R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2012, 05:19 PM   #7786
Tech Fanatic
 
Howler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wi
Posts: 832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-PaP View Post
Anybody tried running their x1 without the roll damper?

I snapped mine first race yesterday and ran the next race without it before it was rained out for the night. Car actually really ran well without it.

Quite rediculous that you have to buy a whole upper deck assembly to replace the roll damper as it is the 3rd time I've heard of someone snapping theirs.
I've got a friend of mine who is currently working on milling an aluminum piece for the inner core of the damper. If it works out, I'll post a pic. I'm sure that it won't be as much as tamiya wants for it.
Howler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:49 PM   #7787
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,197
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rays_tt View Post
Hi guys, I just finished building my f104 pro and was having troubles getting my batteries to fit.

I have 2 types as show in the pictures below.




The IP battery doesnt even slot in at all and the yeah racing fits however I cant fit the small battery secure piece as theres not enough room up top, any suggestions or am I not using the correct type of batts?

cheers
The square case you won't be able to slot in, you'll have to remove the top deck, and then put the pack into the car. Will also need to mod the wings as well (remove the lower C-loop).

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:22 PM   #7788
Tech Initiate
 
ioyasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chatham ont canada
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dman18t View Post
I'm in Canada, and our TCS races are rubber only carpet or asphalt, that's why I was asking if anyone would like to add to David Jun's guide with thier own experience with Tamiya rubber.

Any tricks or tips would be appreciated.
if your on carpet crazy glue very outside edge of front tire then just put tire compound on inner half and full rears try that if rolling do less on front tires i run the option hard front and soft rears
ioyasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:25 PM   #7789
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rays_tt View Post
Hi guys, I just finished building my f104 pro and was having troubles getting my batteries to fit.

I have 2 types as show in the pictures below.




The IP battery doesnt even slot in at all and the yeah racing fits however I cant fit the small battery secure piece as theres not enough room up top, any suggestions or am I not using the correct type of batts?

cheers
I had to file down the battery retainer clip thingie to make the rounded style batteries fit. See pic.
__________________
AW HELL RICKEY, I WAS HIGH WHEN I SAID THAT!

Last edited by durtbag; 09-28-2016 at 09:48 PM.
durtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:26 PM   #7790
Tech Apprentice
 
R-Sector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rays_tt View Post
Hi guys, I just finished building my f104 pro and was having troubles getting my batteries to fit.

I have 2 types as show in the pictures below.




The IP battery doesnt even slot in at all and the yeah racing fits however I cant fit the small battery secure piece as theres not enough room up top, any suggestions or am I not using the correct type of batts?

cheers
This may helphttp://rsector.com/index_eproduct_vi...?products_id=2


R-Sector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:38 PM   #7791
Tech Regular
 
rays_tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

thx durtbag, TryHard & R-Sector for the tips

This one shouldn't have any issues fitting without modifications should it? as its dimensions are almost identical to a stick pack?

__________________
www.melbRC.org
rays_tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 11:21 PM   #7792
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,084
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

That the IP is to big i can understand, but the 3200MAH one won't fit??
I drove the F104 with the Zippy Flightmax 4000MAH hardcase in it without any problems and those are square.
Not like the 3200MAH your trying to fit.

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by rays_tt View Post
Hi guys, I just finished building my f104 pro and was having troubles getting my batteries to fit.

I have 2 types as show in the pictures below.




The IP battery doesnt even slot in at all and the yeah racing fits however I cant fit the small battery secure piece as theres not enough room up top, any suggestions or am I not using the correct type of batts?

cheers
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:31 AM   #7793
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rays_tt View Post
Hi guys, I just finished building my f104 pro and was having troubles getting my batteries to fit.

I have 2 types as show in the pictures below.




The IP battery doesnt even slot in at all and the yeah racing fits however I cant fit the small battery secure piece as theres not enough room up top, any suggestions or am I not using the correct type of batts?

cheers

I run that exact IP battery in my F104pro. Fits well...
If your running the factory plastic part at the back of the main chassis you need to file a small back on the inside of both sides to make it fit. If Your running the alloy one (I am) no filing is needed.
The 2 side bits that pivot (the plastic bits that you mount the ESC and receiver on) need to be filed on the inside to allow the battery to fit between them, no biggy though.
If your running the factory plastic battery holder, stop thing you need to file some off to fit it properly, although again with the alloy one you don't need to.
If your running a split top deck running the wire out the top is fine, no issues. If your running the factory top deck you just need to file a small amount off each side just enough to allow the wires to fit nicely.

Using that battery is good as I found with the side exit wire batteries foul on the body and you have to stretch it on, to exiting ones are much better!

Hope this all makes sense!
FST4RD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 12:20 PM   #7794
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So Cal, Anaheim, Ca
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Can't wait to race my F104 pro again I'm hooked. Need to work on my setup a little bit and I can gear it up a lot more. So awesome to drive with the new tekin rs an tekin redline motor!
__________________
Your Hate Fuels My Success!!
If your not scraping... Then your not low enough!!!

TQ Raceway, WCRC, Speed Tech
Shameless121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:36 PM   #7795
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 139
Default

i have been told that the 104 and x1 have been discountinue? is this true and do tamiya have new cars to come out?
freakyfreakyflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:41 PM   #7796
Tech Fanatic
 
Taman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GC, Aust
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

I've heard that they have both been discontinued. Tamiya have just released the 84262 F104W GP Edition (w/Body & F103 front end). You can still buy the F104 and F104X on Ebay/ Banzai Hobby etc.

In ref to the F104X roll damper - apparently the 54342 RM-01 Aluminum Roll Damper Set fits ($11.10 + postage from Stellamodels.net)
__________________
Toms 84C, Nissan R91CP, Porsche 956, TRF 417 V5.

Last edited by Taman; 03-03-2012 at 07:04 AM.
Taman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 07:57 AM   #7797
Tech Regular
 
rays_tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

thx for the tips guys, managed to get my 3200 to fit nicely
__________________
www.melbRC.org

Last edited by rays_tt; 03-03-2012 at 05:21 PM.
rays_tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 11:05 AM   #7798
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
Default

Quick report from our local race:

-plastic Diff is completely useless.... *pick your favorite metal* do much better work
- wider front axle is perfect thing! Without it a lost a round or two per ride (+-40 rounds)
- need to improve something .... first rider got 44 rounds.. (republic champion), second one was his daughter (junior republic champion) with 43, and after that there were me and another five riders in same round - 41, and when someone crashed, I have only chance to catch up others - they will crash too, almost no chance to catch up someone "naturally" after crash

but on the other hand, it was fun!
SquirrelCZE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:22 PM   #7799
Tech Elite
 
ChadRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,651
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

does any company make and t-plates out of spring steel? Im tired of breaking normal t-plates. I just dont have the option of getting the F1R yet
__________________
ReVtech / Trinity / EAMotorsports

HotShot RC / Nexus Racing
Xray T2 '009 w/Exotek Chassis, BMI DB12rr, Tamiya F104X1
Team Durango DEX210
ChadRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 10:42 PM   #7800
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,197
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadRacing View Post
does any company make and t-plates out of spring steel? Im tired of breaking normal t-plates. I just dont have the option of getting the F1R yet
If your breaking the high-traction t-bar (with the cut-out) I can strongly recomend switching it out for a 3racing 1.3mm T-bar... doesn't have a cut-out, and is just as flexible.
I found the cut-out on the tamiya t-bars to be a real weak point, just isn't enough material. On the other t-bars, it's the screw holes elongating that kill them..

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 08:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 03:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 06:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0