R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2013, 03:45 AM   #11746
Tech Regular
 
Timbo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbo99 View Post
On the previous page I posted how there is no help here,and now the next page is full of help and advice...
Is that what it takes?...really?
OK,you can help me.
I bought three reventon pros and was led to believe the software/firmware was FULLY developed.
Now I'm not being nasty,or threatening in any way,or calling you names etc,but answer me this honestly.

Did Speedpassion release this ESC with software/firmware in its production stage to consumers too early,just to beat Muchmores Fleta 4 team of software engineers?
And why not wait until you got all the bugs out of YOUR firmware first,so that upgrades would take effect and not blow up processors?
And yes,I work with this stuff....a lot.

Answer me that.
Tim
Could I get an answer please.
__________________
Serpent ERYX/S411 Le#189,#024,TE/Airtronics/MuchMore FLETA 4/Ryan Dezign-
"The finest RC paintwork in Australia"/LEESPEED/Ame T-Shox/THiNK Carbon.
"If at first you don't succeed,.....tell'em it's the "Beta" 1.0 version"
Timbo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:52 AM   #11747
Tech Elite
 
kwiksi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,384
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kwiksi
Default

What issues are you having?
__________________
David Perez
Big thanks in 2016 to
Serpent/Desoto Racing - Jconcepts - Maclan Racing - Schelle Racing Innovations - Exotek Racing - Vision Racing Products - Reilley Motorsports - 92Zero Designs
kwiksi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 11:06 AM   #11748
Tech Fanatic
 
tazfam2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Side chi town
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbo99 View Post
Could I get an answer please.
what are your issues? I have been running the reveton pros since the day they arrived in the us. I own 6 of them and run them in off road and on road without any issues. At the track I run at I help people who do not really read instructions and set them up with no problems. So what are your issues maybe someone will help you if you let them know. By the way the muchmore fleta is the exact same esc as the reveton they get it from speed passion and runs the same soft ware.
__________________
Associated B5M lite B44.3 Crc x10 XrAY t4 2016
Durango DETC410 Tekno eb48.3
Leisure Hours Hobbies and Raceway
Fiercesolutions.com
Coming soon Windy City RC raceway and hobby's
tazfam2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:43 AM   #11749
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by durtbag View Post
I will post this here..... not like I will get a resolution or anything

So I updated my iOS app, now I have "SAFE MODE". Tried to update firmware in "SAFE MODE", get to the point where I have a progress bar telling me it is updating, and then "UPDATE FAIL, RESET ESC" warning.

HOW DO I RESET THE ESC???????????

THIS PRODUCT JUST SUCKS !!!!!!!!!!!!
So the latest on this is that somehow the Reventon R ESC has magically acquired the wrong Identity Code in the Firmware, this is why the WiFi Module can't read the data from the ESC. There is no way to fix this with any programming device they make?
Now SP wants me to send the ESC to HK to have it fixed. The expense of sending it back to them with a trackable shipping service will exceed the value of the ESC.

I can't think of any ESC's on the market that would require an ESC with a Firmware issue to be sent back to the manufacturer for repair.

How can SP honestly expect their customers to keep paying for repair costs on ESC's, when the failures are obviously caused by their easily corruptible Firmware?

Ridiculous!
__________________
AW HELL RICKEY, I WAS HIGH WHEN I SAID THAT!
durtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:42 PM   #11750
Tech Initiate
 
crotty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: P-town, NV
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey everyone, I'm in need of a little help. I'm running a sp gt2.0, firmware version 117, software v3 508 no timing but the esc is not blinking? Am I missing somthing here, or does the sp gt2.0 not blink?
__________________
*Dialed RC Hobbies, Windwater RC, Kustom Kolors, HRP, Sweep Racing,
RC Concept*
crotty777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:15 PM   #11751
Tech Addict
 
32819toon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North of England
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 32819toon View Post
i've bought a reventon S esc, what is the best option for programming ? a program card, wi-fi module or bluetooth module ?
I have a Hobbywing program box already & found out that i could use that. Having spent hours trying, the PC won't see the box even though it says that there is a driver installed. Tried on a new laptop & almost installed the Hobbywing driver, but failed when the box became unplugged. After attempting a second time, the PC again wouldn't see the box.

Any one have any clues why this is happening and what i can do about it ?
__________________
32819toon
Yokomo BD7 RS, Modified Spec-R S1, Schumacher GT12, Tamiya M03, M05, M01, M03RWD, MF01-X, BSR M-Rage, ABC Gambado, Associated TC4.
32819toon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:41 PM   #11752
Tech Addict
 
rimracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southington CT
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crotty777 View Post
Hey everyone, I'm in need of a little help. I'm running a sp gt2.0, firmware version 117, software v3 508 no timing but the esc is not blinking? Am I missing somthing here, or does the sp gt2.0 not blink?
I run a couple of GT 2.1 prostock's in blinky mode but they don't blink. Long as you see 508 no timing when you plug in the program box I believe you are good to go.
rimracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 08:43 PM   #11753
Tech Master
 
LonnyJ1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ. USA
Posts: 1,141
Default

I have 2 GT 2.1 EX. One blinks, the other doesn't. When they blink, it is a very dim LED on the bottom of the ESC, very hard to see.
__________________
Lonny
LonnyJ1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:36 PM   #11754
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

So is the Reventon Pro v1.1 worth it or not so much? Might have to go with the Xerun 3.1....
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 05:23 AM   #11755
Tech Fanatic
 
onekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sweden but from New Zealand
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Can a esc be broken by connecting the motor wires wrong
__________________
XB2 CE
XB4 16
Sanwa
Hobbywing
#kiwipaint on facebook
onekiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:28 AM   #11756
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
So is the Reventon Pro v1.1 worth it or not so much? Might have to go with the Xerun 3.1....
The original Reventon Pro is pretty comparable to the Hobbywing V3.1; I own both.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:05 AM   #11757
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
Can a esc be broken by connecting the motor wires wrong
Yes, a sensored speedo can be damaged with the ABC wires on the wrong order.
__________________
Believe in yourself!
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:07 AM   #11758
Tech Fanatic
 
onekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sweden but from New Zealand
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CL View Post
Yes, a sensored speedo can be damaged with the ABC wires on the wrong order.
What will happen as a result?
__________________
XB2 CE
XB4 16
Sanwa
Hobbywing
#kiwipaint on facebook
onekiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:42 AM   #11759
CL
Tech Addict
 
CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I would reconnect the wires in the correct order, and test it again. If it still does not work, send it in for repair.
__________________
Believe in yourself!
CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:08 PM   #11760
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbo99 View Post
Could I get an answer please.
What are you exact issues? The Reventons were released long before the Much More ESC.


Quote:
Originally Posted by durtbag View Post
So the latest on this is that somehow the Reventon R ESC has magically acquired the wrong Identity Code in the Firmware, this is why the WiFi Module can't read the data from the ESC. There is no way to fix this with any programming device they make?
Now SP wants me to send the ESC to HK to have it fixed. The expense of sending it back to them with a trackable shipping service will exceed the value of the ESC.

I can't think of any ESC's on the market that would require an ESC with a Firmware issue to be sent back to the manufacturer for repair.

How can SP honestly expect their customers to keep paying for repair costs on ESC's, when the failures are obviously caused by their easily corruptible Firmware?

Ridiculous!
Where did you purchase the ESC? Was this a Asian, UK, or other market outside of the USA?


Quote:
Originally Posted by crotty777 View Post
Hey everyone, I'm in need of a little help. I'm running a sp gt2.0, firmware version 117, software v3 508 no timing but the esc is not blinking? Am I missing somthing here, or does the sp gt2.0 not blink?
The GT 2.0s have the light on the bottom of the ESC. Depending on how you have it mounted you may or may not see the "blinking". This was changed with the Reventons and the light was placed on top for "tech" at races.

Quote:
Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
Can a esc be broken by connecting the motor wires wrong

Yes and no. Normally this wouldn't damage the ESC, but it is hard to say without knowing specifics.
SP Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:10 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0