R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-27-2011, 07:54 AM   #6451
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

http://f1paintlab.com/zencart/
direct link to his store. I just bought one from him 2 weeks ago.
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:19 AM   #6452
Tech Adept
 
Shangrila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 122
Default

All the podium and A main cars were running wide F103 front and rear at the Tamiya EuroCup Finals last week. It is absolutely faster.


Quote:
Originally Posted by robk View Post
If you're going to do that you may as well run the wide front end as well. You car will be like a tricycle, since the rear will be 200mm and the front 180 with the 104 front end.

Wider will be faster, if it's allowed.
Shangrila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:23 PM   #6453
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shangrila View Post
All the podium and A main cars were running wide F103 front and rear at the Tamiya EuroCup Finals last week. It is absolutely faster.
And hear I am modifying my F109 to a 104 frontend, well, one of my F109s.
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 10:51 PM   #6454
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
If your lucky on e-bay and if not try our beloved paintjob guru http://www.f1paintlab.com/Site/HOME.html
Send him a mail and he will hook you up.

regards Roy
Yes I do have them in stock, I had a small issue with the site accepting payments or orders, but I think everything is working now. The address to the online store is f1paintlab.com/zencart
The McLaren bodies are under the 104 section
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:17 PM   #6455
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BP SHADOW View Post
Yes I do have them in stock, I had a small issue with the site accepting payments or orders, but I think everything is working now. The address to the online store is f1paintlab.com/zencart
The McLaren bodies are under the 104 section
worth it. Already deciding on the next one. What would be a good body in your stock to replicate the early 90's Williams?
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:22 PM   #6456
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texastc View Post
worth it. Already deciding on the next one. What would be a good body in your stock to replicate the early 90's Williams?
Type C body which is also in stock, I will be doing the FW14 decals very soon, I have most of the artwork from when I did a Nigel Mansell NSX
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 01:52 PM   #6457
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So Cal, Anaheim, Ca
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Im installing a new servo in my f104 pro what is the best way to mount it? pics and any help would be great I want to get this thing in there. thanks
__________________
Your Hate Fuels My Success!!
If your not scraping... Then your not low enough!!!

TQ Raceway, WCRC, Speed Tech
Shameless121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 07:05 PM   #6458
Tech Regular
 
clayrace24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 439
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Mounting options can be dictated by the size of the servo. Most important is to get the turnbuckles almost straight across to help eliminate bump steer. I ended up shimming my servo with balsa underneath to raise the servo to the proper level.

Clay
__________________
B44.3,Tamiya M05 Mini Cooper and lots of airplanes
clayrace24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 07:36 PM   #6459
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 5,010
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shameless121 View Post
Im installing a new servo in my f104 pro what is the best way to mount it? pics and any help would be great I want to get this thing in there. thanks
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 08:34 PM   #6460
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
i fit it with a regular size servo and works great
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 09:04 PM   #6461
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
Mike,

How much mm of shims do you use under the horn to space the ball stud down?

Also, do you move the servo back a little for good Ackerman.

I tried this setup the other week, and personally prefered Austin's upside upright servo to this method, but I don't think I got it setup well, so want to try it again.

Thanks
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 10:33 PM   #6462
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 5,010
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Mike,

How much mm of shims do you use under the horn to space the ball stud down?

Also, do you move the servo back a little for good Ackerman.

I tried this setup the other week, and personally prefered Austin's upside upright servo to this method, but I don't think I got it setup well, so want to try it again.

Thanks
Ed
I suggest 5-6mm of spacers (depends on your servo size) and the alloy horn. You want the turnbuckles perfectly level to eliminate the bump steer. Grind under the arms if they rub the turnbuckle when the suspension is compressed and the wheels are turned.
Yes, you can slide the servo forward or back as well to adjust ackerman. Bonus points for that

Here is Hayato Matsuzaki's car with the same set up;
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 11:01 PM   #6463
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
I suggest 5-6mm of spacers (depends on your servo size) and the alloy horn. You want the turnbuckles perfectly level to eliminate the bump steer. Grind under the arms if they rub the turnbuckle when the suspension is compressed and the wheels are turned.
Yes, you can slide the servo forward or back as well to adjust ackerman. Bonus points for that

Here is Hayato Matsuzaki's car with the same set up;
Thanks Mike

I used 6mm before, but I think I got the servo in the wrong place so screwed the ackerman up. Did notice the links getting close to the upper a-arms as well, will keep an eye on that.

On a different point, interesting that Hayato's car seems to be 1s... anyone know if that is a Japanese rule?
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:01 AM   #6464
Tech Addict
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shangrila View Post
All the podium and A main cars were running wide F103 front and rear at the Tamiya EuroCup Finals last week. It is absolutely faster.

I'm surprised this is legal? In the UK at the BRCA the wide cars aren't allowed in the GP1 class (narrow,lipo + bl), although it appears nobody raced GP1 everyone ran in the GP2 class this year and ran Silver Can type + Wide cars.


I've considered trying the F104 front & rear on my F103 just to see how it handles in comparison before committing to buying a narrow car.

I'm quite intrigued by the Exotek FX10 conversion kit for the HPI.
JamesHealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:04 AM   #6465
Tech Master
 
texastc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,562
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesHealey View Post
I'm surprised this is legal? In the UK at the BRCA the wide cars aren't allowed in the GP1 class (narrow,lipo + bl), although it appears nobody raced GP1 everyone ran in the GP2 class this year and ran Silver Can type + Wide cars.


I've considered trying the F104 front & rear on my F103 just to see how it handles in comparison before committing to buying a narrow car.

I'm quite intrigued by the Exotek FX10 conversion kit for the HPI.
Am putting f104 front and rear one of my F109s. Just for giggles
__________________
Exotek F1Ultra Tamiya TRF101 Speed Passion SP1 and another Exotek F1Ultra on the way. And whatever is next
"TexasTC, the single Greatest RCF1 racer I have ever known" - My mom "you are a disgrace to RC" - everyone else. TCdoesRC
texastc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net