R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2012, 10:04 PM   #7636
Tech Addict
 
mkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: las vegas
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mkennedy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
Can a regular F104 kit be made into a "X" by purchasing the parts?

Couldn't find a listing of parts specific to the X upgrade.
should be part #54331. any one of the f1 shops have it. (f1paintlab, tqraceway,speedtech)
__________________
Mike Kennedy
AKA - Airtronics - F1RCLab - Thunder Power - JGO Paintz - Dialed Inc. - CompetitionX.com
mkennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:12 AM   #7637
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquirrelCZE View Post
...so I'm asking, which ESC we should use in F1 cars?
...if you have any suggestions how to improve my F1... I am ready for it, but Exotek stuff is more or less banned for me, I am in the middle of Europe and do not know about a single Exotek seller here...
I use Tekin RS with Hotwire. It's not a budget choice but works very well.
BTW There's usualy no problem with sending stuff to CZ.
Setup or improvements depends on track conditions You're racing. For the carpet foam racing I would use long top deck or X1 upgrade with all 4 posts.
__________________
Tamiya TRF 416 WE
Tamiya F104 Pro wide and F104 Pro V2
dfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:25 AM   #7638
Tech Adept
 
monkeyracing.cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brno, Czech Rep.
Posts: 214
Default

I have EXO F1R directly from Mike. No problems, only short delay on customs (I had to paid VAT).
__________________
www.monkeyracing.cz | www.rallybrno.cz
monkeyracing.cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:09 AM   #7639
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 137
Default

Since I built my X1 I have driven it for around 5 packs and noticed that the diff was getting very gritty, I proceeded today and took it apart in order to rebuild it. I noticed there was some sort of black residue most likely from friction. I have tamiya ball diff grease and 100k cst oil. which would the best fluid in order to rebuild it?
arix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:32 AM   #7640
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,634
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F N CUDA View Post
Here's where and what I used for my conversion.
Tell em 'cuda sent ya.
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...d=774&id=12084

http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...d=774&id=12083
Cool. So those parts basically make up the "X1"? But the chassis would be plastic and not carbon?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mkennedy View Post
should be part #54331. any one of the f1 shops have it. (f1paintlab, tqraceway,speedtech)
Thanks. f1paintlab is a cool site, but I really don't get the store portion of it.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:02 AM   #7641
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,459
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post


Thanks. f1paintlab is a cool site, but I really don't get the store portion of it.
try this link http://f1paintlab.com/zencart/ Also email BP before you order, he was having some issues with the shipping charges thru the site. He can hook you up and he is fast.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Tamiya TT02r SpeedPassion LM1 and SP1 C main mainstay. Unless there is a D
TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:41 AM   #7642
Tech Fanatic
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I know this has been answered many times before, but I'll ask it again because it's too hard to search through all the pages of this forum...

Inside the diff, is there any performance advantage if I replace the bearing with a thrust bearing? I never really took it to heart because it's hard to find thrust bearings in our country. But I just found out that I had one sitting inside my toolbox all these years. Sheesh.
mailboxck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:44 AM   #7643
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
Cool. So those parts basically make up the "X1"? But the chassis would be plastic and not carbon?




Thanks. f1paintlab is a cool site, but I really don't get the store portion of it.
Thanks for the compliments. If you are still using the original link, then the you are seeing my sorry excuse first attempt at a store.
If you use this link
http://f1paintlab.com/F1PAINTLAB/HOME.html
there is an active link to the proper store.
The website is residing on 2 different servers, it was being hosted on mobile me, but they are stopping that service, so I moved it over to godaddy.
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:55 AM   #7644
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyracing.cz View Post
I have EXO F1R directly from Mike. No problems, only short delay on customs (I had to paid VAT).
I am just afraid that when something breaks on race... I just ended... there's allways seller with Tamyia parts, but Exotek? zero chance....

P.S: thanks guys, i will look for Tekin and new Speed Passion (Reventon seriess)

P.S: I am running on carpet just now, thanks for advice for top plate :-)
SquirrelCZE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:50 PM   #7645
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,459
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquirrelCZE View Post
I am just afraid that when something breaks on race... I just ended... there's allways seller with Tamyia parts, but Exotek? zero chance....
the parts that will break are the Tamiya parts or the Associated shock for the side dampener. Unless you break the chassis everything else is tamiya.
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Tamiya TT02r SpeedPassion LM1 and SP1 C main mainstay. Unless there is a D
TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:39 PM   #7646
Tech Elite
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquirrelCZE View Post
I am just afraid that when something breaks on race... I just ended... there's allways seller with Tamyia parts, but Exotek? zero chance....

P.S: thanks guys, i will look for Tekin and new Speed Passion (Reventon seriess)

P.S: I am running on carpet just now, thanks for advice for top plate :-)
the parts that will break are the Tamiya parts or the Associated shock for the side dampener. Unless you break the chassis everything else is tamiya.
+1 on what TexasTC said. The Exotek F1R requires a Tamiya Front Arm set, a Tamiya Rear Box and Transmission, a Tamiya Servo holder (unless you buy the optional Exotek uni-crank servo system), and Tamiya Wheels. Since all the Tamiya parts are sticking out of the car, odds are that if a part breaks on your F1, it will be a Tamiya part. The Exotek parts are all rock solid. The only possible way you may break an Exotek part in your F1 is if you forget to turn at the end of a long straight and your F1 does a "Triple Indie" off the track and lands next to the toilet in the men's bathroom. (Oh yes, trust me, it is possible.)

BTW, have you signed up to race F1 at the 2012 ROAR Carpet Nationals? Hurry up before there is no more room!
Click
HERE to see a countdown to the 2012 ROAR Carpet Nationals

Last edited by wwddww34; 02-10-2012 at 02:52 PM.
wwddww34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:47 PM   #7647
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,167
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwddww34 View Post
+1 on what TexasTC said. The Exotek F1R requires a Tamiya Front Arm set, a Tamiya Rear Box and Transmission, a Tamiya Servo holder (unless you buy the optional Exotek uni-crank servo system), and Tamiya Wheels. Since all the Tamiya parts are sticking out of the car, odds are that if a part breaks on your F1, it will be a Tamiya part. The Exotek parts are all rock solid. The only possible way you may break an Exotek part in your F1 is if you forget to turn at the end of a long straight and your F1 does a "Triple Indie" off the track and lands next to the toilet in the men's bathroom. (Oh yes, trust me, it is possible.)

BTW, have you signed up to race F1 at the 2012 ROAR Carpet Nationals? Hurry up before there is no more room!
Click
HERE to see a countdown to the 2012 ROAR Carpet Nationals
+2, except I thought the dive was called a "Triple Lindy".
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:49 PM   #7648
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailboxck View Post
I know this has been answered many times before, but I'll ask it again because it's too hard to search through all the pages of this forum...

Inside the diff, is there any performance advantage if I replace the bearing with a thrust bearing? I never really took it to heart because it's hard to find thrust bearings in our country. But I just found out that I had one sitting inside my toolbox all these years. Sheesh.
I just did the same and was wondering the performace advantages as well.......rcf1 blog is a wealth of info on f1s and i think its rob.K who runs that blog (forgive me if im wrong)...he reccomends that too i cant remeber if he goes into detail on its affects.....i found the bearing to be a touch small then the original ...but it could just be my eyes
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:36 PM   #7649
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

I've got a pair of Tamiya 53135 (F103, HBR, medium) foams. Unfortunately I have only some of the F104 front tires at the moment. F103 tires are out of stock in my basement

Which of the Tamiya and Spice F104 front tires would fit best to them for carpet racing? Or should I use someting else?

There are no reguations for tires at my track tomorrow.
Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 01:19 AM   #7650
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
Default

Ok, thanks guys for helping :-)
SquirrelCZE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net