R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2009, 09:12 AM   #1141
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kooteowman View Post
Nah, couldn't. The wires are fixed to the motor permanently..
what motor are you using?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 10:45 AM   #1142
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,558
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

a novak maybe?

So, any more news on the Speed Passion escs getting there own form of boost / turbo?
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 11:37 AM   #1143
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,127
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
a novak maybe?

So, any more news on the Speed Passion escs getting there own form of boost / turbo?
maybe later !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 06:50 PM   #1144
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
what motor are you using?
Yap. Its a Novak 10.5T
kooteowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 09:50 PM   #1145
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

I've found the hobbywing LCD programmer, but I have a few questions before I order it. Is there any difference between the software it would download for an update and what the speed passion programmer would? I like the fact that the hobby wing is about half the price of the one place that I found to have the speed passion LCD programmer(not in stock though) but I'd personally prefer to have the speed passion version of the software, just one if those obsessive things!
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 12:10 AM   #1146
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

The programmer just allows you to upload the speedpassion software to the esc. It does not matter whether you use the hobbywing programmer or the speedpassion labeled programmer. Your getting the Speedpassion software from speedpassion.
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:15 AM   #1147
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndysD8 View Post
I've found the hobbywing LCD programmer, but I have a few questions before I order it. Is there any difference between the software it would download for an update and what the speed passion programmer would? I like the fact that the hobby wing is about half the price of the one place that I found to have the speed passion LCD programmer(not in stock though) but I'd personally prefer to have the speed passion version of the software, just one if those obsessive things!
I think you can update the firmware in the hobbywing programmer to the speed passion firmware. I tried it, and it didnt break, so I guess it works! Was touch and go for a minute though, thought I had bricked it but it turned out OK.

The above poster is right though, just run the SP software and it should work without the firmware. No guarantees though.

Slightly troublesome, but there was zero chance to buy a SP brand programmer here, and the hobbywing is a good alternative, and a quarter of the price.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:44 AM   #1148
Tech Rookie
 
WildCard75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Default GT 2.0 with 17.5 Fantom ION2 (EPIC DUO2)

Hello to all and thank you for all the info.

So read through all the SP thread and uploaded the 312a software from SP site, DRRS to 9, Timing to 26.25. Motor timing left to 0 for now.

My question is, what gearing should I run? Fantom Racing and EPIC Racing suggests FDR to be 3.0 for open tracks and 3.5 for tight tracks.
Previous posts on this thread have said to run 4.5 -5.0 FDR. on a 17.5 DUO2.

I am a little confused on who is correct.

FYI: Novak recommends 3.5 starting point for their 17.5 motors as well.

My car is a TRF415MSXX MRE07 running 6 cell NIMH (spec club rules here), Fantom 17.5 ION2, Speed Passion GT2.0 (312a software) HPI X-Pattern D (spec rules) in RCGT class.

Thanks,
Dan

Last edited by WildCard75; 11-26-2009 at 04:28 AM.
WildCard75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:59 AM   #1149
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCard75 View Post
Hello to all and thank you for all the info.

So read through all the thread and uploaded the 312a software from SP site, DRRS to 9, Timing to 26.25. Motor timing left to 0 for now.

My question is, what gearing should I run? Fantom Racing and EPIC Racing suggests FDR to be 3.0 for open tracks and 3.5 for tight tracks.
Previous posts on this thread have said to run 4.5 -5.0 FDR. on a 17.5 DUO2.

I am a little confused on who is correct.

FYI: Novak recommends 3.5 starting point for their motors as well.

My car is a TRF415MSXX MRE07 running 6 cell NIMH (spec club rules here), Fantom 17.5 ION2, Speed Passion GT2.0 (312a software) HPI X-Pattern in RCGT.

Thanks,
Dan
If i was you I would start at 4.0 and work my way down, watching my time as well as motor and esc temps.
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:41 AM   #1150
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
If i was you I would start at 4.0 and work my way down, watching my time as well as motor and esc temps.
Agreed, start and around 4.0 and work your way down
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:48 AM   #1151
Tech Addict
 
bigz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: QC/Las Pinas
Posts: 502
Default rotor

what does the different rotor sizes do for a version 3 13.5? Stock is 12.3 right? what will happen if i change to bigger/smaller rotor? tia
__________________
Hot Bodies - Nosram - Tekin - Speed Passion - Futaba - Sorex - RIDE
bigz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 09:53 AM   #1152
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigz View Post
what does the different rotor sizes do for a version 3 13.5? Stock is 12.3 right? what will happen if i change to bigger/smaller rotor? tia
bigger rotor will give u more torque but remember in stock racing u cant change rotor or u will b illegal
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:22 PM   #1153
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood View Post
I think you can update the firmware in the hobbywing programmer to the speed passion firmware. I tried it, and it didnt break, so I guess it works! Was touch and go for a minute though, thought I had bricked it but it turned out OK.

The above poster is right though, just run the SP software and it should work without the firmware. No guarantees though.

Slightly troublesome, but there was zero chance to buy a SP brand programmer here, and the hobbywing is a good alternative, and a quarter of the price.

Regards

Neal
thanks! I went ahead and ordered the hobbywing LCD programmer: when I get it I just go to speed passions site and download the 312 software from the website? Or do I need to change the firmware or anything on the programmer?
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:27 PM   #1154
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood View Post
I think you can update the firmware in the hobbywing programmer to the speed passion firmware. I tried it, and it didnt break, so I guess it works! Was touch and go for a minute though, thought I had bricked it but it turned out OK.

The above poster is right though, just run the SP software and it should work without the firmware. No guarantees though.

Slightly troublesome, but there was zero chance to buy a SP brand programmer here, and the hobbywing is a good alternative, and a quarter of the price.

Regards

Neal
thanks! I went ahead and ordered the hobbywing LCD programmer: when I get it I just go to speed passions site and download the 312 software from the website? Or do I need to change the firmware or anything on the programmer? Oh, while I'm at it where's the software at on speed passions site? Why not put the 312 software on the newer speed controllers already?
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:34 PM   #1155
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood View Post
I think you can update the firmware in the hobbywing programmer to the speed passion firmware. I tried it, and it didnt break, so I guess it works! Was touch and go for a minute though, thought I had bricked it but it turned out OK.

The above poster is right though, just run the SP software and it should work without the firmware. No guarantees though.

Slightly troublesome, but there was zero chance to buy a SP brand programmer here, and the hobbywing is a good alternative, and a quarter of the price.

Regards

Neal
thanks! I went ahead and ordered the hobbywing LCD programmer: when I get it I just go to speed passions site and download the 312 software from the website? Or do I need to change the firmware or anything on the programmer? Oh, while I'm at it where's the software at on speed passions site? Why not put the 312 software on the newer speed controllers already?
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0