R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2012, 10:32 PM   #8101
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Remeber that the 104WGP t-Bar won't fit the stock F104 chassis as it is different in shape.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 10:36 PM   #8102
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,322
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Doh, J-Pap posted this so hopefully he can confirm. If not, that bites.


"The t bar is definitely softer on the f104w gp than the high traction t bar from the x1. Since I dont need the bottom chassis/t-bar for the f1 ultra I think I may actually use it on the x1 instead. Should yield more traction. It is also 21 grams lighter than the frp bottom+t bar+carbon reinforced bottom plate"
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 01:00 AM   #8103
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Doh, J-Pap posted this so hopefully he can confirm. If not, that bites.
It won't fit (without modification of the stock chassis). J-Pap has to use WGP chassis with WGP pod. Watch attached picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Pro!-f104gp_01.jpg  
__________________
Tamiya TRF 416 WE
Tamiya F104 Pro wide and F104 Pro V2
dfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 01:08 AM   #8104
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfx View Post
It won't fit (without modification of the stock chassis). J-Pap has to use WGP chassis with WGP pod. Watch attached picture.
WGP Pod is same as X1.. but your right on the chassis though. The WGP t-bar has a longer/bigger cut-out, hence why it feels softer than standard 104 bar. I am liking the one-piece bottom though (picked up the 3-racing version to use, and run the 1.3mm thick).

Regards
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 01:42 AM   #8105
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Yes, sorry, I thought one piece T-bar...
Motor pod is the same instead of the rear alu piece, is it right? TryHard, how do You feel WGP car? Are You running wide configuration and is there big difference (compared to a narrow car)? Dou You have the front axle build in stock configuration and what tires do You run?
Thanks
__________________
Tamiya TRF 416 WE
Tamiya F104 Pro wide and F104 Pro V2
dfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:25 AM   #8106
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
I am using Roche Silverback 4200MAH shorty lipo's
You have the choice with the shorties to run your electronics on the side as per stock or in front of the battery.

regards Roy
thanks to all...i have ended up getting some intellect 4400 short packs...i should have them tomorrow
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:46 AM   #8107
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,814
Default

What part for the F104 to use turnbuckles for the front upper suspension links?
__________________
MOD: A800 R1 Digital-2 HW G2 4.5T|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 24K |||F1:
Xray X1 2017 HW XR10 StockSpec R1 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 11:08 AM   #8108
RAL
Tech Elite
 
RAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,226
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Marc R and Hiro's IIC race is pretty damn good.
__________________
TEAM ARAI GRIP ● J★STYLE ● P1 BRAND ● RÄLDESIGNWERKS ● EXOTEK
RAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:48 PM   #8109
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfx View Post
Yes, sorry, I thought one piece T-bar...
Motor pod is the same instead of the rear alu piece, is it right? TryHard, how do You feel WGP car? Are You running wide configuration and is there big difference (compared to a narrow car)? Dou You have the front axle build in stock configuration and what tires do You run?
Thanks
I have to admit that I've only had the opportunity to run the car twice so far, and I've run it in wide config (with R-sector rear widening kit), using the SGP1 tyres. Was pretty good, although I think I would prefer narrowing done the front to 190mm to match the rear. Had to drive quite aggresivly to get the car to turn, and was a bit inconsistent as a result.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:25 PM   #8110
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Doh, J-Pap posted this so hopefully he can confirm. If not, that bites.


"The t bar is definitely softer on the f104w gp than the high traction t bar from the x1. Since I dont need the bottom chassis/t-bar for the f1 ultra I think I may actually use it on the x1 instead. Should yield more traction. It is also 21 grams lighter than the frp bottom+t bar+carbon reinforced bottom plate"
Sorry I assumed that was known. You can't fit the f104wgp t plate on a f104 chassis. You can fit a normal t plate to the f104wgp chassis. Ran the f104wgp chassis and t plate. Didn't notice an improvement but didn't seem any worse either
J-PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:37 AM   #8111
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

found out the intellect short packs only fit in the X1 without the electronics trays installed..im shattered.....oh well the round edged 3800's it is then
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:10 AM   #8112
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
found out the intellect short packs only fit in the X1 without the electronics trays installed..im shattered.....oh well the round edged 3800's it is then
That is incorrect. You just cut off the loop on the inside of the trays. They then just clip on and off. But if you are running a shorty lipo you shouldn't need the trays anyway as the esc will fit in front of the battery and the receiver depending what you have fits on top of the top deck.

Here is how mine is setup (using x1 bottom deck and t plate)
J-PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:12 AM   #8113
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,167
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
found out the intellect short packs only fit in the X1 without the electronics trays installed..im shattered.....oh well the round edged 3800's it is then
like Tony Phalen suggested, you can grind the protruding portion of the tray so it snaps onto the post, which is plenty for the receiver, but if you want more security for the esc then servo tape the plate onto the battery.

but with a shorty you have room to place the esc on the chassis?
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:30 AM   #8114
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys...i meant without modding the car....which i really dont want to do...but i still might the tray mods...never thought of that...but then again...i could put the receiver where you have put it
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:45 AM   #8115
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

just did what you said jpap in regards to the trays...many thanks....works great
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net