R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2009, 09:08 AM   #1411
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,148
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
You may want to try calling them. Every time I have called they have been always pleasant to talk with.

Adam, any tips you have for the V3.0 series of motors or things I should keep any eye on? I have the 13.5 for my 2wd buggy, and I am looking to purchase 2 21.5s for VTA out here, and one of them will also see duty as an offroad motor for a 2wd buggy for my daughter starting out.
My only tip; Don't gear it like any other motor you've used. Gear it a few teeth lower than the V2 SP motors, if you are using this from another brand motor, be safe and gear like 6 teeth down and start there.

Use common sense when starting up the first time, drop a few teeth and check temps, if they're low gear up. Better be safe than have a blown up motor on the first run
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:28 AM   #1412
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,821
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
You asked me a question almost 6 months ago which was answered, You haven't emailed me, or asked a question since then.

So what's your question now?
My cousin was using my Speed Controller 1.1 over the weekend, because His fried 2.2 Carbon fried up when he was up here in houston after few test runs.

I think he trying to figure out if there is a repair center here of somesort that you can send the ESC in ,u should have an email from him.
I'll let him know you on here xD

Gotta love the oldschool 1.1 lol its been abused beyond believe LOL and its still kicking ^^


btw I am still trying to buy an old 1.1 case ^^ b/c mines been through a good dozen cars now, doesnt look the best anymore.
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:31 AM   #1413
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,148
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
My cousin was using my Speed Controller 1.1 over the weekend, because His fried 2.2 Carbon fried up when he was up here in houston after few test runs.

I think he trying to figure out if there is a repair center here of somesort that you can send the ESC in ,u should have an email from him.
I'll let him know you on here xD

Gotta love the oldschool 1.1 lol its been abused beyond believe LOL and its still kicking ^^


btw I am still trying to buy an old 1.1 case ^^ b/c mines been through a good dozen cars now, doesnt look the best anymore.
Has he emailed me? I'm going through emails right now
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:37 AM   #1414
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,821
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default

Beats me, he used that support email on the schumacher website that i send him to.

Are there any differences between Chrome Carbon and Blue ? in the Pro 2.2 ?

And it also states 11 Program function on SP site.

Quote "Standard Smart ESC Program Unit
Came with the ESC LED Display with 11 adjustable function"

I know mines 1.1 has 11 since it does brushed.
Whats the 11th function on the 2.2 ?
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:43 AM   #1415
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,148
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
Beats me, he used that support email on the schumacher website that i send him to.

Are there any differences between Chrome Carbon and Blue ? in the Pro 2.2 ?

And it also states 11 Program function on SP site.

Quote "Standard Smart ESC Program Unit
Came with the ESC LED Display with 11 adjustable function"

I know mines 1.1 has 11 since it does brushed.
Whats the 11th function on the 2.2 ?
I'll look it up and see if i see anything from him, PM me his name please

other than color, there are zero differences between those 2 ESC's

I'm guessing that's a misprint because there is only 10 functions on the 2.0, the stock box, and LCD box only has 10 functions on them??
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:59 AM   #1416
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,821
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default

LPF and Reg have same Motor limit ?
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:02 AM   #1417
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,148
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
LPF and Reg have same Motor limit ?
No, there are differences between the PRO and LPF, LPF has a 5.5T motor limit, the Pro has no limit.

example:

If you have a Carbon, Blue or Silver LPF they are all the same expect color
If you have a Carbon, Blue or Silver PRO they are all the same except color

I may have misread your first question, sorry man
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 01:36 PM   #1418
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
http://www.speedpassion.net/en/productDetails.asp?p=65

Download version 1.32 if you want the latest "stock" software

Download version 1.31 is you want the 3.12 software
How does the Newest version of stock software on version 1.32 compare with the 312 on 1.31??
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 02:42 PM   #1419
Tech Regular
 
dsyed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndysD8 View Post
How does the Newest version of stock software on version 1.32 compare with the 312 on 1.31??
it is my impression that the new stock is creating more rpm... i have the motor timing maxed and DRRS 8 and ESC timing 7... with an FDR at 4.53 ... seems pretty fast to me on a tc....

next i want to try the recommended 4.2 FDR and 5.2
dsyed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 02:57 PM   #1420
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyed1 View Post
it is my impression that the new stock is creating more rpm... i have the motor timing maxed and DRRS 8 and ESC timing 7... with an FDR at 4.53 ... seems pretty fast to me on a tc....

next i want to try the recommended 4.2 FDR and 5.2
just messing around this afternoon with the 312/stock107/stock110, i can say its a big difference in the punch/feel and with a higher final drive is also getting impressive speed.
Have to wait for the first meet of the new year and see how it shapes up to the proven 312 software on the track.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:50 PM   #1421
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Finally got around to getting the LCD programming box (along with a couple more V2 GTs, yea!).

But I still use a V1.1 GT too. Tried slogging through the thread recently, sorry if I missed this, but a couple questions:

Can I use the LCD box to fine adjust drag brakes on the V1.1 GT?

Can I update software on the V1.1? (or should I?)

Thanks!
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:33 PM   #1422
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,148
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Finally got around to getting the LCD programming box (along with a couple more V2 GTs, yea!).

But I still use a V1.1 GT too. Tried slogging through the thread recently, sorry if I missed this, but a couple questions:

Can I use the LCD box to fine adjust drag brakes on the V1.1 GT?

Can I update software on the V1.1? (or should I?)

Thanks!
The LCD box will not work with the 1.1

see answer in red
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:39 PM   #1423
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
The LCD box will not work with the 1.1

see answer in red
Thank you Adam.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 06:39 PM   #1424
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,171
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndysD8 View Post
How does the Newest version of stock software on version 1.32 compare with the 312 on 1.31??
Posted this earlier in the week. I'm prefering the new software to the 312, even though it's had just the one meeting

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Anyway, just got back from my first running with the new stock software. Started out running the 110, before switching to the 107 later in the day. If anything, I prefered the 110 version, but need to do a bit more experiementing I think. There is a noticeable increase in revs over the 312 software I was using before, so had geared down quite a bit over previous

Unfortuantly, I had to drop back to a v2 motor, as my v3 10.5 had a problem with the sensor board plug vibrating itself loose... and the speedo then dropping into sensorless mode. But even then the car felt good, but could have done with the extra revs of the v3 for a bit more top end.

Anyway, settings...
Drag Brake; 5%
Low Voltage; 3.0v/cell
AMTS Timing; 26.25
Start Mode DRRS; Level IX
Max Brake; 100%
Initial Brake; Drag Brake
Neutral Range; 6%
Overheat protection; disabled
Motor; Speed Passion v2 10.5t (purple/12.3mm rotor)
FDR; 5.9 - 6.0

Overall, very impressed...

Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:22 PM   #1425
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Posted this earlier in the week. I'm prefering the new software to the 312, even though it's had just the one meeting
wat do you think the biggest difference between 10 stock and 07stock
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0