R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2012, 09:22 AM   #7621
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Looks great
Why not mount the elctronics the old way so you get even more weight to the rear?
This will give you more traction at the rear and the wires would be a lot shorter.

regards Roy
the cirtix speedo with fan is a bit big for the f60 body. On the side it wil touch the body. Traction at the rear is already very good with this model. Last sunday some other drivers tried my car indoor with shimuzu rubber and like it, very balanced. Also, I think ETS rules require the esc mounted this way, why else would they use a shorty lipo. It states in their rules that you must use this lipo so you can mount the receiver up front. This also give me more room to stick some lead on different places ;-) Once the outdoor track is open the real testing begins..
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 10:02 AM   #7622
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,092
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I believe you can mount the electronics the way you want it.
In front of the battery, behind the battery or on the side.
As long as you use the shorty lipo and the cooling fan on the ESC.
Without fan you can't run the event from what i have heard.
If the F60 body has not enough room at the side to place the esc at the side this would be the best way i think.
Your car should be well balanced with the pitszu's as they are great tires.
The downside is, you have to run Ride tires at the ETS and that is a whole different ballgame.
Front and rear you have to use the same hardness of the tires.
Only thing you can do if allowed is use hard inserts at the front and soft at the rear.
Perhaps you can mount the battery like the F103?
This will free up even more room to place the electronics to the rear.

regards Roy
Ps mooi auto Matthijs
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Pro!-f104proevo.jpg  
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 09:44 PM   #7623
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 757
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

anybody build an f60 or mclaren body and not use their mirrors have any for sale? pm if you do please
fatboysracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 10:15 PM   #7624
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,223
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
I believe you can mount the electronics the way you want it.
In front of the battery, behind the battery or on the side.
As long as you use the shorty lipo and the cooling fan on the ESC.
Without fan you can't run the event from what i have heard.
If the F60 body has not enough room at the side to place the esc at the side this would be the best way i think.
Your car should be well balanced with the pitszu's as they are great tires.
The downside is, you have to run Ride tires at the ETS and that is a whole different ballgame.
Front and rear you have to use the same hardness of the tires.
Only thing you can do if allowed is use hard inserts at the front and soft at the rear.
Perhaps you can mount the battery like the F103?
This will free up even more room to place the electronics to the rear.

regards Roy
Ps mooi auto Matthijs
The Rides aren't the same hardness F-R... they may both say H1 on them, but believe me the rears are much stickier than the fronts. I know as we have to use the same tyres for TITC, and they really aren't too bad, but the wheels to warp after some hits.

Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 01:12 AM   #7625
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,092
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for clearing that up

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
The Rides aren't the same hardness F-R... they may both say H1 on them, but believe me the rears are much stickier than the fronts. I know as we have to use the same tyres for TITC, and they really aren't too bad, but the wheels to warp after some hits.

Ed
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:45 AM   #7626
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Here is my F104Pro. The cabling was inspired by this thread :-)



Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:37 AM   #7627
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
Default

Hello

we are using Kinetic ESC and Kinetic Spec ESC on ours f104gts and f104s... but, while Kinetic are both OK (2 cars) there are problems with the Spec's ones which are in F1... (2 cars) one is not functionable anymore and another one do not report temperature correctly....

our Novak's representative in Czech Republic said that Novak wouldn't use PC controlled ESC anymore, which is pitty....

so I'm asking, which ESC we should use in F1 cars? What we need:
A. 21.5T motors, and i would prefer to use Novak's Ballistic motors....
B. Timing, Boost esc... in my country limits are only set to: "21.5" motors so in result F1 can have loss only 1 second on round compared to 2WD Open.... so timing stuff is usefull
C. PC programming... In most of time I can set my ESC to track much faster that others, which is ... handy

I also added some photos of my F1 to this post...

EDIT: the photos are not from F1 used to ride! i am just rebuilding it, just now I am missing "side post?" (not sure of right word) so I used screw to attach what i need...

P.S: if you have any suggestions how to improve my F1... I am ready for it, but Exotek stuff is more or less banned for me, I am in the middle of Europe and do not know about a single Exotek seller here...
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Pro!-p1080837.jpg   Tamiya F104 Pro!-p1080838.jpg  
SquirrelCZE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 02:17 PM   #7628
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,588
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Is the F104 Pro the most current Tamiya F1 car?

It seems out of stock or discontinued everywhere. Just looking to get into F1 stuff :P
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 02:24 PM   #7629
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 780
Default

Does anyone know of a place that may have a 104x1 in stock anywhere? I can't seem to find one at all. Are they all gone? Wanted to build one up for the Nats.
DJG24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 02:52 PM   #7630
Tech Elite
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

they have stopped making them now unless your lucky enough to find one still in stock
mattwoodcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 02:54 PM   #7631
Tech Master
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,474
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJG24 View Post
Does anyone know of a place that may have a 104x1 in stock anywhere? I can't seem to find one at all. Are they all gone? Wanted to build one up for the Nats.
I've seen a few on Fleabay but that's it!
__________________
Half-A$$ Racing - Problem solved, problem staying solved!
Awesomatix - Serpent - Tekin - Futaba - Cooper Motorsports.
Csaari77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 05:56 PM   #7632
Tech Addict
 
mkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: las vegas
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mkennedy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquirrelCZE View Post
Hello

we are using Kinetic ESC and Kinetic Spec ESC on ours f104gts and f104s... but, while Kinetic are both OK (2 cars) there are problems with the Spec's ones which are in F1... (2 cars) one is not functionable anymore and another one do not report temperature correctly....

our Novak's representative in Czech Republic said that Novak wouldn't use PC controlled ESC anymore, which is pitty....

so I'm asking, which ESC we should use in F1 cars? What we need:
A. 21.5T motors, and i would prefer to use Novak's Ballistic motors....
B. Timing, Boost esc... in my country limits are only set to: "21.5" motors so in result F1 can have loss only 1 second on round compared to 2WD Open.... so timing stuff is usefull
C. PC programming... In most of time I can set my ESC to track much faster that others, which is ... handy

I also added some photos of my F1 to this post...

EDIT: the photos are not from F1 used to ride! i am just rebuilding it, just now I am missing "side post?" (not sure of right word) so I used screw to attach what i need...

P.S: if you have any suggestions how to improve my F1... I am ready for it, but Exotek stuff is more or less banned for me, I am in the middle of Europe and do not know about a single Exotek seller here...
ive run the tekin rs and the rspro and both have been great! fully programmable. as far as exotek, bpshadow can probably get you the stuff. he takes care of f1paintlab.com
__________________
Mike Kennedy
AKA - Airtronics - F1RCLab - Thunder Power - JGO Paintz - Dialed Inc. - CompetitionX.com
mkennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:03 PM   #7633
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,223
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Thanks for clearing that up

regards Roy
Couple of other things to point out about the Ride's;

1) the wheels are a bit, umm, flexiable, and do tend to warp after a few hits... so try not to whack stuff!

2) Because the wheels are a smaller internal diameter than tamiyas (sidewall of the rubber is bigger), front ride-height is resticed to about 6mm minimum! Any lower than that, and the bottom of the kingpin will start to rub on the inside of the wheel.. so unless you lower the front 12th scale style (shims under the suspension mounts.. now there's an idea!), you simply can't get the front end any lower

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:30 PM   #7634
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,588
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Can a regular F104 kit be made into a "X" by purchasing the parts?

Couldn't find a listing of parts specific to the X upgrade.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:59 PM   #7635
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,424
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
Can a regular F104 kit be made into a "X" by purchasing the parts?

Couldn't find a listing of parts specific to the X upgrade.
Here's where and what I used for my conversion.
Tell em 'cuda sent ya.
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...d=774&id=12084

http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...d=774&id=12083
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net