R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2013, 07:56 PM   #11851
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hello Y'all,

I'd appreciate some help/guidance for a problem i am having with two new Reventon Stock Club Race ESCs with 17.5 Fixed Endbell motors. I bought these to put in my sons' XXX-SCTs.

I installed the first one, and set up the transmitter. However, i do not get any throttle/brake response from the esc. I know the transmitter is working (its the Losi 2.4 Ghz that came with the trucks) as the steering is fine. The orange LED is on solid, and the red LED is blinking. During transmitter setup the motor 'beeps' as i believe it is supposed to.

Thinking i might have a bad motor, i opened the second esc/motor set. I tried the 1st motor with the 2nd speed control. This time, i turned on the esc before setting up the transmitter, and with the transmitter off. The motor ran a bit. Then i tried setting up the transmitter with the second esc, and got the same lack of throttle/brake activity as with the first.

I tried all the other combos of ESC/motor/sensor wire that i could between the two with the same effect.

What am i doing wrong? Is there a setup step i am missing? The trucks were working fine with the stock Losi ESC (but i got tired of having to clean the motors ) What could the potential problem be?

Sorry for the long post, but i would greatly appreciate help. I have two sad sons right now

EDIT: I'd like to add that i used a charged and known good Lipo, and new sensor wires.

Last edited by AntiGooch; 07-19-2013 at 07:58 PM. Reason: More Info
AntiGooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 01:10 AM   #11852
Tech Master
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dirt sucks!
Posts: 1,584
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix82 View Post
Hey guys. I'm having an issue with setting up my SP reventon Pro Esc. I seem to be unable to set up the drag brake in the controller (on demand) for the 3pk. and setting/advise would rock.

Thanks

Nick K
The drag brake is adjusted in the esc settings not with the radio.
__________________
"Desire is the key to motivation, but it's the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of laying it down - a commitment to excellence - that will enable you to attain the success you seek to beat ass."

-Espo
Xpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 10:49 AM   #11853
Tech Addict
 
Phoenix82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
The drag brake is adjusted in the esc settings not with the radio.
On the 3pk. you can adjust the 3rd channel via the wheel on the handle. when If i set it to 0% it has zero brake. then i set it to 5%. it has full brakes. i dont get it??\


Howard-help!!


Nick K
Phoenix82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 08:54 PM   #11854
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiGooch View Post
Hello Y'all,

I'd appreciate some help/guidance for a problem i am having with two new Reventon Stock Club Race ESCs with 17.5 Fixed Endbell motors. I bought these to put in my sons' XXX-SCTs........
Do you have refer user manual Page7? Set the throttle channel to”REV”.
http://www.speedpassion.net/uploadfi...un01st2012.pdf
WMGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:21 PM   #11855
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Found out broken sensor cable when removing motor
---------
I can't seem to get my speed passion MMM motor to work with Orca VX competition V3 ESC?

Is this a known problem?

It was working before with Tekin and Futaba 4pks radio system. I have reversed the throttle already and reset end points on esc

Last edited by zzztech; 07-22-2013 at 04:22 AM. Reason: Fixed
zzztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:06 AM   #11856
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WMGary View Post
Do you have refer user manual Page7? Set the throttle channel to”REV”.
http://www.speedpassion.net/uploadfi...un01st2012.pdf
The wording of the manual implies that setting the throttle channel to "REV" only applies to Futaba radios. Is that incorrect? Does it need to be done with all radio brands?
AntiGooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:08 AM   #11857
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiGooch View Post
The wording of the manual implies that setting the throttle channel to "REV" only applies to Futaba radios. Is that incorrect? Does it need to be done with all radio brands?
Futaba
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:14 AM   #11858
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiGooch View Post
The wording of the manual implies that setting the throttle channel to "REV" only applies to Futaba radios. Is that incorrect? Does it need to be done with all radio brands?
It is not longer the case.....in your case, try BOTH setting, one of the setting will work.....we have tried SANWA KO and other brands...in SANWA, like M11, it will work in NORMAL position, but of their entry level unit, it has to work on REV position. They make their change by OEM the radio from someone so the "only Futaba" radio statment is no longer true...

Anyway...try both setting, one of those will work.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:18 AM   #11859
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix82 View Post
On the 3pk. you can adjust the 3rd channel via the wheel on the handle. when If i set it to 0% it has zero brake. then i set it to 5%. it has full brakes. i dont get it??\


Howard-help!!


Nick K
But why are you doing that via your radio....? If you are running mechanical brake system that I can understand....but electric?

Have you try using the drag brake setting via the ESC and you don't like it...?
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:25 AM   #11860
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
But why are you doing that via your radio....? If you are running mechanical brake system that I can understand....but electric?

Have you try using the drag brake setting via the ESC and you don't like it...?
His radio will not really calibrate properly. His throttle inputs come through fine, and the ESC can find neutral, but the "ATL" setting on his 3PK seems to be causing a issue.

When the ESC and radio are calibrated with the "ATL" set to zero, he has no brakes whatsoever until he turns the "ATL" up to 5 or 10. Upon doing so, it seems he gets max brake, but in the form of drag brake. If he calibrates his ESC and radio with the "ATL" set at 100, he still has no brakes, and upon turning it down the motor starts spinning in the forward direction.

I've looked into it a bit and cannot find any other mention of the problem, and cannot really solve it with my own equipment as I'm using Airtronics radio gear.
__________________
RC America|EA Motorsports|ORCA
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:49 AM   #11861
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-b23 View Post
His radio will not really calibrate properly. His throttle inputs come through fine, and the ESC can find neutral, but the "ATL" setting on his 3PK seems to be causing a issue.

When the ESC and radio are calibrated with the "ATL" set to zero, he has no brakes whatsoever until he turns the "ATL" up to 5 or 10. Upon doing so, it seems he gets max brake, but in the form of drag brake. If he calibrates his ESC and radio with the "ATL" set at 100, he still has no brakes, and upon turning it down the motor starts spinning in the forward direction.

I've looked into it a bit and cannot find any other mention of the problem, and cannot really solve it with my own equipment as I'm using Airtronics radio gear.
Can he format (default) his model from his radio and calibrate it again...?
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:25 PM   #11862
Tech Addict
 
Phoenix82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Can he format (default) his model from his radio and calibrate it again...?
Hi Howard. Ill do a complete reset of my radio, and see what happens. Will let you know tomorrow.

Thanks
Nick K
Phoenix82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:40 PM   #11863
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-b23 View Post
His radio will not really calibrate properly. His throttle inputs come through fine, and the ESC can find neutral, but the "ATL" setting on his 3PK seems to be causing a issue.

When the ESC and radio are calibrated with the "ATL" set to zero, he has no brakes whatsoever until he turns the "ATL" up to 5 or 10. Upon doing so, it seems he gets max brake, but in the form of drag brake. If he calibrates his ESC and radio with the "ATL" set at 100, he still has no brakes, and upon turning it down the motor starts spinning in the forward direction.
I´m having the same problem using a KO EX-1 UR.
__________________
Serpent - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:36 AM   #11864
Tech Fanatic
 
Typeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno,Ca
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I have a 17.5R MMM wondering what timing ring I should use for a medium size track. Also I'm using the Reventon R esc.
Typeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 03:55 PM   #11865
Tech Regular
 
SamuraiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default Hybrid Boot "Active" vs. "Power"

For Reventon Pro STOCK1 firmware: is Hybrid Boost Power (HB Power) the same as Hybrid Boost Active in the documentation?
SamuraiJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0