R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2014, 09:59 AM   #12541
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,463
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmic View Post
Send the same message to SP-service-center. Will se if they can help...
I don't think it's worth time time and effort to try and repair that board yourself. Plus it could possibly mess up another part of the board.

Contact Speed Passion for an RMA if it is under warranty. We might be able to help you out, but need the details. PM me your information and I will try and assist you.
__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 05:13 AM   #12542
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

Is there a alternative to the SPLCD01 programming box (can't find one)? I just purchased a GT V2.1 EX and I will need to program it. I have a Hobbywing program box and I heard that it might work.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 08:07 AM   #12543
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Is there a alternative to the SPLCD01 programming box (can't find one)? I just purchased a GT V2.1 EX and I will need to program it. I have a Hobbywing program box and I heard that it might work.
The HW LCD box does work with the GT speedos. That's what I use.
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:00 AM   #12544
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
The HW LCD box does work with the GT speedos. That's what I use.
Thanks for the answer. Another question, do you use the HW software or do I need to use Speed Passions? Speed Passion informed the the GT ESC line and programmer are discontinued.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:22 AM   #12545
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,040
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Is there a alternative to the SPLCD01 programming box (can't find one)? I just purchased a GT V2.1 EX and I will need to program it. I have a Hobbywing program box and I heard that it might work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
The HW LCD box does work with the GT speedos. That's what I use.
HW box work ONLY if the box still using their old pre-V3.0 software...if the box is already running the post V3.0 software in the box, it won't work....
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:29 AM   #12546
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,511
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

when I got my HW box I just flashed the box to the SP software for the programmer box. works great.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 01:06 PM   #12547
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Thanks for the answer. Another question, do you use the HW software or do I need to use Speed Passions? Speed Passion informed the the GT ESC line and programmer are discontinued.
The firmware is still available on the SP website. Just go to the download page and it's at the bottom of the 2nd page. V1.38
__________________
R-Factor RC Products
AE- TC6.1WC, TC6.2, RSD6, B5M
CRC- GenX10 WGT & Pro10 Prototype, WTF1, Xti 1/12
R-Factor RC- TC4-R, P8 PanCar
Not as Fast as I want to be but too old to Whine about it... 8-)
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 05:39 AM   #12548
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

Thanks guys. Since I use my HW programmer on HW speedos a lot I don't want to change its software. I just found a local racer with the correct SP programmer. If it doesn't work I will get second HW box and flash it.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 03:22 PM   #12549
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

OK, the ESC showed up today and I wired it up and connected the included programmer and all was good. Then as an experiment I took my Hobbyking (not wing) USB adaptor and connected it like I would a Hobbywing ESC to my computer. I launched the Hobbywing 3.43 software and turned on the ESC. The GT V2.1 EX was recognized and looked all the world like a Hobbywing esc. I flashed the V3_508_no_timing software to the ESC then set all of my 1s parameters. Now the Hobbywing programmer works (and it would have before flashing software) just like the Speed Passion ESC is a Hobbywing (and it probably is). Nice 1s esc for about $65.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:38 PM   #12550
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,463
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
OK, the ESC showed up today and I wired it up and connected the included programmer and all was good. Then as an experiment I took my Hobbyking (not wing) USB adaptor and connected it like I would a Hobbywing ESC to my computer. I launched the Hobbywing 3.43 software and turned on the ESC. The GT V2.1 EX was recognized and looked all the world like a Hobbywing esc. I flashed the V3_508_no_timing software to the ESC then set all of my 1s parameters. Now the Hobbywing programmer works (and it would have before flashing software) just like the Speed Passion ESC is a Hobbywing (and it probably is). Nice 1s esc for about $65.
Awesome. That ESC is still a beast. Many guys are or were running it before the Reventon 1.1 EX came out.
__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 08:49 PM   #12551
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Currently my son and I are running stock tc and usgt with HW esc.... now I have had many different escs for many manufacturer s can someone compare the SP line to my list below please
sxx v2 1s best brakes I have ever felt and has small foot print.
novak gtb3 nice but very large but brakes r not that great at wto.
hobbwing 120a 2.1 1s love it . Good brakes ...
hobbwing 60a xtreme stock good but brakes suck
orca Q spark. very smooth decent brakes but very soft punch with no adjustment.....
__________________
Justin & Matt Lyons
Awesomatix USA, EA motorsports, Sanwa, Protoform, Avid, Gravity Rc , TSR!
a800s sanwa m12s
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 02:29 PM   #12552
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,463
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

JJ Wang TQs and wins 1/12 Modified at the Asian Onroad Championships using the Speed Passion Reventon 1.1 EX.

__________________
{{ SPEED PASSION USA }}

<<-- WWW.SPEEDPOWERRC.COM ->>
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 04:12 PM   #12553
Tech Initiate
 
cannonballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: alabama
Posts: 43
Default

hi, I have the new Reventon 1.1 and I have noticed that the fan has never came on. I am running it in a DEX410 w/ saddle packs. 2cell. I have a tekin esc and once I turn the esc on the fan will run till I turn on the radio, then only once it get to the temp needed to engage the fan.. On the Reventon the fan has nver came on, I even put in on a direct port in the RX and nothing.. I was at the local track just a bit ago, and ran a full pack through, the ESC was hot to the touch, but the fan never came on to cool it down. Do I have a bad fan? Is there a way to make the fan come on?

thanks
cannonballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 04:21 PM   #12554
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,040
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonballs View Post
hi, I have the new Reventon 1.1 and I have noticed that the fan has never came on. I am running it in a DEX410 w/ saddle packs. 2cell. I have a tekin esc and once I turn the esc on the fan will run till I turn on the radio, then only once it get to the temp needed to engage the fan.. On the Reventon the fan has nver came on, I even put in on a direct port in the RX and nothing.. I was at the local track just a bit ago, and ran a full pack through, the ESC was hot to the touch, but the fan never came on to cool it down. Do I have a bad fan? Is there a way to make the fan come on?

thanks
Fan might be bad, try another fan and is there is power to the fan from the port first....the ESC will turn on the fan when the ESC is on, so there are no turn on and turn off....

If it tested it is the bad fan, submit RMA and contact our US office and we can warranty you a new fan for the V1.1.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 06:48 PM   #12555
Tech Initiate
 
cannonballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: alabama
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Fan might be bad, try another fan and is there is power to the fan from the port first....the ESC will turn on the fan when the ESC is on, so there are no turn on and turn off....

If it tested it is the bad fan, submit RMA and contact our US office and we can warranty you a new fan for the V1.1.
Yes, I did just that. I tested it with my tekin fan, and the fan ran the whole time. So, the fan I got is bad. I will submit a RMA on the fan.

thanks
cannonballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0