R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2003, 12:32 PM   #6301
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,055
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Me+RC=$$$
Rookie, I am having the SAME problem as you. I just got the car ready for the races and took it out to test. I nailed it and it went straight, I came back, went straight, turned around, and it started to go to the left, so I adjusted the throttle trim (left) and it came back to me going off to the left, so now I have to take the front end apart and check everything before this weekend. I have a lot of stuff to do in so little time Dremel my buddies TC3, rebuild the front end of my car, build some battery packs, cut the comms on some motors and do the usualy maintence.....I love this hobby
Yep! This sport sure gives you alot to do. Just one thing though - why were you adjusting the throttle trim when you noticed the car pulling to the left?
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 12:34 PM   #6302
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,876
Default

horatio the hole i am refering to is an extra shock mounting point not the hole for the droop screw i think they dont produce that anymore since about 2 years ago there is another version with droop screw and 2 shock holes!
__________________
Pemberton / R1 / All out motorsports / Team Power Push
speedxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 12:53 PM   #6303
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,055
Default

Version 1 arms don't have droop screw holes though do they? Version 2 arms I thought come with the extra shock position and a droop screw hole.

Or have I got this wrong?
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 01:01 PM   #6304
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,055
Talking

speedxl:

U R quite right - there are 3 versions of the arms!!

Sorry mate!!!

On my oldest TC3, the arms have no droop screws and only 1 shock position. I thought this was version 1 arm!
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 02:21 PM   #6305
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Horatio
Version 1 arms don't have droop screw holes though do they? Version 2 arms I thought come with the extra shock position and a droop screw hole.

Or have I got this wrong?
Yeah thats right i think
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 02:27 PM   #6306
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

Actually i think there are 3 versions, first batch of arms had no droop and only one mounting hole, the second version had droop holes and still only one mounting hole, and the updated version had droop holes and two mounting positions.
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 02:30 PM   #6307
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just checked my pit box and yeah, ive got one with one hole and no droop, one with a hole and droop, and on my car atm ive got two holes and droop.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 03:03 PM   #6308
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ROOKIE: I have had friends of mine have problems with the digital FET servos. (mainly in nitro 1/8th scale offroad) The potentiometer inside is controlled by a field effect transitor (FET) for more accuracy and power... in cases of hard impacts, common in a TC3... the potentiometer can go bad and never center, causing the car to wander. This may be the more technical side of your problem. Sending it to the manufacturer is the only solution. There are quite a few other fixes mentioned on here that are worth a look see... try this too... if your nuts for holding the steering rack in place are the big black plastic ones that come with the kit, and you tighten them too much... even just a smidge.. it will make the servo work hard to center... no matter what servo you have. You can tell by hearing the servo buzzing all the time when at center... and the chassis is off of the ground... tires in the air. I personally use the T3 steering bearings (4 of them) in my TC3 rack. They are the same size as the ASC TC3 bearings, but flanged to replace the washers on the bottom and top of the rack. I use a Trinity motor shim kit to space the bearings just right to have minimal slop, and totally free movement of the rack with no binding. I also use the ASC small pattern 4-40 aluminum locknuts to hold it all in place... they just press against the inner race of the bearing... and cause no drag on the outer part of the bearing. (you can also adjust bump steer by adding washers under the lower bearing to raise/lower the rack as a fine adjustment) I agree the bearings can get gritty and require more maintenance... but blowing off the car with an air compressor, available at most tracks, will help aid in their longevity. I have used the same set since the car came out years ago... but i do quite a bit of maintenance to my car. If you are interested, lemme know, ill post pics for more detail tomorrow. I have to get into bed for work tonight.... SEE YA!
-Dave
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 04:23 PM   #6309
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,337
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

The flanged bearings are a great idea, Dave. Do you have any pics?

I didn't mention the servo, yet, because I just wanted to get the "duh" things out of the way first - I've usually found that this problem is usually because of nuts too tight, dirt "crap" in the rack, stuff like that.

easy to check, and then go for the expensive fix!
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 05:06 PM   #6310
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Default settup for tc3

what kind of settup should i run at Trackside with a tc3 with
rubber tires? I have not ran their with rubber yet.
Jmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 05:49 PM   #6311
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Try Barry Baker's US Touring Car Championship setup (2002) on the AE site.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 06:53 PM   #6312
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

Here's what I used for rubbers, and my car was dialed:

Protoform Alfa Romeo 2 body (but any body should work good with this setup)

Front suspension:
Shocks stood up all the way
Lower mounting hole in version 1 arm position
Associated Red springs
40 wt oil
#2 pistons
1 toe out
-2 camber
Take-off 27 tires
Inner ball stud in the upper inner hole
Battary located up front

Rear suspension:
Upper shock mount in middle hole
Lower mounting hole in version 1 arm position
Associated red springs
40 wt. oil
#2 piston
2 toe in
-2 camber
take off 27 tires
Outer ball stud in upper hole
Inner ball studs in the upper inner holes


This set-up works great, its the best set-up I've ever driven with my tc3. And if you want to run foams all you have to do to is is change the oil to a heavier oil and put harder springs on it. Thats what I did and it worked great.

Last edited by racerdx6; 10-01-2003 at 09:39 PM.
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 06:56 PM   #6313
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

just some food for thought...

when i started to use the rear tower up front i noticed a large ammount of push(through out the middle of the corner), then i corrected this by running the battery up front, so bassically when you run the rear tower it stiffens the shocks by the way that they are angled. it creates an agressive enter to the corner and an overall push for the whole corner, thus running a softer suspension would also make this work well up front.

i have been using the rear tower for about 9-10 months, and it works great
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 08:03 PM   #6314
Tech Regular
 
Me+RC=$$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Me+RC=$$$ Send a message via Yahoo to Me+RC=$$$
Default

Quote:
Yep! This sport sure gives you alot to do. Just one thing though - why were you adjusting the throttle trim when you noticed the car pulling to the left?
Sorry about that, I mean steering, had a brain fart, just be glad you weren't here to smell it
Me+RC=$$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 08:09 PM   #6315
Tech Regular
 
Me+RC=$$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Me+RC=$$$ Send a message via Yahoo to Me+RC=$$$
Default

Quote:
if your nuts for holding the steering rack in place are the big black plastic ones that come with the kit, and you tighten them too much... even just a smidge.. it will make the servo work hard to center... no matter what servo you have. You can tell by hearing the servo buzzing all the time when at center... and the chassis is off of the ground... tires in the air
DaveW....I love you right about now.....I think that was my problem
Me+RC=$$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:26 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net