R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2003, 11:19 PM   #5611
Tech Regular
 
RAP66's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default uneven suspension?????

I was giving my car the work over and noticed that the left side Arm doesnt sit at the same height as the right arm (my car is original with no droop screws, I have been updating my car as parts get damaged - very rare) Has any one noticed this on their car as well???
__________________
Rich Pedro

rap66@rcracing.com

www.rcracing.com
RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:29 PM   #5612
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Check how many internal limiting spacers are in your shocks. If its the same then check how long the shocks are, make sure one side doesn't have the shock end unscrewed mroe than the other.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:31 PM   #5613
Tech Regular
 
RAP66's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Axiom...
I should have added that the shocks were off the car, just the arms with the linkages, matter of fact even with the linkages off their is a visible difference
__________________
Rich Pedro

rap66@rcracing.com

www.rcracing.com
RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:07 AM   #5614
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

ive had that problem hardjoker, that was a couple years ago when i had a racer kit, it was the way the ball cups were screwed on the turnbuckles considering everything else was not binding, Try some RPM ball cups, that should solve your problem.
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:12 AM   #5615
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

Dont get too worried about it though, the suspension arms dont ever drop down that low anyways with the shocks on. I would recomend getting the new arms with droop screws, it makes it so much easier and you dont have to get the new chassis.
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:17 AM   #5616
Tech Regular
 
RAP66's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OK... I wont worry about it much... I was concerned because my car(s) this is my stock setup, is starting to show an inconsistant left turn. Sometimes the car runs fine with no problem, and sometimes it hooks as if the suspension was gone, like loosing a shock or running the car 3wheel drive.
__________________
Rich Pedro

rap66@rcracing.com

www.rcracing.com
RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 04:30 PM   #5617
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Check to make sure nothing is binding in the suspension. If its not that then i'd say you might have a twisted chassis...might be time for a new one. At least you can get droop screws
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:10 PM   #5618
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Got Diff?

Please enlighten me on front Diff setups for the Tc3. I know of the one way, and i know of running it standard, and i know of locking it up. I would think that locking it up would create less on power steering and give you the feeling of having the rear end more stuck. It would also give you a bit more off throttle braking and better launch. What are other opinions on it? Ian
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:44 PM   #5619
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Torque Steer

I have an excessive amount of torque steer when I hit the throttle on my TC3. I bought the new chassis and arms, and the car is balanced. What would cause the car to steer to the left when I hit full throttle ??
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:51 PM   #5620
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

Have you checked the tweak? How old is the chassis? Do you remove the motor after every run?
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:55 PM   #5621
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by James Nguyen
Have you checked the tweak? How old is the chassis? Do you remove the motor after every run?
Chassis is new. There is no tweak and the car has no races on it....yet

Thx James. What do you think ? How's Billy and Tracy at Speedworld ? Tell them Roger Serafin said hello.
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:57 PM   #5622
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,508
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Roger do you run a one-way?
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:58 PM   #5623
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

Billy and Tracy are great. Ill let them know. have you checked the camber/toe and all that?
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 08:38 PM   #5624
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOTMAN
Roger do you run a one-way?
Yes, two one-ways. Diff and shaft. I was thinking about taking off the shaft one-way cause I think that may be the problem. I'll switch it out right now and i'll let you guys know.

James: camber is set a 2 degrees front and rear with 3 degrees of rear toe-in; - .5 on the front.

thx guys for helping me out
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 08:58 PM   #5625
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

it could be the center one way, ive never ran it and dont know anyone who does. i only run the front one.
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net