R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2011, 09:09 AM   #4921
Tech Master
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

anybody pick up any of the new f104w kits?
__________________
Special Thanks to: RC Target, Ko Propo USA, O'Donnell glow plugs, A Main Hobbies-SWORKz USA, R1 Wurks, and Absolute Hobbies.

Capricorn: LAB-C802, LAB E801, LAB-C03, and TE03. SWORKz: S350BK1 EVO II, S104EVO, S12-1M. CRC 235mm Pro-10, Top Rebel 12
gsxr0311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 09:33 AM   #4922
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 870
Trader Rating: 55 (98%+)
Default

I see tower has them now in limited quantity...

Why is it that I cant find a picture of the bodies that come with these kits anywhere? Not on any dealer sites, or the tamiya site even.... I dont want to see the outside of the box lol, i want to see the body painted with supplied stickers...
jhhack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 03:16 AM   #4923
Tech Regular
 
zpmhinojosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reno,NV
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to zpmhinojosa
Default Toro Rosso

Curious what color blue my T R should be? Ant thoughts?
zpmhinojosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:33 AM   #4924
Tech Addict
 
gtfour93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 657
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxr0311 View Post
anybody pick up any of the new f104w kits?
RCMart has some in stock. I got my McLaren MP4/5B from them. The MP4/6 & Ferrari 643 are also available.
__________________
www.activrc.com
gtfour93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 08:15 AM   #4925
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Exotek help

I am almost done building my 104 with the Exotek conversion,I love everything so far.It seems that the 7.4 battery will not fit because its too tall! I thought about raising the top battery brace but then it would change the front steering geometry.What am I doing wrong? Do I need a specific battery to fit in this car?
TWILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:58 AM   #4926
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,955
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TWILL View Post
I am almost done building my 104 with the Exotek conversion,I love everything so far.It seems that the 7.4 battery will not fit because its too tall! I thought about raising the top battery brace but then it would change the front steering geometry.What am I doing wrong? Do I need a specific battery to fit in this car?
Almost any ROAR approved 2s straight battery fits in the EXO104. Also any battery that fits in the stock F104 would have fit in the EXO104 as well because they have the same top plate height.

What batteries are you using in there?
Did you remove the 2 rear screws in the top plate that acts as spacers in step 12?
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:18 AM   #4927
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,155
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Almost any ROAR approved 2s straight battery fits in the EXO104. Also any battery that fits in the stock F104 would have fit in the EXO104 as well because they have the same top plate height.

What batteries are you using in there?
Did you remove the 2 rear screws in the top plate that acts as spacers in step 12?
Don't act like you've memorized or even wrote the instructions Mike!
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:31 AM   #4928
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Almost any ROAR approved 2s straight battery fits in the EXO104. Also any battery that fits in the stock F104 would have fit in the EXO104 as well because they have the same top plate height.

What batteries are you using in there?
Did you remove the 2 rear screws in the top plate that acts as spacers in step 12?
I have Venom 7.4 6400 2c, what isnt fitting in is the piece that keeps the battery from moving forward. I have cut it and think that it will be fine.
TWILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:57 AM   #4929
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,955
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Don't act like you've memorized or even wrote the instructions Mike!
Lol- I'm a jack of all trades. Just like when you were with Schumacher USA
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 12:43 PM   #4930
Tech Regular
 
purple haze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

newbie to rc here about to start building a f104pro kit . any tips for me ? i have only built my m06 before so i have not much experience . i will be running the car on carpet and any help would be greatly appreciated . what kind of servo would you recommend ? i plan on using a tekin fx esc to run with the silver can motor . also , do you have a part number for the black wheels to be used with rubber tires ?

thanks .
purple haze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 02:53 PM   #4931
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,155
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Lol- I'm a jack of all trades. Just like when you were with Schumacher USA
touche' sir, touche'
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 03:55 PM   #4932
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,747
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Can you fit F104 kit rubber tire/rims on a F103?
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 04:09 PM   #4933
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,921
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Can you fit F104 kit rubber tire/rims on a F103?
don't think so...the F103 rims are wider then the F104 tires plus they have different ways of mounting..

the F103 is more traditional TC style beads - where as the F104 is like mounting the VTA tires
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 11:05 PM   #4934
Tech Regular
 
rdcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have an Orion 5000 in mine. I got rid of the battery stop in the front. I also got rid of the side pieces for esc and rec mounting and replaced with a piece of g-10 fiberglass run across the bottom chassis and then servo taped the battery down, Lets face it you really arent getting a lipo out of this chassis easy anyway
__________________
R & RC TIGHTWAD RACING
Where any price is too much.....

BMI 1/10 & 1/12 Copperhead
Scapel, Losi 22, Jammin SC10, Wraith
rdcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:56 AM   #4935
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kapiti, New Zealand
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
don't think so...the F103 rims are wider then the F104 tires plus they have different ways of mounting..

the F103 is more traditional TC style beads - where as the F104 is like mounting the VTA tires
No I think he means, can you fit F104 wheels/tires to a F103.(Not F104 wheels with F103 tires). Yes you can but they are narrower.

Last edited by Bumpy; 04-17-2011 at 01:57 AM. Reason: spelling :(
Bumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 08:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 03:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 06:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:24 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0