R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-18-2010, 04:28 AM   #3151
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,963
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreC View Post
What up fellow F104'ers! Just got my car.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a good lipo battery? Good power but relatively cheap?

I purchased a battery with banana connectors only to find out it would'nt work.
like it was said, the packs with bullets WILL fit, just take some extra time to figure them out

that being said, I went with a Peak Performance PowerFlo 4000mah Pack w/Deans

its rounded like a stick pack and fits in the F104 chassis WITHOUT modifications Sadly, its outta stock at stormer
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:45 AM   #3152
Tech Addict
 
AndreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Cool. Thanks guys. I'd rather not modify the top deck if I don't have to.
Looks like stormer has the PowerFlo pack with Tamiya connectors, I may just purchase that and put deans plug on it.
AndreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:36 AM   #3153
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,963
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreC View Post
Cool. Thanks guys. I'd rather not modify the top deck if I don't have to.
Looks like stormer has the PowerFlo pack with Tamiya connectors, I may just purchase that and put deans plug on it.
i didn't even notice that I just naturally went looking for the ones with the deans connectors - plus i went specifically looking for a pack with deans
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 10:28 AM   #3154
Tech Addict
 
AndreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

No worries K. I've gotten relatively skilled at soldering

Looks like i'll be running this thing strictly on carpet. Not sure if the track will require foam or rubbers yet, but by reading ya'lls previous post, I should definitely wear the foam tires on asphalt prior to running on carpet? That way all the carpet and shit doesnt stick to the tires. I dont have a tire truer but I can always use someones.
Thanks for the help! Can't wait to get this beast on th track!
AndreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:14 AM   #3155
Tech Elite
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-VET
If you get the F-60 top deck it will work as long as the battery fits in the space. The Bannana plugs go towards the back. Thats how I run my car for TCS. Much cheaper then a new battery. As for the Pro top deck I just cut the front back and used 2mm spacers where the top deck met the servo mounts. Hope this helps
How's the top deck for Ferrari different? Is it different than other non pro kits?
Raman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 12:04 PM   #3156
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

The pro uses carbon fiber for its chassis, the F60 uses carbon composite.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:37 PM   #3157
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Just a thought, but on one of the other F1 RC threads on the forums there is a guy, MikeR, I believe who is with Exotek, they make a beautiful graphite chassis for the HPI F1 car.

Anyway, he has raced in the Ultimate F1 Series I believe, and won, using a 1/18 scale 1800mah lipo pack. The pack is much smaller and lighter than a 1/10 lipo pack and yet provides enough power and run time to get the job done, while saving a lot of space on the chassis. The rules don't stipulate that you have to use a 1/10 pack, so long as it is no more than 2S.

I'm wondering if this might be the future way to go with F1 rc racing as battery placement and space on a cramped F1 chassis is always at a premium, and if a 1/18 lipo pack can do the job, why not use them instead. They also cost less then the 1/10 packs!

Seems like a win-win to me!! Any thoughts?
Enforcerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:53 PM   #3158
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,530
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreC View Post
No worries K. I've gotten relatively skilled at soldering

Looks like i'll be running this thing strictly on carpet. Not sure if the track will require foam or rubbers yet, but by reading ya'lls previous post, I should definitely wear the foam tires on asphalt prior to running on carpet? That way all the carpet and shit doesnt stick to the tires. I dont have a tire truer but I can always use someones.
Thanks for the help! Can't wait to get this beast on th track!
No need to run in foams, it's the rubbers than need to be run in.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:56 PM   #3159
Tech Elite
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...building minis
Posts: 3,228
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enforcerman View Post
Just a thought, but on one of the other F1 RC threads on the forums there is a guy, MikeR, I believe who is with Exotek, they make a beautiful graphite chassis for the HPI F1 car.

Anyway, he has raced in the Ultimate F1 Series I believe, and won, using a 1/18 scale 1800mah lipo pack. The pack is much smaller and lighter than a 1/10 lipo pack and yet provides enough power and run time to get the job done, while saving a lot of space on the chassis. The rules don't stipulate that you have to use a 1/10 pack, so long as it is no more than 2S.

I'm wondering if this might be the future way to go with F1 rc racing as battery placement and space on a cramped F1 chassis is always at a premium, and if a 1/18 lipo pack can do the job, why not use them instead. They also cost less then the 1/10 packs!

Seems like a win-win to me!! Any thoughts?
In the run up to my TCS race, we tested many batteries from 3200mAh Orion Carbon packs up to Thunder Power 5000mAh/40C packs. The lighter packs always had the best lap times, and usually they were the lowest mAh packs. Weight seemed to be disproportionately important in this particular application (TCS rules). For reference, a 3200mAh Carbon pack weighed ~200g and a 5000mAh Thunder Power pack weighed ~300g. That's a 100g difference!
__________________
Why don't we endurance race more often?
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:42 PM   #3160
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Greg, I went back and re-checked that thread that showed MikeR's HPI F1 car with that 1/18 lipo pack and he says it only weighs about 110 grams or 4 ounces!! So the weight savings is huge!! It is a Team Scream 1800 mah 35C hardcase lipo pack that he used. He was the winner of the day in the Ultimate F1 series.

I think he is on to something here and Greg, your findings do seem to support that. I really do believe that going to 1/18 lipo packs is the way to go in the future for F1 rc racing!
Enforcerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:15 PM   #3161
Tech Adept
 
J-VET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raman View Post
How's the top deck for Ferrari different? Is it different than other non pro kits?
The F-60 kits have a recess on each side in the back for the bullet connectors. No need to cut the top deck. I'm not sure why they dont do the same on the Pro top deck.
J-VET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:31 PM   #3162
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,963
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-VET View Post
The F-60 kits have a recess on each side in the back for the bullet connectors. No need to cut the top deck. I'm not sure why they dont do the same on the Pro top deck.
I'm blind
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly

Last edited by k_bojar; 08-18-2010 at 09:12 PM.
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:05 PM   #3163
Tech Elite
 
Arahawak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: A.D. 2030
Posts: 3,441
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe View Post
In the run up to my TCS race, we tested many batteries from 3200mAh Orion Carbon packs up to Thunder Power 5000mAh/40C packs. The lighter packs always had the best lap times, and usually they were the lowest mAh packs. Weight seemed to be disproportionately important in this particular application (TCS rules). For reference, a 3200mAh Carbon pack weighed ~200g and a 5000mAh Thunder Power pack weighed ~300g. That's a 100g difference!
No weight limits??
__________________
Support Bacteria - its the only culture some people have!
Arahawak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:07 PM   #3164
Tech Adept
 
J-VET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by J-VET
The F-60 kits have a recess on each side in the back for the bullet connectors. No need to cut the top deck. I'm not sure why they dont do the same on the Pro top deck.
actually, i don't believe that's the case...

i'm attaching a shot from each manual - and both decks physically look the same, just one is fiberglass and one it carbon

This is the case. I have one of each. My stock f104 pro top deck got damaged so I cut it to fit. Then for TCS since that was not allowed I got a F-60 top deck and use it with bullet connectors. No modifications necessary. The bullet connectors fit just to the left and right of the friction plate with no problems.
J-VET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:07 PM   #3165
Tech Elite
 
Arahawak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: A.D. 2030
Posts: 3,441
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
actually, i don't believe that's the case...

i'm attaching a shot from each manual - and both decks physically look the same, just one is fiberglass and one it carbon
Looks different, besides the type of material.

One is flat at the rear of the deck and the other is in a W-shaped.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F104 Pro!-f104pro_topdeck.jpg   Tamiya F104 Pro!-f60_topdeck.jpg  
__________________
Support Bacteria - its the only culture some people have!
Arahawak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tamiya F104, HPI F10 and POPULARITY bxpitbull Electric On-Road 28 07-22-2011 07:13 AM
HPI F10 vs Tamiya F104 Pro daygoVR6 Electric On-Road 38 12-03-2010 02:19 PM
FS: Tamiya F103RM and F104 Pro! SerpentCT4S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 42 09-12-2009 05:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:09 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net