Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
iPhone applications for R/C (need ideas!) >

iPhone applications for R/C (need ideas!)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

iPhone applications for R/C (need ideas!)

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 09:27 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default iPhone applications for R/C (need ideas!)

Hi all,

I'm a software developer by profession and I've raced RC cars for a few years now. There have been a number of times that I've wished there were an RC application for the iPhone to do this or do that.

I'd like to develop a few applications for the iPhone specifically for RC and I was hoping to get input from you.

One of the main apps I'd like to see is one for setups. Here are some ideas:

- Allows me to store setups (camber, shock oil weights, spring rates, tire shore, etc, etc) with some notes and later I can pull that setup back up.

- Contains setup explanations for each area of the car. For instance modifying your camber does blah blah blah. This might even be car-specific as ramifications vary by model.

- Displays current weather information based on your location and stores this with the setup for that day (temperature, humidity,etc).

- Might provide setup suggestions to achieve certain results. This would have to be model-specific. For instance I tell it that my car currently exhibits some off-throttle oversteer mid-corner and based on my current settings, it offers some suggestions.

- Might allow for uploading your setups and perhaps downloading setups of others, etc. This wouldn't help much if other people weren't using the application but if the application really caught on, could be great.

- Could contain some reference information like oil rate conversions across brands, etc.

Before I dive into such an application, you could really help me by answering:

1. Would YOU buy an RC-specific application from the iPhone/iTouch Application Store?