R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2002, 07:56 AM   #2026
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

I hear ya...I am a techno-geek too, love those gadgets...

Hey, quick question for you on the TC3, I got the car handling better, but it is still ass-end loose...I run on a parking lot track that is fairly bumpy, I am running red springs all around with 60 weight oil...

I am pretty much running the car stock per kit build...I've seen the bumpy setup you suggest on your site, gonna try it, but anything else I can try???

Thanks!
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 10:31 AM   #2027
Tech Apprentice
 
mystererc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 84
Default

TigeRyan, that seems a little stiff for a bumpy track. We run on concrete with seams and I am running 40wt with reds in front and 40wt with silvers in the back. I am actually considering running 35wt or 30wt oil.

E
mystererc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 12:01 PM   #2028
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,485
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

TPhalen were could i find the bumpy setup on your website, which area.
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 12:31 PM   #2029
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi Tigeryan,

for bumpy surfaces try 4 degree caster blocks in front, 30wt oil and green springs all around.

For more rear end grip try the R + 2 + 2.

Hope this helps
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 12:41 PM   #2030
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

TigerRyan. As mystererc stated, that seems a little stiff for a bumpy track. A bit softer oil and/or spring should do the trick.

yodace. Go to the home page. Up near the top is the quickclik nav bar. Click on the Pro Setups and that will take you right to the opening area of the setups.
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 08:25 PM   #2031
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

TP - Do you have a setup for Hitec challenge in Poway, CA or similar one that I could use?

Thank you in advance.
rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 07:41 AM   #2032
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I basically ran a SoCal setup with a different shock locations. I think something like the Reedy Race setup would probably work pretty good. Might need to change the shock locations, though. Down one in the back.

Try that.
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 08:38 AM   #2033
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 150
Default

Why is it that when I run stock class, my car gets REALLY unstable or spins out when I let off on the throttle, but when I run mod, the problem disappears?

Does it have something to do with the fact that the stock motor seems to slow a LOT quicker (almost brake-like) than a mod?

Any suggestions on how I can solve this problem? Btw, I'm running a one-way.
G-spec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 09:12 AM   #2034
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by g-spec
Why is it that when I run stock class, my car gets REALLY unstable or spins out when I let off on the throttle, but when I run mod, the problem disappears?

Does it have something to do with the fact that the stock motor seems to slow a LOT quicker (almost brake-like) than a mod?

Any suggestions on how I can solve this problem? Btw, I'm running a one-way.
Yeah, that's expected. Stock motors have a lot of built in braking and you can help the car by giving it a rolling throttle. You can do this by advancing your throttle trim or using the "idle up" feature on your radio. I prefer the idle up since your endpoints remain the same.
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 10:13 AM   #2035
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Good call Ling....

BTW, where ya racing this weekend???? I heard something about a race at Lowes....

Interested?
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 12:37 PM   #2036
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

TP - Thank you for your advice on track setting.
rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 12:45 PM   #2037
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,485
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

do M8's have a "idle up" feature or something like it>
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 12:50 PM   #2038
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

when you say Idle Up is that the same as putting creep into the car so that when you release the throttle it continues to roll or do you mean something else???
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 01:01 PM   #2039
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yodace
do M8's have a "idle up" feature or something like it>
YEs, I believe Airtronics calls it "start position" (or "S-POS"). It'll be a switch on the transmitter that sets the throttle trim to a preset higher point. Some nitro guys use it to help get the engines started easier. For stock electrics, just set it so when you hit the switch, the car just creeps forward.

T
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 03:14 PM   #2040
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 150
Default

So are most of you guys running stock class using the "idle up" feature when racing? Or do you guys just never have the trigger below halfway point during your run when letting off?

I know sometimes when I let off, I let it off all the way to the triggers neutral position during hard turns. (This is when I feel the instability in the car.)

I hope you guys understand what I'm trying to say.
G-spec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net