R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2013, 02:37 PM   #12061
Tech Adept
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
In general, you really don't want to be free revving a motor like that. Its a quick way to have destroyed motor.

As for your temp issue, do you notice any funny with the motor on starts, stops, etc other than the temp.
Thanks for letting me know. I did not know that running a motor with no load could damage the motor so hopefully mine is still OK.

The motor runs fine. I used it at a club race last week and didn't notice any problems. But one thing I did change was the timing. I use the 30-40 degree yellow timing board and normally I have it at 30 degrees. I moved It to 35 degrees and that's when I noticed it got hotter quicker. I moved it back to 30 and it seems to be OK now so maybe it doesn't like timings higher than 30.
jdawg81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:40 PM   #12062
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,481
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

yup, that will definitely make a difference in temp.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 04:16 AM   #12063
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemec View Post
Yes that's right - absolutely nothing! Below are some photos of the wiring. (I know I haven't connected the motor wires into their final position) I have check the battery on my daughters car and it works. I have checked the polarity of the cables and to my novice eyes they seem right.


On the Reventon R ESC - where are the lights located? In the switch I assume.
All the wiring look alright. The lights are inside the ESC. Try to calibrate the throttle again. When you switch on the ESC do the light on the receiver turn on? Try to change the switch as sometimes the switch may fail.......
roche.hk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 04:35 AM   #12064
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg81 View Post
I was testing my car by driving it around on the floor inside my house. I was just slowly driving it up and down my hallway to see if everything was working fine. When I picked it up and touched the motor I noticed it was pretty warm for only 1 or 2 minutes of slow driving inside the house. I took the motor off the car and ran it for about 40 seconds for full throttle and I could slowly hear it get bit slower as the temperature went up to around 115-140F depending on where on the motor I was measuring from. I'm thinking this is not normal because my 17.5 MMM only gets slightly warm when I do the same thing. I took the motor apart and I could not find anything wrong so what would cause the motor to get hot so quick?
Compare to other motors, the MMM do get a bit hotter. But at around 140F without a fan is not too bad. Are you running any turbo software? If with turbo the temperature is a bit low. My 17.5 in my f1 with turbo, after 8min run with fan the temperature is around 160-170F. With out side temp around 90F here. For the free rev issue as most magnet (the rotor) can not take really high rpm and may fall apart. So never free rev your motor. But donot worry, if the motor is still in one piece it should be fine.
roche.hk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:00 AM   #12065
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,805
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemec View Post
Yes that's right - absolutely nothing! Below are some photos of the wiring. (I know I haven't connected the motor wires into their final position) I have check the battery on my daughters car and it works. I have checked the polarity of the cables and to my novice eyes they seem right.
Do you have access to a multimeter/voltmeter? I'd check that the ESC is actually getting good supply from the battery. It doesn't happen often, but can happen, that the Deans plug is faulty and not contacting properly (especially if they're not genuine ones).

Just worth double checking
__________________
T4 | X1 | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:33 AM   #12066
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 36
Default Getting Closer

Thanks for all the suggestions. I checked the battery to deans plug and it was no good (probably over cooked the plug when I soldered it
Connect another cable up and I now have power to the ESC! I have tried calibrating it for ages with some success. The orange and red lights are on the ESC and the red light is on the RX. The steering is now working but still no life in the motor. Plugged in the smart LED program card and it confirmed the ESC was set on forward with brake (no reverse). All good however there is still no life in the motor. No movement at all!
I tried reversing the signal to the RX but no change. Any more thoughts?
Gemec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:43 AM   #12067
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,481
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

when you reversed the signal, you reran the calibration mode right?
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 02:29 PM   #12068
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 53
Default

Hello.
Try to upgrade my SP Revention Pro to muchmoore firmware and done something wrong - now in SP program my ESC appears as Muchmore-R, Muchmore Program see it as Fleta-4.
But no one of programms agree to update firmware now. They said "No related files'.
In safe mode SP prog said - Only revention can upgrade. So now i'm stuck with unknown firmware and can't do anything. Could someone know what can i do by myself?
maeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:41 AM   #12069
Tech Initiate
 
shamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: barbados
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maeg View Post
Hello.
Try to upgrade my SP Revention Pro to muchmoore firmware and done something wrong - now in SP program my ESC appears as Muchmore-R, Muchmore Program see it as Fleta-4.
But no one of programms agree to update firmware now. They said "No related files'.
In safe mode SP prog said - Only revention can upgrade. So now i'm stuck with unknown firmware and can't do anything. Could someone know what can i do by myself?
.............hi this link should help you http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/spee...eSoftware/eng/.....

The muchmoore firmware is much better and smoother than the speed passion firmware
shamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:45 PM   #12070
Tech Addict
 
32819toon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North of England
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've got a Reventon S and I need to keep setting up the speed controller. I lose the reverse and have to set up the controller again on my transmitter. Does any one else have this problem ? How can I correct this ?
__________________
32819toon
Yokomo BD7 RS, Modified Spec-R S1, Schumacher GT12, Tamiya M03, M05, M01, M03RWD, MF01-X, BSR M-Rage, ABC Gambado, Associated TC4.
32819toon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:43 AM   #12071
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamar View Post
.............hi this link should help you http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/spee...eSoftware/eng/.....

The muchmoore firmware is much better and smoother than the speed passion firmware
Looks like SP have some new software on the site.
__________________
Serpent - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:34 AM   #12072
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,481
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

anyone use the 25.5T speed passion motor? If so, any tips for ROAR legal VTA like timing board selection extra?

Figure a 50 x 50 track, if that.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:02 AM   #12073
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
anyone use the 25.5T speed passion motor? If so, any tips for ROAR legal VTA like timing board selection extra?

Figure a 50 x 50 track, if that.
Ran mine last weekend with the stock timing board set to max timing with 3.72fdr on a 80x40 carpet track(iic layout), coming off at around 120F. Set the fastest lap time in vta.


I would assume the optional timing boards were designed for the older version without adjustable timing
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 10:11 AM   #12074
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Is there anywhere a speed passion rotor chart to get some more info of the differences about all the rotor types that can be used with a 17.5T and a 21.5T motor?
And is there a difference in the standard (black with a purple ring) rotors between a V3.0 and a V3.0 MMM?
Allthough the 21.5T motor runs great in my F1 car i'm still searching for some more punch to improve my fastest laptime.

Last edited by addicted2blue; 10-07-2013 at 11:04 AM.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 11:37 AM   #12075
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,481
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rojna View Post
Ran mine last weekend with the stock timing board set to max timing with 3.72fdr on a 80x40 carpet track(iic layout), coming off at around 120F. Set the fastest lap time in vta.


I would assume the optional timing boards were designed for the older version without adjustable timing
Unless something is different, the timing boards go in 10 degree increments, so if you wanted to run say 40 degrees of timing on the can, you need the appropriate board (yellow?). That is probably the only thing that kind of is a knock on the speed passion motors for spec racing as those boards aren't cheap.

If they could make a board that could do the full on range, that would be awesome but I could see it being hard to get it just right. Maybe in a future motor release it could be possible.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0