R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2003, 09:00 PM   #4036
Tech Regular
 
mab_man20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Glenview IL
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mab_man20
Default

Ive got a problem thats driving me crazy.

I built and raced my TC3 for half a season and then rebuilt the diffs, relubed the gears and put the gear covers back on. Ever since I put everything back together the gears are increadably load (the car was absolutley silent prior to disassembly). Did i some how switch the diffs (front to rear) and the broken in teeth didnt like it?? should i get a new set of gears? Any help to get my car back into stealth condition again will be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.
mab_man20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 09:25 PM   #4037
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to AssociatedRacer
Default

have you checked the gearbox's for anything unusual?
AssociatedRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 09:49 PM   #4038
Tech Master
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not sure whether this has been asked before.... What is the difference between using 0 degree hinge pin block with 4 degree caster blocks and 2 degree hinge pin block with 2 degree caster blocks? Thank you.
Kenneth Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 10:19 PM   #4039
Tech Regular
 
Hooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rich Valley, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 396
Default

When you say "relubed the gears" are you lubing the ring and pinion gears?
Hooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 02:22 AM   #4040
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 192
Default

I can't find a way to mount my M8 reciver and my GT7 in my TC3 FT. Do you guys have any ideas?
TC racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 05:00 AM   #4041
Tech Fanatic
 
NTC3NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 988
Default

Here's a photo of the electronics on my TC3, maybe it will help. It's an LRP Quantum, but it's similar in size to the GT7.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fttc3 011.jpg (76.8 KB, 220 views)
NTC3NUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 06:12 AM   #4042
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

where can I find a pic of the nitro tc3 steering retrofit. I have purchase the parts but would like to see some pics first.
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 06:19 AM   #4043
Tech Master
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,095
Send a message via Yahoo to Mike D
Default Kenneth Tan

Quote:
Originally posted by Kenneth Tan
Not sure whether this has been asked before.... What is the difference between using 0 degree hinge pin block with 4 degree caster blocks and 2 degree hinge pin block with 2 degree caster blocks? Thank you.
In both cases your total caster will be 4 degrees. In general, more caster will make the car steer more into the turn, off power and steer less off the turn, on power. The difference in the two setups you listed is in the kickup. More front kick up (2 degrees) will make the car steer more into the turn and less off. Less front kick up (0 degrees) will make the car steer less into the turn and more off. Remember that kick up acts independently from caster but still contributes to the total caster in the car.

Last edited by Mike D; 02-13-2003 at 06:22 AM.
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 07:10 AM   #4044
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AssociatedRacer
Hey, Why would the tc3 need to be "stiffer". It is already stiff, why would you need a upperdeck?
because most of the racers are moving there batteries inboard towards the centerline and this requires milling out the center brace which results in a more flexible chassis. so hopefully this upperdeck will eliminate some of this.
__________________
www.rikter-designs.com

jarrod@rikter-designs.com
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 07:15 AM   #4045
Tech Adept
 
Dingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 235
Default

I haven't noticed a big difference in flex, but the chassis cut or not flex like a "U"

I mostly want to protect my drive shaft with the topdeck.

The Warpspeed is the only design I really like because it does not use the bearing cap as the rear support, but it is a little pricey.
Dingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 08:49 AM   #4046
Tech Master
 
Greg Amendola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,394
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Greg Amendola
Default Additional weight

How much does the upper chassis add in weight?
Greg Amendola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 09:32 AM   #4047
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

why is everyone so worried about flex? Unless you are on carpet with foams flex can help. I have 2 tc3factory teams one I built on a standard chassis and the other on the kit graphite chassis. the one on the standard chassis always seems to handle low traction much better and is the one I usually run. I may not be a pro but I do very well with it I just don't see the big deal about flex. The only factory guy you see with a upper deck is Josh all the others don't use one. I asked Barry about it and he said the upper deck really didn't do anything to help him.
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 10:43 AM   #4048
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have milled my center chassis and run on carpet with foams, stock and mod and i want to try an upperdeck to see if it will help with flex and also with tweak, i havent really had much of a problem with tweak before the mod, but the center brace milled does seem to make the chassis a little more prone to tweak.
__________________
www.rikter-designs.com

jarrod@rikter-designs.com
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 12:47 PM   #4049
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

Where can you get the Warpspeed upper deck and chassis? Can you get the upper deck seperate? How much do they cost? Thanks!
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 12:55 PM   #4050
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 314
Default WARPSPEED RACING

For any information on the WARPSPEED CHASSIS and upperdeck,
please go to page 134.
Any other questions, feel free to email me.
Yes, the upperdeck is sold seperately.
Mr Warpspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net