R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2009, 03:14 AM   #1066
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
That is why I said the V2 and V3 have different default timing but was told otherwise. The V3 needs some advance from default.
i only notice a little diff with the timing advance to +10.....
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:24 AM   #1067
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
i only notice a little diff with the timing advance to +10.....
It is much better on my motor. And even more difference if I use the KLGP (V2+) sensors in the V3. That is what I'm running now coz I like high revving motors LOL...
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 01:02 PM   #1068
Tech Adept
 
Matt 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Any oval track w/ (.)(.)
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Skinny that is correct
__________________
CEFX, BSR Racing Tires, Team OHP
Matt 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 04:27 PM   #1069
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

Does anyone have a setup using the grand turismo ver2 for 12th scale, I am running the novak ballistic 13.5 motor. I have tried everthing and the car runs so slow.

Thanks,

Derek
Derek_Siciliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 01:34 AM   #1070
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_Siciliano View Post
Hey guys,

Does anyone have a setup using the grand turismo ver2 for 12th scale, I am running the novak ballistic 13.5 motor. I have tried everthing and the car runs so slow.

Thanks,

Derek
Posting your vehicle settings/gearing as well as what setting you have active on the esc would help a great deal.
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:56 AM   #1071
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Speed Passion 13.5 ETS Motor

Hey,

Anyone got any ideas what gearing is being used for the Speed Passion 13.5 ETS Motor? (1/10 Touring On Road with 7.4v lipo- indoor carpet)

Thanks
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 10:50 AM   #1072
Tech Addict
 
wiscnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Reedsburg,WI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Hey All.I down loaded the the updated software for the GT2.0 the 312 update and I didn't notice a diffrence in performance, can anyone tell me what is the 312 supposed to do. Im running it on a 21.5 Novak motor. Thanks
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this! :)
wiscnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 05:32 AM   #1073
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4 View Post
Hey,

Anyone got any ideas what gearing is being used for the Speed Passion 13.5 ETS Motor? (1/10 Touring On Road with 7.4v lipo- indoor carpet)

Thanks
Please be more specific as to your setup, vehicle/ESC/Radio/64P or 48P/What kind of LiPo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscnitro View Post
Hey All.I down loaded the the updated software for the GT2.0 the 312 update and I didn't notice a diffrence in performance, can anyone tell me what is the 312 supposed to do. Im running it on a 21.5 Novak motor. Thanks
Again could you be more specific as to your settings, calibration, motor type, gearing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_Siciliano View Post
Hey guys,

Does anyone have a setup using the grand turismo ver2 for 12th scale, I am running the novak ballistic 13.5 motor. I have tried everthing and the car runs so slow.

Thanks,

Derek
Could you be more specific again....what software and what settings on the ESC, did you miss step one of calibration of the radio to the esc? I need more specifics
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:06 AM   #1074
Tech Regular
 
Mr. MR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Malta, EU
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4
Hey,

Anyone got any ideas what gearing is being used for the Speed Passion 13.5 ETS Motor? (1/10 Touring On Road with 7.4v lipo- indoor carpet)

Thanks

Please be more specific as to your setup, vehicle/ESC/Radio/64P or 48P/What kind of LiPo?

abailey21

Setup is: Vehicle: Xray T2'09 Rubber Tires, ESC: LRP SPX Profile 8, Radio: Ko Espirit 3, Spur Gear: 64DP and Battery: 7.4V IP5000 40C Lipo. Track is carpet with 80 Foot Straight & technical infield.

Thanks for your help
__________________
Xray T4'16 HobbyWing Xerun 120A V3.1
Xray X1'16 HobbyWing Justock
Yokomo R12C3 HobbyWing Xerun V3.1
Mr. MR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:08 AM   #1075
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. MR4
Hey,

Anyone got any ideas what gearing is being used for the Speed Passion 13.5 ETS Motor? (1/10 Touring On Road with 7.4v lipo- indoor carpet)

Thanks

Please be more specific as to your setup, vehicle/ESC/Radio/64P or 48P/What kind of LiPo?

abailey21

Setup is: Vehicle: Xray T2'09 Rubber Tires, ESC: LRP SPX Profile 8, Radio: Ko Espirit 3, Spur Gear: 64DP and Battery: 7.4V IP5000 40C Lipo. Track is carpet with 80 Foot Straight & technical infield.

Thanks for your help
What are other SPX drivers using as a FDR for 13.5?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:08 AM   #1076
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
What are other SPX drivers using as a FDR for 13.5?
5.8 ish...SPX with Duo 2 motor from Corally driver.

It is more like it depends on which SPEEDO more like which motor....use 5.8 on the SP 13.5 motor and give that a try.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:10 AM   #1077
Tech Master
 
islander360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,248
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to islander360
Default

Start with 6.5 and adjust to the track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
What are other SPX drivers using as a FDR for 13.5?
__________________
JConcepts - BMI Racing - Speed Passion - KustomRCGraphics - Core R/C
islander360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:19 AM   #1078
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

OK, so I have responding to PM's and emails all day about this so I figure the best way is to post it on here for everyone.

I'm not 100% on the LCD programming box instructions because I don't have any handy to look at for a verification if this is in print for all of you to read when you purchase the product.

Changing software and setting up your ESC:

When you first purchase your ESC your required to calibrate your radio to the ESC (you would be amazed by how many people ask if this is necessary even though every ESC on the market has required this step for the past 20 years)

We tell our customers to set your throttle and brake EPA's to 100% and go through the calibration process:

1. Turn on your radio

2. Hold down setup button and turn on ESC let go when ESC starts beeping (ESC will continue beeping)

3. Push the setup button once to set neutral (ESC will stop continuously beeping and beep one time)

4. Pull full throttle on your radio and push setup button again (ESC will beep twice)

5. Pull full brake and push setup button a 3rd time (ESC will beep 3 times)

6. Wait a second or two and turn off your ESC, then turn it back on.

7. Set your throttle and Brake EPA's to the full setting on the radio.

Just that simple.

Now onto changing the software in your ESC:

So you've been running your vehicle for a few months and you want to try a new software version we've released. You hook your ESC up to the PC using your LCD box and you install the latest software.

Now I'm not trying to sound harsh but when you flash new software on your ESC your erasing EVERYTHING on it and installing as it was brand new, sort of like upgrading from Windows XP to Windows 7. The little computer in your RC car is a new operating system on now. Just like a brand new in the box ESC, so what happens when you have a brand new in the box ESC? We must calibrate the radio to the ESC, because essentially your have a brand new ESC in your car.

So now we have the latest greatest software and here's how to make it work:

We tell our customers to set your throttle and brake EPA's to 100% and go through the calibration process:

1. Turn on your radio

2. Hold down setup button and turn on ESC let go when ESC starts beeping (ESC will continue beeping)

3. push the setup button once to set neutral (ESC will stop continuously beeping and beep one time)

4. Pull full throttle on your radio and push setup button again (ESC will beep twice)

5. Pull full brake and push setup button a 3rd time (ESC will beep 3 times)

6. Wait a second or two and turn off your ESC, then turn it back on.

7. Set your throttle and Brake EPA's to the full setting on the radio.

Basiclly what I'm saying here is when you update your software and completely wipe out your ESC and install new software you have to treat it like its a brand new ESC that would absolutely 100% require you to recalibrate your radio to your ESC.

That is the reason when you update to a new software it seems worse off than before. Your forgetting one of the most crucial steps in the ESC setup

I also skipped the part of changing your settings on the ESC because you all know what you like for your settings and I don't need to cover that, but I guess it doesn't hurt to touch on it a little:

Remember when you update your ESC software it resets the ENTIRE ESC so your going to need to change your settings, like fwd/brake, drag brake, DRRS, timing and things of that nature
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:24 AM   #1079
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,889
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Adam did my speedo show up?
__________________
SpeedZone Batteries
steve eaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 12:23 PM   #1080
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,546
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

I have to say I had a blast using the Speed Passion GT2.0 Pro in the VTA class, and this is without the LCD Programmer card. Just did the settings as recommended here, and the ESC performed great, lots of power, and extremely smooth. Had this combined with a Tekin Redline 21.5 .

I look forward to getting in my LPF versions and trying them out since the GT2.0 Pro is overkill anyway LOL.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0