R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-24-2010, 07:24 PM   #3196
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

Thanks for the response!! I have been flying RC helis for years but I am a real noob when it comes to RC cars and especially pan cars so I appreciate the help. I don't know anything about tuning these cars so I just keep guessing/changing things to see if it helps or makes it worse.

I have the stock foams, the standard rubber tires and the option rubber tires (soft rear, hard front) for the car. The stock rear foams and standard rubber wheels are horrible in our parking lot. The soft rubber tires seem to hold the rear the best. The foams up front seem to give me a bit more steering but the hard rubbers work just as good when it is hot outside.

I had a hard time getting it to steer tight around corners which is why I switched to the other camber setting. With this setting and a little toe out, the car seemed to corner a little quicker. I have the high traction T-bar on order from Hong Kong... hopefully it will get here in the next few weeks.

If I set the diff up really loose, the rear end holds awesome and the car drives better than ever for a couple laps but the diff works itself loose pretty quick. If I set it up tight enough that it won't loosen up, the rear end kicks out more and more. I was thinking about trying the ceramic diff balls but I didn't know if that would make any difference or just be a waste of money. Are there any tricks I can try for a really smooth low friction diff that won't work itself loose?

The car is over-powered too which doesn't help I am thinking about replacing the current setup with a CC Sidewinder 4600. I run a Mamba Max Pro/5700 in one of my touring cars and I really like the adjustabillity of the ESC and smooth power output.
Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:28 PM   #3197
Tech Adept

Sorry about the long posts