R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2003, 08:19 PM   #4366
Tech Adept
 
Dingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 235
Default

That's a dummy cell. Can't recall who makes it, but someone does. I think it holds its place better than the foam brick.
Dingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 08:30 PM   #4367
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to AssociatedRacer
Default

So its not an actually dead cell or something right? Its probably light I take it?
AssociatedRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 08:53 PM   #4368
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I think that Integy makes them. A guy at my track uses a small Piece of PVC Pipe
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 09:25 PM   #4369
Tech Apprentice
 
alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 87
Default

Dragon R/C make the countefeit cells the part no. is DR-720
alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 10:22 PM   #4370
Tech Elite
 
THeGame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to THeGame
Default

Were having a Big carpet race at my track this weekend. Can someone Post a setup for the TC3 that will make me TQ and win the race..

Thanks
__________________
Team Gravity Rc - G's R/C Raceway and Hobbies - Waldorf RC - TheTrack
THeGame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:50 AM   #4371
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

most of the guys around here use a dummy cell made by radical racing products, its just a piece of plastic piping the same diameter as a cell. its cheaper then the dragon one as well. i think 3.00 and they make a solid one if your cars under weight as well.
__________________
www.rikter-designs.com

jarrod@rikter-designs.com
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 05:54 AM   #4372
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Carpet set up for rubber

Big Al, here is that set up sorry it took me so long...
For anyone that wants to try this set up it works really good for me.

Front
Rear tower up front
Blue spring
70 wt
inside top hole
outside bottom on new style arms
F-0 plate
4 degree castor block
Camber links long
Camber -1 degree
0 toe
Steering all normal
Spool
Sorex 28 with HPI red insert

Rear
Silver Spring
60wt
Outside top hold
Standard holes bottom old style arms
R+3+2 Plate
Camber links long
Camber -1 degree
Short wheel base
Sorex 24 with HPI red inserts

Battery Back and the chassis is milled out to move the batts closer to the center. The oil weights might be reversed I can't remember for sure.

Last edited by Scrad; 03-13-2003 at 07:24 AM.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 06:29 AM   #4373
Tech Master
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,095
Send a message via Yahoo to Mike D
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by THeGame
Were having a Big carpet race at my track this weekend. Can someone Post a setup for the TC3 that will make me TQ and win the race..

Thanks
That setup does not exist. See you this weekend.
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 06:36 AM   #4374
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Game-

Just copy my setup this weekend....it should work for you..I don't know if you will be able to handle the horsepower I will have though

Also take all than Losi stuff off your car
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 06:41 AM   #4375
Tech Fanatic
 
NTC3NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 988
Default

Hereís a stock racing set-up that has worked well for me on carpet with foams.
Front
- F-0 & F blocks
- 4* caster
- 0* kick up
- 1* toe-out
- neg. 1* camber (to start, then adj. for tire wear)
- 4mm ride height
- .078 sway bar
- using Losi hubs & carriers
- NTC3 rack (this isnít really needed, just nice to have)
- 60W oil - #3 pistons - Purple springs
- standard front shock tower, all the way out
- standard arms (If you have the new arms use the inner hole)
- camber link up & out
- 5 on the droop
- TRC Plaids 58mm, dope ľ of the inside of the tires with Paragon

Rear
- 3+0-0 & F blocks
- .030 spacers under F block
- no sway bar
- 1 1/2* toe-in (Losi Ĺ* hubs mounted in reverse)
- neg. 1 1/2* camber (to start, then adj. for tire wear)
- 4mm ride height
- short wheel base
- 40W oil - #3 pistons - copper springs
- standard rear tower, all the way out
- standard rear arms (If you have the new arms use the outer hole)
- camber link up & in, inner on the Losi hubs
- 4 on the droop
- TRC Purples 58mm, dope whole tire with Paragon

Battaries up front & moved in to center of spine. IRS diffs front & rear. All the bearings degreased & oiled w/1-shield removed.

I think thatís it, if I remember anything else Iíll let you know.
NTC3NUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 12:14 PM   #4376
Tech Adept
 
driftmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Rock,AR
Posts: 233
Post spools

My buddy finished up a run of 10 spools. Their made out of 6061 aluminum.

$20+S&H if any one would like one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 72.jpg (45.9 KB, 165 views)
driftmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 12:40 PM   #4377
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default Spool Problem.

Hi Guys, I am having a very strange problem with my spool in the front. It is fine while going straight but as soon as I turn the wheels there is a very loud hitting sound as if its draggin or hitting something pretty bad. I have spent a whole afternoon trying to figure out the problem but couldn't. With a standard diff this problem doesn't occur, as soon as I put a spool it does. I have tried different spools aswell and even tried locking a standard diff and this still occurs. I have checked my bearings and cvd's and there all fine, even tried out 3 different diff cases top and bottom. I have tried different ring and bevel gears aswell and just can't figure out the problem so if anyone could give me some advice I would greatly appreciate it. I have never had this kind of problem in 5 years that i have been rc'ing and I'm just stunned.

Thanks in Advance.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 12:52 PM   #4378
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

rcpilot- is your spool an actual spool or did you do like i have done and locked together a pair of outdrives? if so i could be slightly slipping maybe in the corners and making that sound? just a guess.

how many of you guys tape your cells in on your tc3s?

i have been playing around with balancing my chassis left to right on a pair of flat head screws and have had to add a bunch of lead to the right side. i know its common for the tc3 to be left side heavy, but i have my batts moved in .250. because of this i took out my batt strap, plastic cell spacer, and screws and could then romove some lead from the right hand side. im not sure how much lead i used because i just had a roll of strips. the compartment next to motor is filled! but i also have my servo lowered so all the material below it is removed as well as under the motor.i am running gp cells. so i guess my other question is how do some of you guys have your chassis balanced?

thanks for any info.
__________________
www.rikter-designs.com

jarrod@rikter-designs.com

Last edited by Jarrod Langlois; 03-13-2003 at 01:54 PM.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 01:03 PM   #4379
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

Spaz- The spool is an actual spool made by irs. I have tried a couple of actual real spools and than some really tight diffs and this problem is still occuring but with the standard diff at medium tightness its fine. The problem even happens when I put my car on a car stand and run the motor and turn the wheels.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 01:05 PM   #4380
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcpilot
Spaz- The spool is an actual spool made by irs. I have tried a couple of actual real spools and than some really tight diffs and this problem is still occuring but with the standard diff at medium tightness its fine. The problem even happens when I put my car on a car stand and run the motor and turn the wheels.
You're getting wheel scrub 'coz both tires are turning the same rate...on diff or one-way..both tires turn at different rates.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:34 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net