R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2011, 11:17 AM   #7081
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,453
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanDan View Post
Hi Guys,

Just got myself a F104x1 and ready into F1.

However, I have purchased Tamiya rubber tires and tamiya foam rims..

I searched around and know that Pitz tires can be glue on foam rims, but wondering are those tamiya rubber tires also able to glue on foam rims? Or do I have to purchase those tamiya mesh rims.

Many Thanks

Zenkins
If you don't have to run the Tamiya tires for a TCS race or club rules then don't even waste the money for rims to mount them. Get the Pit Shimzu 571 and 572 and have a dialed setup. No contest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesHealey View Post
How do you guys like your F104 to handle?
Understeering and predictable or Oversteering and a bit of a handfull

How do you attack corners? do you take the "perfect line" and keep it all in control? or do you like the rear to steer the car a touch?

I actually change my driving style for foams vs rubber which I think is probably a bit odd, but I like understeer with rubber and to get it to really take smooth lines and the ideal line. Where as with foams I like the back end to be a bit looser and to be able to get the car to rotate in the rear and slide a touch.
You can get that car to stick front and rear with the Pits.
No under or oversteering. Lock it in and drive the snot out of it.
I did not try foams on the F104 but did run foams on the F103 and had the same results, lock it in and drive the snot out of it!
No reason to have understeer and predictable or oversteer and a handful since the Pit tires came out.
Those are traits of the F104 for sure but not with these tires.
I was probably the last to admit that the F104 could actually do this but I am all in now as my car is super dialed on asphalt and carpet with little changes needed to switch back and forth.
Get that rear end super loose, light damper oil, light shock oil and spring and lots of rear pod droop. Adjust as necessary to regain steering after the rear is locked in.
That's what is workin for me.
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:18 PM   #7082
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Huh???
You need the carbon shaft to get it to work?
Now that is a strange fact
This because i use the steel axle with the alloy diff housing.
Pic's please.

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by syrss View Post
nvm, just found it, needs carbon shaft
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:48 PM   #7083
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The item description says 54162 is needed for F103. Am I incorrect to assume that will work on a F104w. And how do you get it to work on your F104w? What I find is the aluminum wheel shaft (came with the diff housing) is too short for the 103 foam tire (came with f104w kit).



The new Aluminum Diff. Housing Set is made of blue anodized aluminum which helpsprovide a smoother moving action and also looks great as a dress up part. When attached to your F104 machine, it makes maintenance a breeze as it does not come apart when you take off your wheels.

Can be used with F104 & F103 series chassis machines. (For use on the F103, item 54162 must be purchased as the axle needs to be shorter for item 54158 to work at all)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Huh???
You need the carbon shaft to get it to work?
Now that is a strange fact
This because i use the steel axle with the alloy diff housing.
Pic's please.

regards Roy
syrss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:04 PM   #7084
Tech Elite
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i have yet to try the pit tyres on my F104 every time i have gone to purchase a set to give them a shot they seem to be out of stock. i interested to know what the track temps are you run on and temps of the day so i compare to here the only reason i ask is so so far i have great success with Tamiya tyre whether it soft rear or medium rear medium rear, generally i will rum medium fronts and have used a hard set of fronts but did not like it that much
mattwoodcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:07 PM   #7085
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Funny as i am running a F104W Pro with steel axle.
You used the stock F103 axle then?
If you did i know that axle is to long.
Even if you have a F104W you need the F104 axle as this one is shorter.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:18 PM   #7086
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,177
Default

My F104W came with the F103 axle as it uses the old F103 style rims with the thrust bearing in the wheel instead of inside the diff hub.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:47 PM   #7087
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

If you want to use the F103 axle you have to cut it a bit on the diff side if you want to use the alloy diff housing of the F104.
If you use the alloy diff housing of the F103 then you won't have a problem.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:59 PM   #7088
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I will trying removing the bearing inside the wheel when I get home tonight, I think that will do it.

Thanks for the feedback guys.

Ron
syrss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 02:13 PM   #7089
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You left the trust bearing in the wheel?
Now it is clear to me why you couldn't mount it
One small tip....Remove the ballbearing in the diff housing and mount the trust bearing in it.
Mount the sping washers like this)( on the trsut bearing and then adjust it to not having any slip.
It will be much smoother then with the ball bearing in there.

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by syrss View Post
I will trying removing the bearing inside the wheel when I get home tonight, I think that will do it.

Thanks for the feedback guys.

Ron
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 04:23 AM   #7090
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks FDR and F N CUDA,

Well I got Tamiya Tires only and none of the Melbourne store stock any F-1 stuff, so have to run, learn, and test before order any Pitz tires.
DanDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:09 PM   #7091
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

By the way, I reworked the home page on the site, here is the URL
http://f1paintlab.com/F1PAINTLAB/HOME.html
The Paintlab store tab now has a link to the store for your convenience
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:18 PM   #7092
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,177
Default

BP...the Lotus on the home page...is that the McLaren body you used? I was thinking on making the Lotus but was looking at the Ferrari as I like the nose better.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:21 PM   #7093
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
BP...the Lotus on the home page...is that the McLaren body you used? I was thinking on making the Lotus but was looking at the Ferrari as I like the nose better.
Nope, Its the F60, Decals are mine, now available through my online store or TQ
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:24 PM   #7094
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,177
Default

Ok cool...that is the body I was planning on ordering...just looked like the nose was high over the front suspension in the pic like the McLaren...probably just the angle.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:29 PM   #7095
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Ok cool...that is the body I was planning on ordering...just looked like the nose was high over the front suspension in the pic like the McLaren...probably just the angle.
Good luck getting it, I know that Tower has them in stock, but they are really pricey. I have been trying to get them for the last 2 months. Had to go an alternative route, and now those are all gone
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net