R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2012, 08:00 AM   #8746
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roland5color View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. Its an outdoor asphalt track Medium to high traction depending on if the track has been prepped and sprayed with traction compound. Long 220 Ft. back straight and the rest of the track is fairly open and fast. I usually run 2wd modified buggy this is my first on road car.
Also what gauge wire should I run from the esc to the motor. I currently have 12 gauge on all my offroad cars but from what I have read this is to heavy for the F104 and may tweak the rear end.
16g is all you need.
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:04 AM   #8747
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Using 16ag on my motor wires but 14 on the battery.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:18 PM   #8748
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet Il
Posts: 226
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
16g is all you need.
Thanks again. I think I am going to go with a 17.5 revtech if I do what size pinion and spur do you suggest for the track that I metioned a few post back.
__________________
Axial wraith
Futaba 4PKS
roland5color is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:24 PM   #8749
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

On a track that size I run about a 37/88 with a 21.5 motor. I don't know about 17.5 on 2s. Id gear on the side of caution and take temps. Maybe a 25 pinion or so. Dependent on spur of course.
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 05:26 PM   #8750
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hi F1 drivers! We are expecting the new tires (1031 and 1032) next week. Here are some links to reserve your tires:

1031
1032
tire/wheel combo
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:57 AM   #8751
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,453
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stitchy View Post
Hi F1 drivers! We are expecting the new tires (1031 and 1032) next week. Here are some links to reserve your tires:

1031
1032
tire/wheel combo
NICE!
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 04:11 PM   #8752
Tech Adept
 
5VoltDetonator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 163
Default

Texas, Cuda, RobK, and Everyone else who helped me out- Thanks

I tried to follow everyone setups suggestions and my car handled great and I ended up do pretty good at our race here in So Cal. I only got to practice for 5 min before the first qualifer, cause I had to replace the rear wing ( junk ) that came with my Chineese Vodofone body. I ended up third out of our small group of 5 racers, and at least 3 of those guy had there cars for a while.

Here is the Video of the race- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-s5BR8XRlog

All I did was put the suggested Shimizu tires and geared it at 96/34 using a Ballistic 21.5 and a GTB2. I also, got a high traction t-plate and a Kimbrough servo saver. I used a Gen Ace 3500 mah Bat cause that is all I had that would fit. It is being held there with nothing - just the preasure but it didn't seeem to move around at all. I didn't even sauce the tire cause I thought it had great grip allready. Only my own finger controll seemed to keep me from driving better.

Anyway here are some pictures of my car and my wiring job, I had no idea how to do it so I just went with what I knew. I don't think the back end is restricted the wires are loose enough not to be hanging anything up..

What hop up parts would any of you or others suggest?

I am thinking about getting a Aluminum Pitch Damper Set but I really don't understand how it replaces the stand pitch dampner?? Do I need some extra parts? I put associated grease in the pitch dampner and it kinda seems to ooze out which aint too bad but it seems like the alum pitch dampner would be a less mess better handling upgrade, yes?


My Car









Love'n the F1

Last edited by 5VoltDetonator; 08-05-2012 at 05:54 PM.
5VoltDetonator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 06:09 PM   #8753
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,106
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

nice pics,

good to see im not the only one to use a hobbyking spectrum receiver in the F1

8-)
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 09:03 PM   #8754
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

5volt,
you can lose the fan. It wont be necessary with a 21.5 and will give you a bit more room.
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:03 PM   #8755
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 47
Default

if anyone is interested in my f104 pro cheep? write me at louville50@aol.com for pics and info...thanks
ron1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:55 PM   #8756
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,963
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

hey guys...i know this has been asked a few times, but on my cell and at work and can't quickly find the answer

what's the trick to mounting a shorty lipo on the F104 chassis?? I remember seeing guys talking about double-sided tape on bottom/top - but is there a better way to do it?

I wanna pull all my electronics in-line and on the chassis

thanks!
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:55 PM   #8757
Tech Elite
 
metalracer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 2,548
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to metalracer2
Default

I dubble side taped mine in. it never comes out.
__________________
First you forget names, then you forget faces. Next you forget to pull your zipper up and finally, you forget to pull it down.
Team BOOZE CRUISEN!
Rides....
AE B4.1W AE T4.1
metalracer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:04 PM   #8758
Tech Addict
 
mkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: las vegas
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mkennedy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
hey guys...i know this has been asked a few times, but on my cell and at work and can't quickly find the answer

what's the trick to mounting a shorty lipo on the F104 chassis?? I remember seeing guys talking about double-sided tape on bottom/top - but is there a better way to do it?

I wanna pull all my electronics in-line and on the chassis

thanks!
I use the electronics trays on each side, with servo tape facing the battery. Not sure if you've done it, but you have to cut the inner part of the plastic that wraps around the post. That way the can snap on and off.
I also use the RSector top plate/ deck. Makes it super easy to remove the battery.
__________________
Mike Kennedy
AKA - Airtronics - F1RCLab - Thunder Power - JGO Paintz - Dialed Inc. - CompetitionX.com
mkennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:13 PM   #8759
Tech Master
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,106
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

im sure Velcro would also hold the lipo in place, instead of double sided tape, all depends on if you want to keep swapping packs, otherwise id just stick with ds tape.
__________________
B.Portelli
Hyper RC - RAB Hobbies - Wild Turbo Fans
Race Opt - Team Powers
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:21 PM   #8760
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
hey guys...i know this has been asked a few times, but on my cell and at work and can't quickly find the answer

what's the trick to mounting a shorty lipo on the F104 chassis?? I remember seeing guys talking about double-sided tape on bottom/top - but is there a better way to do it?

I wanna pull all my electronics in-line and on the chassis

thanks!
If you have the X1 upper deck, you don't have to do anything special for an inline setup
Here's my WGP


I took it a step further with the VII
But I'm not sure there is enough room on a 104 chassis to do this ?
And the tape slot is more conveniently located on the VII
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net