R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2012, 10:56 AM   #10561
Tech Elite
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,032
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP Tech View Post
So according to the orange light being solid the ESC is reading your motor as sensorless. You are running a Revention Pro w/ a 17.5T and a sensor cable correct?

SP Tech
Well at this time I dont have a motor installed but setup button still doesnt work with whatever motor or version I have run. Yes it's a month old Reventon Pro. I only run sensored 17.5 stock/mod 540 can motors. The esc runs fine as stated before. It will take setup changes via the lcd programmer and update fine. The setup/on-off button used to work before I installed the latest v19. It only started doing this after v19. Like right after I installed it. I actully tq'd with it last weekend but...............

The simple problem is it wont turn off or setup for calibration. To get the esc to even turn off I have to unplug the battery.

Last edited by vr6cj; 10-31-2012 at 11:06 AM.
vr6cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:28 AM   #10562
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr6cj View Post
Well at this time I dont have a motor installed but setup button still doesnt work with whatever motor or version I have run. Yes it's a month old Reventon Pro. I only run sensored 17.5 stock/mod 540 can motors. The esc runs fine as stated before. It will take setup changes via the lcd programmer and update fine. The setup/on-off button used to work before I installed the latest v19. It only started doing this after v19. Like right after I installed it. I actully tq'd with it last weekend but...............

The simple problem is it wont turn off or setup for calibration. To get the esc to even turn off I have to unplug the battery.
OK...so your ONLY problem is the on off switch not working correctly? Can you load any OLD software and see that resolved the problem? I am trying to pin point the problem to software or hardware...

Also, tell me exactly which SOFTWARE that you installed and found out the switch is not working...I need exactly the name, the version and the extension...of the software, we will try it our self.

Try to pick a old software like anything that is V17 or V18.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 04:07 PM   #10563
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 644
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP CS View Post
Hello North and South America Customer (USA),

Please send your question with your order # or RMA # to usa@kinggoldenltd.com . Do not reply to the confirmation email you receive, as this is a automatic email system.

Hello International Customer (All other Country),


Please send your question with your order # or RMA # to cs@kinggoldenltd.com . Do not reply to the confirmation email you receive, as this is a automatic email system.

Thank you
Speed Passion
Email sent.
80'sracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:33 PM   #10564
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbo99 View Post
Jeff
Iam starting to wonder about the mentality of some people.
You should be PMing this to the appropriate people,maybe should have thought about ordering this esc earlier so you understand and test settings etc.,and isn't half the US been under a hurricane alert for the past week?.....yeah good idea to order when you did.
It's an esc.Grow up champ.
Well Timbo,
I could not order earlier because the ESC was not in stock.
I live 1 state north of the American distribution center.
I am in Wisconsin they are in Illinois.
This usually means 2 day delivery.
In the mid-west nowhere near the hurricane.
Care to share any more of your brilliance ?

P.S. tracking now shows it is finally in Wisconsin.
76Trans Am is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:18 PM   #10565
Tech Elite
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,032
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
OK...so your ONLY problem is the on off switch not working correctly? Can you load any OLD software and see that resolved the problem? I am trying to pin point the problem to software or hardware...

Also, tell me exactly which SOFTWARE that you installed and found out the switch is not working...I need exactly the name, the version and the extension...of the software, we will try it our self.

Try to pick a old software like anything that is V17 or V18.
BTW I appriecate the help. thanks,

Ok, so here what happened from start to setup button not working.

I got a new Rev Pro and have ran it fine in 2wd for last couple weeks. Great esc and very smooth. I installed the Reventon software v1.1.0.18 on my win7 laptop shortly after getting esc but nvr used or updated my esc on the laptop. I used just stock software that came with the esc from Speed Passion. Ran mod.

So recently there hasnt been enough for mod class and I wanted to run 17.5 blinky. No software yet, so I waited.

Last week v19 came out.

Cool, download v1.1.0.19 and uninstalled v1.1.0.18 on my laptop then installed v1.1.0.19. Now mind you I havent updated the LCD programmer. so it has v2.2 that it came with stock.

I hooked up the lcd programmer and esc to laptop. Battery is disconectted btw. Started up the Reventon software and I updated to Stock0 v18-b308. Right after the update was succecful I disconnected the esc from lcd programmer. When I go to turn it back on and try to setup I noticed the issue. Setup button wont go into calibration or turn off esc now.

Ok, so go on here to ask about it and one said to make sure the LCD was latest version. I updated the LCD programmer to v2.4 and tried reverting back to the older software and no change. I even unistalled v1.1.0.19 and put v1.1.0.18 back on but that did not fix it.
vr6cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:00 PM   #10566
Tech Adept
 
NewWestF1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I know this may not have anything to do with anything but I work for a software developer and it seems there are issues with Win7. The programs we develop run fine in xp but when you run the exe in Win7 something goes screwy. It may sound stupid, but try doing the update on an xp machine and see what happens.. Maybe one day someone will make rc software for macs and problems will go away.
__________________
.. Sakura FGX; Novak power plant, Exotek, Lotus/Renault #9 ..
.. TB-03 Calsonic GT-R . reventon s/ultra v.3 power plant . yeah racing ..
.. M-05 Mini Cooper, Silver Can 104BK speedo, fakkin' cute!

...one of these days, life will get easier...
NewWestF1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:53 AM   #10567
Tech Apprentice
 
ScottyTC4NZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 76
Send a message via MSN to ScottyTC4NZ
Default Looking for a Reventon R setup

Hi Guys

Looking for a Reventon R setup for one of our new drivers running with LRP X12 13.5t Stock Spec.
track is low grip, long straight 65 meters (214 feet), mixed infield.
also what FDR should he run with it?

Can some one help?
__________________
Jamie Scott
Onroad Race Director
O.R.C.C.C
Titan ARC R10 2013 / Blitz / Sweep / Team Titan
Titan ARC R10 Upgrade / Blitz / Sweep / Team Titan

Last edited by ScottyTC4NZ; 11-01-2012 at 01:31 AM.
ScottyTC4NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:05 AM   #10568
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone having trouble when they try and use the program box on thier computer to change settings on the revention speed controller. I am using the revention program and program box and it just shuts my computer down as soon as the program opens.

Ive deleted and redownloaded the revention program twice and am still having the same problem.
brendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:38 AM   #10569
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 805
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Just tried led box for reventon r and it seems to be little complicated to me... Have xobbywing LCD box... Can i use it instead of sp led one?
__________________
r o g e r g r a f i x . c o m

facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:16 AM   #10570
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyTC4NZ View Post
Hi Guys

Looking for a Reventon R setup for one of our new drivers running with LRP X12 13.5t Stock Spec.
track is low grip, long straight 65 meters (214 feet), mixed infield.
also what FDR should he run with it?

Can some one help?
Boosted? What software are you using?
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:16 AM   #10571
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewWestF1 View Post
I know this may not have anything to do with anything but I work for a software developer and it seems there are issues with Win7. The programs we develop run fine in xp but when you run the exe in Win7 something goes screwy. It may sound stupid, but try doing the update on an xp machine and see what happens.. Maybe one day someone will make rc software for macs and problems will go away.
ive always run my software in administrator mode....have not had a single issue...am running windows 8 now....
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800 ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
TEAM XRAY X116 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:19 AM   #10572
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
Just tried led box for reventon r and it seems to be little complicated to me... Have xobbywing LCD box... Can i use it instead of sp led one?
No you need the reventon r LCD box
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:31 AM   #10573
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 805
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
No you need the reventon r LCD box
Ok thanks. Is possible then to set all settings just using led box? Stock software...
__________________
r o g e r g r a f i x . c o m

facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 10:43 AM   #10574
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr6cj View Post
BTW I appriecate the help. thanks,

Ok, so here what happened from start to setup button not working.

I got a new Rev Pro and have ran it fine in 2wd for last couple weeks. Great esc and very smooth. I installed the Reventon software v1.1.0.18 on my win7 laptop shortly after getting esc but nvr used or updated my esc on the laptop. I used just stock software that came with the esc from Speed Passion. Ran mod.

So recently there hasnt been enough for mod class and I wanted to run 17.5 blinky. No software yet, so I waited.

Last week v19 came out.

Cool, download v1.1.0.19 and uninstalled v1.1.0.18 on my laptop then installed v1.1.0.19. Now mind you I havent updated the LCD programmer. so it has v2.2 that it came with stock.

I hooked up the lcd programmer and esc to laptop. Battery is disconectted btw. Started up the Reventon software and I updated to Stock0 v18-b308. Right after the update was succecful I disconnected the esc from lcd programmer. When I go to turn it back on and try to setup I noticed the issue. Setup button wont go into calibration or turn off esc now.

Ok, so go on here to ask about it and one said to make sure the LCD was latest version. I updated the LCD programmer to v2.4 and tried reverting back to the older software and no change. I even unistalled v1.1.0.19 and put v1.1.0.18 back on but that did not fix it.
I wish those who contact me and report the problem can explain to me what happened to them like what you just wrote here...very detail, and I am well aware of this case now. I will do that myself and see is that a software problem or not.

I believe I know a backend fix on this issue but I am not 100%, I need to try it tonight. I will get back to you tomorrow. Thanks for reporting this to me.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 10:47 AM   #10575
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade072 View Post
ive always run my software in administrator mode....have not had a single issue...am running windows 8 now....
Can you tell me does our software work on WINDOW 8...? I don't even know there is a window 8 until last night...I thought it was a Halloween joke...
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0