R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2012, 06:54 PM   #9046
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkennedy View Post
a 3.0 is fine for 21.5 f1. we run it all the time, especially rpm based motors
Even on a small 70x35' carpet track with lots of turns?
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:07 PM   #9047
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,105
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

pretty much anything is fine in f1, ive ran down in the 2's and motor has never gotten over 55 degrees
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - Metro Hobbies - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Off road - Schumacher - R1Wurks Australia (Coupon Code - R1BP5%)
On road - Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:20 PM   #9048
Tech Adept
 
policeman0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CR0SS View Post
Get yourself some styrene. I used it to fill all the holes on the rear pod. It is glued to my diffuser and can all be removed with just taking out two screws.

Hi there, where did you get those white plastic sheets?
__________________
多情自古伤离别。更那堪、冷落清秋节。
policeman0077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:54 AM   #9049
Tech Addict
 
mkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: las vegas
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mkennedy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
Even on a small 70x35' carpet track with lots of turns?
It'll work. If you don't like it, drop the pinion and pay attention to your lap times.
__________________
Mike Kennedy
AKA - Airtronics - F1RCLab - Thunder Power - JGO Paintz - Dialed Inc. - CompetitionX.com
mkennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 04:08 AM   #9050
Tech Regular
 
jsr555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Aus.
Posts: 350
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Carbon rear shaft problems

Just started my build of my F104 Pro and having trouble getting the 1060 bearings on the end of the carbon shaft. The shaft will not pass through the bearings.
Are you meant to use a different size bearing with the carbon shaft?

Anyone one else had this issue?
__________________
Xray T4 - Yokomo Bd7-14 - HPI Pro5 - Powered by Hobbywing

HPI RS Pro - HPI Pro 3 - ??
jsr555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 04:51 AM   #9051
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
pretty much anything is fine in f1, ive ran down in the 2's and motor has never gotten over 55 degrees
The motor in my F104 hit 80 degrees at the Nationals.
__________________
Most fun you can have standing up!
-Adz- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 03:56 PM   #9052
Tech Regular
 
jsr555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Aus.
Posts: 350
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsr555 View Post
Just started my build of my F104 Pro and having trouble getting the 1060 bearings on the end of the carbon shaft. The shaft will not pass through the bearings.
Are you meant to use a different size bearing with the carbon shaft?

Anyone one else had this issue?
Funny thing.. this morning they fit.. Migt have been the time of night or wine.. But its all good now... the build continues.
__________________
Xray T4 - Yokomo Bd7-14 - HPI Pro5 - Powered by Hobbywing

HPI RS Pro - HPI Pro 3 - ??
jsr555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 06:49 PM   #9053
Tech Regular
 
jsr555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Aus.
Posts: 350
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Ball diff issues

Serious question now. I have just built my ball diff and the lock nut seems pretty tight. However I still have a slight bit of sideways movement in the spur, between the two pressure disks and diff housing.
Is this normal, or do I keep tigting the lock nut till this slop goes. Mind you, this will make the diff pretty tight.

Thanks
__________________
Xray T4 - Yokomo Bd7-14 - HPI Pro5 - Powered by Hobbywing

HPI RS Pro - HPI Pro 3 - ??
jsr555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:23 PM   #9054
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,245
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

This is normal. Keep in mind the only important part is that the diff rings/plates should be making contact with the diff balls, not the spur gear sides.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:26 PM   #9055
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yeah as Dan said, are you sure your diff balls are larger enough? I use 3mm and it works sweet.
__________________
Most fun you can have standing up!
-Adz- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:30 PM   #9056
Tech Regular
 
jsr555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Aus.
Posts: 350
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
This is normal. Keep in mind the only important part is that the diff rings/plates should be making contact with the diff balls, not the spur gear sides.
Thanks. It is all good then. And yes they are 3mm balls.
__________________
Xray T4 - Yokomo Bd7-14 - HPI Pro5 - Powered by Hobbywing

HPI RS Pro - HPI Pro 3 - ??
jsr555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:49 AM   #9057
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by policeman0077 View Post
Hi there, where did you get those white plastic sheets?
Any decent hobby shop should stock it in a wide range of thicknesses. It's used for all kinds of static and railway modelling. Styrene sheet is commonly known as plasticard. If you can't find it locally there's plenty of styrene sheet for sale on ebay.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:57 PM   #9058
Tech Apprentice
 
er6f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Default Help

Hello Guys im a newbie to f1 racing my chassis is F104 pro Black Special, my previous run is, i used the stock sponge tires that come into the kit, and my batts. is 5000mah nimh, i had a very good handling, then the next race, my front tires broken, then i change it to both new front sponge tires tamiya brand and i replace the battery with the lighter lipo, my handling drastically change every time i go to hi-speed sweepers my rear end always sliding so i ended up spun around the track, what should i adjust to correct these problems? do i need to adjust my camber because i have istalled new tires in front and still old at the rear? my current camber is 0. hope someone could give me a tip! thanks
__________________
Kyosho Pureten GP Spyder Mk II - Traxxas Summit 1/8th - Traxxas Slash 4x2, Traxxas Erevo Vxl - Hpi Savage X4.6 - Mugen MBX6 Eco MMM - Tamiya TT01ER Front Motor -Tamiya TT01E - Tamiya TA05 ver.2 - Tamiya FJ40 CR01 - Tamiya Bronco CC01 Tamiya Tundra Highlift w/MFC02 - Tamiya F104 Pro Black Special Tamiya MAN TGX 26.540 6x4 XLX w/MFC01 and Flatbed Trailer
er6f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:08 PM   #9059
Tech Adept
 
Andysan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by er6f View Post
Hello Guys im a newbie to f1 racing my chassis is F104 pro Black Special, my previous run is, i used the stock sponge tires that come into the kit, and my batts. is 5000mah nimh, i had a very good handling, then the next race, my front tires broken, then i change it to both new front sponge tires tamiya brand and i replace the battery with the lighter lipo, my handling drastically change every time i go to hi-speed sweepers my rear end always sliding so i ended up spun around the track, what should i adjust to correct these problems? do i need to adjust my camber because i have istalled new tires in front and still old at the rear? my current camber is 0. hope someone could give me a tip! thanks

Hey man,

You can try a few things - generally, if your tyres are shot at both ends of the car then you should replace them all around, but I digress. Perhaps try any of the followign one at a time;

* Add more weight to the rear, as low down and close to the axle as possible.
* Adjust the T-bar.
* Stiffer spring in the rear shock - this should stop the weight transferring to the front on corner-in, and ensure that you have a bit more shock rebound and hence weight transfer over the rear on corner-out.
* Add a bit of toe-out on the front.
Andysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 03:17 AM   #9060
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just to add to Andysan's informative post; I would run some camber too, especially on the back. You say your running 0 degrees, if that's on the back, then that's half ya problem. Otherwise, welcome to the great class of F1.
__________________
Most fun you can have standing up!
-Adz- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 08:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 03:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 06:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0