R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2003, 08:43 AM   #5236
Tech Adept
 
Finsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default

now let's see after having all 3 kits did i ever go around any thread to bash other cars???i wonder if you ever did own a tc3
Finsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 08:49 AM   #5237
Tech Adept
 
Finsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default

one more for TRF...hope u aint faint hearted
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3cuda.jpg (30.6 KB, 197 views)
Finsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 08:55 AM   #5238
Tech Adept
 
Finsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default Re: FINSY

Quote:
Originally posted by lem2
Great Car!!!! (IRS-FTTC3)

Question sir: What is that thing you placed on the front brace that looks like it was connected to the C-hub?

Is that a torque Rod?? Could you discus or explain that Hot Mod you did. If its a secret--- please share it hehehehe!!
Thanks!!
sir - it isnt a secret at all...i just did it on all my kits from express swauger/414m2/cuda ...i just like the feeling of the stiffer support the front end has using trque rod....some ppl says it does help on getting more steering...i'm not sure though...i'm pretty much new to rc ....try it and tell me what you feel by putting a torque rod...your feedback would be really appreciated as i'm always trying to learn more new stuffs bout setups
Finsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 09:00 AM   #5239
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default FINSY

I guess I have to agree with you, personally the torque rods seem to help me. I have it in my 04-R and used to have it in my Pro3.

Could you please explain what and how you did it? ARe you using stock AE C hubs?
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 09:17 AM   #5240
Tech Adept
 
Finsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default

lem2 - i used a torque rod for Express kit and also very short turnbucles with Kawada short captured ball cup...hope this picture helps...if not just ask away
Attached Images
File Type: jpg torquerod.jpg (76.6 KB, 200 views)
Finsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 09:43 AM   #5241
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,343
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

That will change the geometry of the front arm. . .making it a semi-trailing arm and would make more backward caster as the suspension is depressed. . . the way it looks (slightly slanted upward) it would decrease the amount of caster slightly as the arm moves down. . .

How do you find it affects your steering? The car's behavior?
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 11:10 AM   #5242
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

finsy i own a wcr and have driven other peoples tc3 and there just isnt any comparison the wcr just pisses it right up.

also ive tried torque rods and gives less stering due to increase in caster and changes suspesion geomatry when the ride height changes.
i personally dont like toque rods.
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 11:36 AM   #5243
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,343
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

trf - so go talk on THAT forum.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 11:38 AM   #5244
Tech Adept
 
Cracker78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Cracker78
Default

Wouldn't those torque rods cause the suspension to bind up because the rod is trying to pull/push the c-block backward/forwards and the c-block doesnt move that way because of how it is hinge pinned to the a-arm. I suppose it could work depending on how much slop there is in the joint where the c-block and a-arm are hinged. Just curious...
Cracker78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 12:07 PM   #5245
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

cracker-as the suspension rolls it can begin to ben the c-hub slightly. there is also a possiblity that it can bind the suspension too. i have seen that happen with torque rod set ups.

i say we ignore this trf racer, he will go away just like all the rest of the flamers that come on these forums, none of them every stay for long.
__________________
www.rikter-designs.com

jarrod@rikter-designs.com
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 12:48 PM   #5246
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

spastic iam here to stay
cracker78 they can bind as the suspension moves up and down but even if it doesnt it still changes the geomatry.
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 01:41 PM   #5247
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 508
Angry

TRF,

If you are going to persist in being a pain in the backside:

AT LEAST YOU COULD BE LITERATE!!!
Racin Rev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 01:54 PM   #5248
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by trf man
tc3 are sh't. tamiya 414 m 2 wcr and tb evo 2 ,3 are even better.on low grip tracks the best a tc3 can do is last in the b final!
I think mommy has your bottle warmed up for you. It's even got the new fluorescent yellow green nipple on it just like you wanted....lmao...you're a joke!
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 04:31 PM   #5249
Tech Regular
 
Hooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rich Valley, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Finsy
Pic of my ride:-

posted specially for "Hooked" ...
Sweet ride Finsy ... I think the IRS chassis looks so trick ... I have thought about switching, but haven't as of yet ...

I was going to ask you about the bracing (torque rod) in front but I see that it has been explained ...
Hooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 05:35 PM   #5250
Tech Master
 
Dave Bowser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,427
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default fan

do any of you guys know the dc volts and the mh of the fans the ae team ran at the reedy race or what do you run thanks
__________________
RCAmerica, X-Ray, Hudy, Ko Propo, Protoform, PRS, Jaco, JConcepts, SXT, RC3 Grafix, Kool-Aid, P-Nut, NEXT, www.SuperiorHobbies.com

We're going to skate to one song and one song only!
Dave Bowser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:27 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net