R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2014, 12:28 PM   #12646
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,473
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Congratulations to Lee Passehl on winning the 2014 BFTR Modified Touring A1 and A2 to take the overall victory.

Lee was running the Speed Passion MMM 4.5T to power his Tamiya 418.

A1
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


A2
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 01:25 PM   #12647
Tech Adept
 
Ranger411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Batavia, NY
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Got my Reventon Pro back today. Popped her back in and worked like a champ. Thanks Nexus for the help.
__________________
22SCT 2.0: Speed Passion Revention Pro/ Tekin 8.5T / SMC / Proline EVO /
22B: LRP Sphere / Tekin 8.5T/ SMC /
DESC410 V2 / Hobbywing SCT pro / Hobbywing 4 Pole/ SMC
Ranger411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 12:59 AM   #12648
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,608
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

With the Reventon R conectiong to a PC does one have to disconnect the fan on the esc really or is this a typo in the manual? Does'nt USB only provide 5volts anyway?
__________________
Team Durango - Speed Passion - Gens Ace
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:51 AM   #12649
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,473
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
With the Reventon R conectiong to a PC does one have to disconnect the fan on the esc really or is this a typo in the manual? Does'nt USB only provide 5volts anyway?
Yes. You will need to disconnect it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger411 View Post
Got my Reventon Pro back today. Popped her back in and worked like a champ. Thanks Nexus for the help.
Awesome
__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:52 AM   #12650
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,473
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Euro Touring Series Finale - Hudy Race track.


Speed Passion's Viktor Wilck ran strong through qualifying TQing 2 rounds with his Tamiya 418.

http://www.redrc.net/2014/07/wilck-h...iya-1-2-in-q2/


__________________
Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 09:40 AM   #12651
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Hi guys, I've got a minor problem with my SP Reventon Pro 1.1. Just after a bit of advice really.

I have the Reventon Pro and a v3 9.5 motor which works fine with the MOD2 or MOD1 firmware but when I try the Stock1 firmware I get what I think is referred to as "cogging" on start up. It's fine as soon as it's moving and very quick but it is a bit frustrating going from a standstill to moving.

Here are the things I've tried to remedy it:

Smaller pinion
Reduced the static timing on the motor to 0
Checked all connections
I have a new sensor lead on the way too but it works fine with the other firmware so I feel this isn't the problem.
It doesn't get particularly hot and hasn't got hot in the past as far as I'm aware.
Re-flashed the firmware, several times.

I've tried all ESC settings from mild to wild but it's still the same.
Currently using 50% HB, 135k max, .8s delay and 3deg/.1s slope

The battery is a 5000mah 40c 2s lipo.

Could anyone give me some advice please?

P.S Are the fans universal? Mine has just stopped working for some reason so I need a replacement but the shops I normally use are out of stock of SP ones. The fan has stopped working using the MOD2 firmware so I'm pretty sure it's unrelated to my aforementioned problem.

Thanks in advance!
thelazydonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:23 AM   #12652
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Utah
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

GT2.0 LPF ESC for SC10 4x4
I was told that I could use the GT2.0 LPF with my SC10 4x4 is this correct? I currently own two GT2.1 Pro Stock ESCs, B4.1/T4.2, that I love. I have a GT2.0LPF that I would like to pair with the Blaze 4600kv or 5700kv motor to run open 4wd SC at our local track. Any input or help would be much appreciated.
Jade67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 03:02 AM   #12653
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jade67 View Post
GT2.0 LPF ESC for SC10 4x4
I was told that I could use the GT2.0 LPF with my SC10 4x4 is this correct? I currently own two GT2.1 Pro Stock ESCs, B4.1/T4.2, that I love. I have a GT2.0LPF that I would like to pair with the Blaze 4600kv or 5700kv motor to run open 4wd SC at our local track. Any input or help would be much appreciated.
The LPF version is not a good idea for 4x4 as it is a lower rating that the GT2.0 Pro. The SC10 4X4 needs a much stronger ESC than any 2wd buggy or truck.
In most cases a 150A ESC is needed to ensure you don't kill your motor and ESC. I think the LPF is only rated at 60A.
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 07:29 PM   #12654
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,608
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

DRRS/Punch Question:

With the Reventon ESC running Mod1 Software I have read somewhere that the DRRS only adjusts the timing ramp up of the timing setting even in say mod1 software, is this true? As in if I had timing degrees set to "0" would DRRS/punch effectively to nothing?
has anyone tested this to confirm
__________________
Team Durango - Speed Passion - Gens Ace
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 12:40 AM   #12655
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 181
Default

Does anyone know what actual timing is applied by the Reventon Pro in the Turbo phase. In the boost phase too actually.

I have the 13.5 MMM with HB active at 90% and HB Max 150k top speed is amazing but acceleration is a little lacking.

I have tried a Toro ts120 and found acceleration and punch is great but the top speed is no where near the Reventon Pro.

I wondered how much timing can be added in the turbo phase.

What is the total Max timing that can be applied, is it 64 including motor, boost and turbo? Or can you add more? Such as 11 on motor, 30 boost and 50 turbo? That is what the Reventon pro feels like.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 12:23 AM   #12656
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default New Reventon Pro 1.1?

Nexus,
I bought a new Reventon Pro 1.1 combo with the 4.5T MMM motor from SpeedPower in Chicago(SP US warehouse). After powering up the ESC has both the red and the orange leds blinking. I already did the endpoints calibration numerous times. What does this mean? Do I have to send it back?

BTW, this is my second Reventon Pro. My first Reventon Pro 1.0 worked great.
__________________
Believe in yourself!

Last edited by CL; 07-19-2014 at 01:41 AM.
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 01:47 PM   #12657
Tech Master
 
skater-deez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsburg,Pa
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Exclamation

New question about an old esc! I have several SP esc's and noticed something today that made me scratch my head. I have a Cirtix stock club race that I pulled out to put in one of my cars and the orange and red lights both stay on in neutral but then both go off when the throttle is pulled. It works perfectly fine but I thought the red was supposed to blink to signify "blinky" but it's either solid on or solid off....no blink. Any ideas????
__________________
Going nowhere fast since 1973!
skater-deez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 02:53 PM   #12658
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,145
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Ok guys . My son and I joined the speed passion team back in april and we r in the process of swapping all our ESCs over to the pro 1.1 what needs to be done to them too run spec 17.5 ?
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 12:03 AM   #12659
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CL View Post
Nexus,
I bought a new Reventon Pro 1.1 combo with the 4.5T MMM motor from SpeedPower in Chicago(SP US warehouse). After powering up the ESC has both the red and the orange leds blinking. I already did the endpoints calibration numerous times. What does this mean? Do I have to send it back?

BTW, this is my second Reventon Pro. My first Reventon Pro 1.0 worked great.
Nevermind! My problem went away after I re-download the firmware to the speed control.
__________________
Believe in yourself!
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 12:07 AM   #12660
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlfx car audio View Post
Ok guys . My son and I joined the speed passion team back in april and we r in the process of swapping all our ESCs over to the pro 1.1 what needs to be done to them too run spec 17.5 ?
You need to download the latest software from the Speedpassion website and then update the firmware on the speed control to Stock0 which is the blinky mode for spec racing.
__________________
Believe in yourself!
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0