R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2012, 05:40 AM   #7426
Tech Elite
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfx View Post
How do You guys measure caster when building custom made link setup? Is there any accurate and simple solution?
i measure it now with a camber gauge no wheels and measure the angle of the hub, before a made the conversion i measured what i had and then done the TRG conversion that was posted a few pages back. it has really made a positive difference with the set up i have i use 9 degrees with the way i measure it at the moment
mattwoodcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:21 AM   #7427
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
I have seen people use there TC setup system with a adaptor for the f1 axle.
Other use a camber gauge when the tires are mounted.
Caster adjustment is another thing.
regards Roy
But TC front caster is adjusted by changing hub carrier (C-hub), isn't it? I need to measure angle of a king pin (from horizontal line) to make the wide link setup as much as possible similar to my narrow F104 setup. With plastic camber plate it should be 0,5 of camber and 3-4 of caster. I'm not sure about caster.

BTW trying to build something like this...
__________________
Tamiya TRF 416 WE
Tamiya F104 Pro wide and F104 Pro V2
dfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:36 AM   #7428
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,084
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

With that setup and you change one of the links it will affect the other settings also.
You can check caster with the camber gauge.
Put the car on a flat surface with the axles in the air without wheels.
Put the camber gauge next to the side of the car and adjust it to the point that it is parrallel to the kingpin.
That is how you read it in degrees
Simple and effective

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:02 AM   #7429
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,469
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use??? Any recommendations!!
Thanks
idbdoug
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:40 AM   #7430
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I've got a reedy 628 in mine. 5500 mah.
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:07 PM   #7431
Tech Fanatic
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use??? Any recommendations!!
Thanks
idbdoug
All depends on the shape of the Lipo; I am running a more squared off Gens-Ace 5000mah but I have to remove screws to get it in and out of the chassis.

If you dont mind taking out 3 screws then I'm sure up to a 5600mah batter will fit.
__________________
http://www.trautengineering.com/ http://www.toledooneeighthracers.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/nrtv20
One Eigth Racers of Toledo; Hobby Stop West Track; "The Gate" NORCAR
FUTABA 2.4G FASST, Spec-R S1, Speed Passion SP-1, Sakura D3 FWD, Kyosho Evolva M3, Team Losi XX-4, Caster EX1.5R, HPI Wheelie King Crawler, Quanum Aquaholic, Joysway Wildcat
nrtv20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:06 PM   #7432
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattwoodcraft View Post
i measure it now with a camber gauge no wheels and measure the angle of the hub...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
You can check caster with the camber gauge.
Put the car on a flat surface with the axles in the air without wheels.
Put the camber gauge next to the side of the car and adjust it to the point that it is parrallel to the kingpin.
That is how you read it in degrees
I'll give a try. Only thing is that I'm not sure how many degrees my setup sys shows...



Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use???
IP 5800 T-plug hard case might fit stock setup but I'm not sure about changing battery. Our club member has this battery in car and said no mods needed. BTW post are 26mm so max. height of a pack is 26mm and 47mm case fits in between stock post from left to right (cutting some plastic from trays or sticking electronics to battery needed).
__________________
Tamiya TRF 416 WE
Tamiya F104 Pro wide and F104 Pro V2
dfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:14 PM   #7433
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,469
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrtv20 View Post
All depends on the shape of the Lipo; I am running a more squared off Gens-Ace 5000mah but I have to remove screws to get it in and out of the chassis.

If you dont mind taking out 3 screws then I'm sure up to a 5600mah batter will fit.
Ok, thanks
idbdoug
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:07 PM   #7434
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Gearing

Hi guys,

Just a quick question, I've been looking around trying to find out but I'm not having much luck..

What pitch is the gearing on the F104W? Is it 48dp or MOD 4 or MOD 6 or something else?

Any help much appreciated,

Thanks,

Joe.
Joe_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:43 PM   #7435
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use??? Any recommendations!!
Thanks
idbdoug
Did you get it? Let's see it! Hope you have it out Saturday
__________________
Exotek F1 Ultra
Exotek F1R
CRC Gen-X 10 LE
Kyosho Plazma F1
TC does RC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:07 AM   #7436
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 15
Default

a nice video from xtremespeedways @ Heraklion/Crete.

Tamiya f104 x1 shimizu tires 8.5T BL 3.2 Gear Ratio

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
jlask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:13 AM   #7437
Tech Regular
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlask View Post
a nice video from xtremespeedways @ Heraklion/Crete.

Tamiya f104 x1 shimizu tires 8.5T BL 3.2 Gear Ratio

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Very nive!
Refreshing to see someone driving with a little more motor in the cars... reading the forums you could easy come to think that it is only 21.5 or 17.5t motors in these cars...
And driving in the wet too!

What type of ESC are you using and is it waterproof?
__________________
Xray T4-14 (BLS551,4.5T/8.5T, Spectrum), Xray X10-15 (Lajf Racing widened 235 4T, IRS)
Lajf Racing P28(LiPo, spectrum), Lajf Racing P28GT (LiPo, spectrum )
Xray X1(21,5T, spectrum) Tamiya M05(tamiya ESC, silver can, spectrum)

Go 235mm with X10 widening parts from www.lajf.se Get your P28 at www.lajf.se/pshop
tudor_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:23 AM   #7438
Tech Addict
 
jake95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

hi
i got a standard f104 i wanted to know if the f109 diff will fit in it
thanks
jake
__________________
XRAY✯NOSRAM✯SANWA
jake95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 04:27 AM   #7439
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Default

hey. y is it that every f1 uses foam tyres but touring cars are better with rubber?
mitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 05:13 AM   #7440
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchie View Post
hey. y is it that every f1 uses foam tyres but touring cars are better with rubber?
2wd and 4wd.
TC used to run foam here in early days (late 90's) but then the rules got change to rubber to reduce costs (yeah right).
2wd not so easy to use on rubber (not actually rubber anymore) outdoors and the current rules have not yet said we cant use foam.

Nitro TC runs Foam, but electric TC runs pretend Rubber (Latex I think it is now)
NiMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 08:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 03:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 06:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0