R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2014, 07:53 PM   #12736
Tech Master
 
Jeepy2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_RCGuy View Post
I have a 10.5R with a Reventon R ESC combo. It ran perfect in my SCT. I transferred it to my 1:10 pan car I am building and it is cogging VERY badly.

It is very loud through the entire power band. It runs fine until I mesh the motor to the spur gear. I have checked and rechecked the mesh and all the wiring. I even resoldered the wiring. It does with or without the sensor wire hooked up.

I have tried the drift and mod1 firmwares.

Any ideas?
If it is doing it with and without the sensor cable plugged in, to me, it would suggest a bad sensor cable possibly. Do you have another cable you can try?
Jeepy2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:39 AM   #12737
Tech Initiate
 
Mr_RCGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepy2013 View Post
If it is doing it with and without the sensor cable plugged in, to me, it would suggest a bad sensor cable possibly. Do you have another cable you can try?
It was a defective pinion gear. Fixed it. Works now.
Mr_RCGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 07:17 PM   #12738
Tech Master
 
markt311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville Tennessee
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default 12th scale Reventon R

Hi, I just picked up my first 12th scale car. I want to try to use my Reventon R in it, I plan on using a life rx pack. Has anyone had experience running the Reventon R in single cell racing? and if so give me some tips or anything to look out for.
Thanks,
Mark
__________________
PR Racing Bellgate Distributors
Caster Racing Parts
311 RC Graphics
markt311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 10:42 PM   #12739
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3,128
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markt311 View Post
Hi, I just picked up my first 12th scale car. I want to try to use my Reventon R in it, I plan on using a life rx pack. Has anyone had experience running the Reventon R in single cell racing? and if so give me some tips or anything to look out for.
Thanks,
Mark
I don't think the R is 1s compatible. It also obviously doesn't have a booster for the BEC. Certainly the manual states 2s lipo only operation. I think the only esc that speed passion have is the 1.1 ex which is 1s compatible. For 1/12 most people I know run the hobby wing 1s esc with internal booster.
__________________
Serpent Viper 977e, Serpent Project 4x, Serpent 811T-TE Truggy, Serpent 811e 2.1, Serpent 411 4.0 Eryx, Serpent SRX-2 RM, Serpent SRX-4, Serpent F110-SF2, Serpent F180, Serpent 748 Natrix WC, Serpent Cobra GT 3.0, Serpent SRX8, Serpent S811 2.2, Baja 5B Flux, Atomic AMZ 1/27th, Schumacher GT12 SS.
Sanwa, Ielasi Tuned Novarossi Racing Engines, Tekin, Hobbywing, Muchmore.
dan_vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 12:03 AM   #12740
Tech Master
 
markt311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville Tennessee
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan_vector View Post
I don't think the R is 1s compatible. It also obviously doesn't have a booster for the BEC. Certainly the manual states 2s lipo only operation. I think the only esc that speed passion have is the 1.1 ex which is 1s compatible. For 1/12 most people I know run the hobby wing 1s esc with internal booster.
Which is the reason I'll be installing a 6.6volt life rx pack to power the servo and esc.
__________________
PR Racing Bellgate Distributors
Caster Racing Parts
311 RC Graphics
markt311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 09:35 AM   #12741
Tech Adept
 
jreeves's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Anyone else had a problem with the Reventon Pro not shutting off with the pushbutton?
Mine will turn on fine with the button but I have to unplug the battery to turn it off lately. It worked fine before?
__________________
Team Durango DEX410v3 ~ Team Durango DESC410R
ARC R10 ~ Parsec NC4 ~ Trinity Reflex NT ~ Neo Saber
jreeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 09:47 AM   #12742
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3,128
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markt311 View Post
Which is the reason I'll be installing a 6.6volt life rx pack to power the servo and esc.
Try it but I'm pretty sure it won't work very well if at all.
__________________
Serpent Viper 977e, Serpent Project 4x, Serpent 811T-TE Truggy, Serpent 811e 2.1, Serpent 411 4.0 Eryx, Serpent SRX-2 RM, Serpent SRX-4, Serpent F110-SF2, Serpent F180, Serpent 748 Natrix WC, Serpent Cobra GT 3.0, Serpent SRX8, Serpent S811 2.2, Baja 5B Flux, Atomic AMZ 1/27th, Schumacher GT12 SS.
Sanwa, Ielasi Tuned Novarossi Racing Engines, Tekin, Hobbywing, Muchmore.
dan_vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 01:58 PM   #12743
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,469
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markt311 View Post
Hi, I just picked up my first 12th scale car. I want to try to use my Reventon R in it, I plan on using a life rx pack. Has anyone had experience running the Reventon R in single cell racing? and if so give me some tips or anything to look out for.
Thanks,
Mark
For sure it is not rated or recommended to run 1s.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jreeves View Post
Anyone else had a problem with the Reventon Pro not shutting off with the pushbutton?
Mine will turn on fine with the button but I have to unplug the battery to turn it off lately. It worked fine before?
Are you running any positive throttle trim? If so set it to "0" and see if it will turn off. Also make sure you update to the newest possible software. I think there was an issue awhile back like what you mentioned.
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 02:53 PM   #12744
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 405
Default

Need some help on how to get more speed out of my current gear.

Running a reventon 1.1 and 7.5, v3 (old version) motor in my t4 on indoor carpet, rubber tires

i have been running on a small carpet track, running std timing (5degrees), drrs on 5, 7.6 gearing ..

going to race on a larger track soon, 35m straight. does anyone have a good startingpoint with boost, and gearing?

the feeling today is smooooooth and very easy to drive, want to keep a fairly smooth feeling and still get some more top speed
__________________
Xray T4`16 - Hobbywing - Highest - Sanwa - Gens Ace
Schumacher Cougar KF2 - Hobbywing - Highest - Sanwa - Gens Ace
Bappe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 03:03 PM   #12745
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

What's the best software for stock racing, boosted and blinky?
I'm currently using a reventon pro, any help will be apreciated.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 10:18 PM   #12746
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,469
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bappe View Post
Need some help on how to get more speed out of my current gear.

Running a reventon 1.1 and 7.5, v3 (old version) motor in my t4 on indoor carpet, rubber tires

i have been running on a small carpet track, running std timing (5degrees), drrs on 5, 7.6 gearing ..

going to race on a larger track soon, 35m straight. does anyone have a good startingpoint with boost, and gearing?

the feeling today is smooooooth and very easy to drive, want to keep a fairly smooth feeling and still get some more top speed
Use Stock1 and delay the boost to hit later/more on straights.

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted2blue View Post
What's the best software for stock racing, boosted and blinky?
I'm currently using a reventon pro, any help will be apreciated.
Stock and blinky the same?

Stock0 is the option for stock/blinky no ESC timing.

Most top guys seem to prefer Stock 1 for modified classes.
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 03:57 AM   #12747
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Is there a link for downloading the PC interface without the need of using winzip? Just want the full file size of the PC interface file to upload stock firmware on my reventon pro.
Cause i don't want to download some sponsor software for just using the winzip for only 1 time.

@Nexus,

Thx for the reply.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 01:08 PM   #12748
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,540
Trader Rating: 106 (98%+)
Default

ive got a pro 1.1 it had the stock sofware in it now has mod 2 in it it has had a slight stutter right at take off if u just hardly give it throttle tried re doing esc radio diff motors diff sensor cables unpluged sensor cable made it way worse. are they all like that or is mine starting to get a issue .
ashxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 01:34 PM   #12749
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

First, I have been able to install the PC interface and i also installed the Stock1 program on my ESC.
Second, the installation of the program on my computer is waaaaaay to complicated comparing to hobbywing.
After completing the update to my esc i'm unable to use the (blue) smart lcd program card when i would like to change some settings to the ESC without my computer, is this normal?
Even when i try to use my LCD professional program card it won't work either.
Even when i would like to connect the ESC to my computer it will not work, the ESC will not reconize the program card.
To my understanding i'm only able to change my ESC settings with a connection to my computer and not with just only with any program card.
If that's correct i'm very dissapointed in this speedpassion thing, cause i really do not like to take my computer with me everytime i'm going to practice or go to a race.
I really like the speedpassion speed controllers but if this is the case i will sell my reventon pro esc and i will not buy any speedpassion esc anymore.
Hopefully someone can help me out if it's possible to use only the program card for changing the esc settings.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 05:09 PM   #12750
Tech Regular
 
prosport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Akron Ohio
Posts: 309
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, my son and I both have a ReventonR speed control and they've worked great for a year. Today, my son's is shutting down when he goes full throttle for more than 2 seconds. He can drive it around at 3/4 throttle with no problems and he can blip full throttle constantly, but as soon as he goes full throttle for more than 2 seconds it only has enough power to creep the car back to him. Any ideas?
We've tried different batteries and connectors, have not tried a different motor yet.
prosport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
denon
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0