R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2013, 08:28 AM   #12016
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,469
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fredp1 View Post
I have 2 program boxes,
a translucent Blue one:- Reventon SMART LCD Program card, version 2 .7
and a Black one:- LCD Professional Program card, version 1.07_110119.

The black box will not connect to any of the Reventon ESC's or connect to the PC software 1.1.022

Is the black LCD Professional program card compatible with the Reventon ESC's?
What is the latest version of the Black box and how do you update it?

Thanks
Fred
The black programming boxes and cards will not work with Reventon ESCs.
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 05:54 AM   #12017
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catharsis_UA View Post
Fragile bottom deck on Your Reventon Pro? No Probem
Or u just don't crash
works for me
__________________
if you have control your not pushing hard
all or nothing
tcboy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:52 AM   #12018
Tech Regular
 
Fredp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
The black programming boxes and cards will not work with Reventon ESCs.
Okay. Thank for the update.
Fredp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:58 PM   #12019
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 117
Default

Just had a second club race stock esc go on me, that's 2 in 4 months. This one was a waranty replacement, I think I'll go to a different speedie next time, I have the same stock programme on a reventon S and Havnt had any problems.

It's a sensor Issue in the speedie,has anyone had similar problems.
Yogi- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:08 PM   #12020
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi- View Post
Just had a second club race stock esc go on me, that's 2 in 4 months. This one was a waranty replacement, I think I'll go to a different speedie next time, I have the same stock programme on a reventon S and Havnt had any problems.

It's a sensor Issue in the speedie,has anyone had similar problems.
I only have the Pro and that has been good so far, sorry to hear about your issues. Reach out to SP and see if they can help you, they have good customer service and reps on here.

If all else fails, the Hobbywing Justock is a killer stock ESC too.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:24 PM   #12021
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
I only have the Pro and that has been good so far, sorry to hear about your issues. Reach out to SP and see if they can help you, they have good customer service and reps on here.

If all else fails, the Hobbywing Justock is a killer stock ESC too.
That depends on where he bought it from, if he bought from Hong Kong the reps here won't help him, if he bought it from the Australian SP distributor then he'll have to ship it back to them.

Yogi, what brand & model motor are you using with that esc? I recall some brands & models of motors had sensor issues with the Reventon esc's, and to get around it one of the sensor wires had to be cut, could be related to your problem.

I'm using a Reventon S (is basically the same, except for the software) in my F1 car and so far haven't any problems with it, but I've only used a Speed Passion and Hobbywing 21.5 motors with it.
As metalnut said, if all else fails then grab a Justock esc, very reliable little esc.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
BSR BT-4 / Turnigy / Hobbywing / Savox / Trackstar
Serpent Eyrx2 & ARC R10, Hybrid / Orca /Hobbywing /Savox / ProAmps
Castle Hill Raceway https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:41 AM   #12022
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta04evah View Post
That depends on where he bought it from, if he bought from Hong Kong the reps here won't help him, if he bought it from the Australian SP distributor then he'll have to ship it back to them.

Yogi, what brand & model motor are you using with that esc? I recall some brands & models of motors had sensor issues with the Reventon esc's, and to get around it one of the sensor wires had to be cut, could be related to your problem.

I'm using a Reventon S (is basically the same, except for the software) in my F1 car and so far haven't any problems with it, but I've only used a Speed Passion and Hobbywing 21.5 motors with it.
As metalnut said, if all else fails then grab a Justock esc, very reliable little esc.

Cheers
Rob.
Oh, I didn't know they cared about the source of purchase. I've gotten my SP stuff from SP USA, since they have a warehouse here now.

As for your other comment, I believe it is Viper motors that don't work right with the SP ESCs due to the temperature sensor that Viper uses.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 02:45 AM   #12023
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 117
Default

Used two different motors. The 1st one went with a reedy21.5 This one was a tracstar 21.5
This one was the replacement from warranty on the 1st one so I Havnt lost out and I intend to send it back again. There was no feed back as to wat was wrong with the 1st one, they just sent a new one.
The reventon S I have has never missed a beat. I just liked the idea of an esc strictly for blinky
Yogi- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:27 AM   #12024
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi- View Post
Used two different motors. The 1st one went with a reedy21.5 This one was a tracstar 21.5
This one was the replacement from warranty on the 1st one so I Havnt lost out and I intend to send it back again. There was no feed back as to wat was wrong with the 1st one, they just sent a new one.
The reventon S I have has never missed a beat. I just liked the idea of an esc strictly for blinky
Well hopefully the next one for you keeps working, even though it's covered by warranty it's still a little inconvenient & frustrating to send it back, more so in your case when it goes a 2nd time.
Likewise in regards to the Reventon S, mine has performed well in my F1 car.

I helped a guy last night to set his up as he bought the 21.5 combo (Reventon S, LED Box & 21.5 motor) set from Walter Hobbies and I was surprised to see that they are finally pre loaded with the blinky software, instead of mod software like mine was.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
BSR BT-4 / Turnigy / Hobbywing / Savox / Trackstar
Serpent Eyrx2 & ARC R10, Hybrid / Orca /Hobbywing /Savox / ProAmps
Castle Hill Raceway https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:41 AM   #12025
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default speed passion reventon pro

Hi, i am having this issue with my Speed passion pro & speed passion motor 10.5r, just bought and received it couple of days, really frustrated with it. when i applied low throttle input, it bogs and the motor will stuck making weird noise, i wish someone had this issue before and has a fixed for it. or else i have no choice but to contact the seller(ebay) and request for replacement.

youtube.com/watch?v=gbAh8Am5m1g link for video i made.

please help
seventhstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:06 AM   #12026
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seventhstring View Post
Hi, i am having this issue with my Speed passion pro & speed passion motor 10.5r, just bought and received it couple of days, really frustrated with it. when i applied low throttle input, it bogs and the motor will stuck making weird noise, i wish someone had this issue before and has a fixed for it. or else i have no choice but to contact the seller(ebay) and request for replacement.

youtube.com/watch?v=gbAh8Am5m1g link for video i made.

please help
God, that sounds horrible. At first I thought it was just cogging, so I was going to say sensor wire or something with the sensor board. But that noise in the 2nd half of the video... I have no idea
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 02:26 PM   #12027
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
God, that sounds horrible. At first I thought it was just cogging, so I was going to say sensor wire or something with the sensor board. But that noise in the 2nd half of the video... I have no idea
yeah, i tried messing around with esc and motor timing it doesn't really help either, i should have stick to low to medium range esc and motor combo like hobby wing, ezrun etc, cost me a lot cheaper and giving me less problems and headache.

anyway,thanks for your reply at least i have rough idea where to look. will try to swap motor from my another setup to see if the problem persist.
seventhstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 03:10 PM   #12028
Tech Adept
 
peter.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: netherlands
Posts: 206
Default

does anyone have experience with the new reventon pro 1.1

thanks
peter. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:31 PM   #12029
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know the part number for the capacitor for the reventon pro 1.1 I got mine caught in my spur gear (don't ask) and I can't find the part number anywhere.

I guess any cap is fine I just need to know one that works for sure.

Thanks in advance.
Maynard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:28 PM   #12030
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 79
Default

Hi All,

I'm looking for advice, I'm just getting back to TC after a while. I have a Xray T2R pro that I just finished building recently and have been running a Revention S esc and a V3 21.5 motor with a FDR of 3.4-3.5 with temps below 50C.
This weekend I put in a new Revention Pro esc and a new MMM 21.5, I ran about a dozen laps and on my 2nd run on the third lap the motor smoked, the motor was not very hot to touch ...... I was running a heat sink and fans. Any ideas, the FDR at the time was around 3.3.
Ricardo40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Blakesrc
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0