R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2003, 01:19 PM   #5011
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

I believe yokomo makes the oneways for the cars now, TC3 and NTC3.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 01:21 PM   #5012
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: TC3 One-way

Quote:
Originally posted by seamus0g
Anyone know what happened to the ae one-way for the TC3? I can't find any info about it on the Ass site, and it doesn't show up searching on Horizon and Tower. Has it been discontinued? I found a part number searching on Google, 3938, but such a part number doesn't show up on the ae parts list or any of the online catalogs. What's the deal? Thx.
Try the Yokomo TC3 one-way it's alot more durable...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 02:02 PM   #5013
Tech Adept
 
seamus0g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 141
Default

Thanks for the info guys. Also I just was informed by my LHS that Ass changed part # to 3978... which might be the Yoko in an AE package a la the NTC3 HD oneway... but who knows.
seamus0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 04:05 PM   #5014
Tech Apprentice
 
Stevie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: england/NOTTS
Posts: 85
Default

HI EVERY ONE-
Ive just got myself a FT TC3-i got it pre-built-but when i hold it & put the power on it vibrates like hell.?.
Is there any waY i can fix this.??.
also the main shaft has 3/4mm paly,is this normal
Please help
steve
Stevie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 07:51 PM   #5015
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to AssociatedRacer
Default Re: TC3 One-way

Quote:
Originally posted by seamus0g
Anyone know what happened to the ae one-way for the TC3? I can't find any info about it on the Ass site, and it doesn't show up searching on Horizon and Tower. Has it been discontinued? I found a part number searching on Google, 3938, but such a part number doesn't show up on the ae parts list or any of the online catalogs. What's the deal? Thx.

I believe it has, because they are making a new H.D. one or something, and also you can buy the Yokomo Heavy Duty one.

Check on www.speedtechrc.com they have it
AssociatedRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 11:32 PM   #5016
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

The vibration could be a few things the most common one is your tires are probably out of balance. Just like a real car, unbalanced wheels can cause vibrations. I use an airplane propeller balancer to do mine. They don't have to be perfect but when you glue up tires, there usually is a spot with too much glue or the tired and or wheel them selves will have a heavy spot. Just try to counter the heavy spot with some lead tape. It works nicely.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 03:15 AM   #5017
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I believe the new part number for the one way is 3978 and stormer has them.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 05:42 AM   #5018
Tech Apprentice
 
Stevie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: england/NOTTS
Posts: 85
Default

the tyres & wheels have not been used-& it vibrates when i hold it in my hands.?.
The car is also brand new..
thanx for the surgestion
regard's
stevie
Stevie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 05:45 AM   #5019
Tech Adept
 
AGR#7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 106
Default Selling everything - just to let you all know!

On eBay..........

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...gory=2565&rd=1

Feel free to contact me. Thanks!!!
AGR#7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 02:40 PM   #5020
Tech Adept
 
driftmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Rock,AR
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stevie
HI EVERY ONE-
Ive just got myself a FT TC3-i got it pre-built-but when i hold it & put the power on it vibrates like hell.?.
Is there any waY i can fix this.??.
also the main shaft has 3/4mm paly,is this normal
Please help
steve
Hey Stevie,
Put a drop or two of oil in the Diff out drives wher the dog bones
go in. They bind up sometimes and cause the vibrations.
driftmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 04:05 PM   #5021
Tech Regular
 
Hooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rich Valley, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 396
Default

Slowly apply power while holding the car ... does the vibration increase proportionately to the drivetrain rpm? or does it start to vibrate all at once?

Is there any noticable runout in any of the visible parts? For instance, the spur gear or input shaft cups being out of true ...

Remove the drive shaft and apply power ... this will help to eliminate the drive shaft and the front dif as the problem ...

Let us know how these suggestions turn out.
Hooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 06:32 PM   #5022
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Can any one help me. My car when I make left turns the car wants to spin out but when I make right turns It is ok. I check and recheck the tweak went over the whole car I even bought a new chassis and it still does the same thing I checked the rear toe in and it is fine any help would be greatly appreciated
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 06:34 PM   #5023
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

mine does the same darn thing... i gave up on it ...
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 06:39 PM   #5024
Tech Regular
 
Hooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rich Valley, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 396
Default

That's odd that your car would turn left sharper than right ... given that the tweak is compensated for of course ...

The TC3 has more steering throw to the right than the left by design, but that does not explain what you are experiencing ...

Have you checked your radio steering end-points? If the end-point settings are messed up you could be physically moving the servo farther left than right.
Hooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 06:42 PM   #5025
Tech Regular
 
Hooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rich Valley, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 396
Default

Do you have access to a set-up board? You could have front suspension asymmetry ...
Hooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net