3. I use a "blob" of lube with the diameter a little less than the ring gear's teeth. This is per gear box, so twice as much for the front and the rear.

That is what I use for my gear boxes...
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:46 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net