R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2012, 03:55 AM   #7351
Tech Addict
 
rcdave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aarcobra View Post
RC DAVE-Get rid of the outer rib, both inside and out side? On the outside, do you just glue the sidewall "flap" on the tire to the similar looking area on the wheel?

Thanks,
Ned
Ned, the outer rib on the front and back of the wheel! If you run the plated wheels make sure you sand the metallic off the area to be glued. I've mounted 2 ways. (1) gluing the flap just like the foam wheel (2) flipping the tire inside out and carefully removing the flap with a pair of body scissors and reversing the tire so the cut part is on the back of the wheel. This is a very clean look like a touring car tire and wheel mounted. Make sure if you are going to cut the flap off leave the flat bead part intact!!!! Very important!
__________________
Dave Banks
rcdave1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:10 AM   #7352
Tech Addict
 
rcdave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
so looks like we know why they are out of stock
Mmhmm! I finally found some at a Canadian hobby shop, hobbyhobby.com had them in stock and I should have them by saturday for some racing on the rug! One sidenote though the shipping was as much as the wheels! Oh well you play you pay
__________________
Dave Banks
rcdave1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:42 AM   #7353
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdave1 View Post
Ned, the outer rib on the front and back of the wheel! If you run the plated wheels make sure you sand the metallic off the area to be glued. I've mounted 2 ways. (1) gluing the flap just like the foam wheel (2) flipping the tire inside out and carefully removing the flap with a pair of body scissors and reversing the tire so the cut part is on the back of the wheel. This is a very clean look like a touring car tire and wheel mounted. Make sure if you are going to cut the flap off leave the flat bead part intact!!!! Very important!
Great info! Thanks, I'll take a look at my parts and give it a try!

Ned
aarcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:47 AM   #7354
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
so looks like we know why they are out of stock
Yeah these guys that stock up on parts!!! I have half a dozen F1's and hardly any spares that matter! (and no place to run 'em-might try HOTSHOTS in GA. Saturday if I can get info on times etc.

That's a good thing tho, most guys will share if you need stuff!
aarcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 02:13 PM   #7355
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

The actual nut driver is too large to use. Do they have diff thickness 7mm drivers?
__________________
Chris TRF419 TA05V2
TQ RC Racing Powered by teeth
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 02:16 PM   #7356
Tech Adept
 
rcsuicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 208
Default

Can somebody tell me if the F104 Pro is less than 190mm wide?
rcsuicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 02:27 PM   #7357
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 5,010
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
The actual nut driver is too large to use. Do they have diff thickness 7mm drivers?
Time to take your car to Shaun at TQ and let him sell you a proper fitting nut driver
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 02:28 PM   #7358
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Erhmmmmm..it would be more like 180MM wide

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcsuicide View Post
Can somebody tell me if the F104 Pro is less than 190mm wide?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:58 PM   #7359
Tech Master
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Is it still necessary to cut the ears off of the servo if I'm using a low profile layed down?
__________________
Half-A$$ Racing - Problem solved, problem staying solved!
Awesomatix - Serpent - Tekin - Futaba - Cooper Motorsports.

Last edited by Csaari77; 01-11-2012 at 05:11 PM.
Csaari77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 05:30 PM   #7360
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Csaari77 View Post
Is it still necessary to cut the ears off of the servo if I'm using a low profile layed down?
no
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 05:31 PM   #7361
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
The actual nut driver is too large to use. Do they have diff thickness 7mm drivers?
I have to use a socket wrench, my nut driver is too big too.

That sounded so dirty.
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:25 PM   #7362
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,527
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

In case of emergency, Tamiya 4 way wrench...they come in every kit
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 12:30 PM   #7363
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
no
Could you guys provide picture on a setup with a low profile servo without cutting out the ears? Just got a Savox 1251 low profile and honestly would hate having to cut out the ears of the thing.
arix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 12:49 PM   #7364
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arix View Post
Could you guys provide picture on a setup with a low profile servo without cutting out the ears? Just got a Savox 1251 low profile and honestly would hate having to cut out the ears of the thing.
here you go
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Pro!-f1posse.jpg  
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 03:14 PM   #7365
Tech Master
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Got my servo mounted. Fit perfect and doesn't seem to hit the servo mounts. Now I just need to route the wires so it doesn't look like spagetti and I'll be done.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Pro!-photo.jpg  
__________________
Half-A$$ Racing - Problem solved, problem staying solved!
Awesomatix - Serpent - Tekin - Futaba - Cooper Motorsports.
Csaari77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
smith699
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net