R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2012, 02:48 AM   #10531
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kapiti, New Zealand
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 429racer View Post
If I unplug the servo then it is fine. I can plug the servo back in and it is fine. Moving the steering really slow it is fine, just when you transition the servo back and forth a little fast does it brown it out. I think it is a bad design of the internal bec. The smaller things get it seems the more problems, but it will get worked out. I am going to the store to get a 4700 16v capacitor to throw on here and that should take care of the problem.
Just out of interest. What servo are you using on the steering? If its a higher output/voltage servo it'll use more power than the bec is designed to output, therefore brown out.
Bumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:12 AM   #10532
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 234
Default

Lord knows why you're all having issues with these speedos... I've never once had an issue with a speed control since I started in the hobby 10 year ago.

Odd.
Mi4cxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:57 AM   #10533
Tech Initiate
 
knighthawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi4cxl View Post
Lord knows why you're all having issues with these speedos... I've never once had an issue with a speed control since I started in the hobby 10 year ago.

Odd.
You've never owned a LRP SXX TC V2
Now theres a ESC with issues, lol
__________________
Many thanks to my back pocket for main sponsor !
TLR Losi 8ight 2.0 EU - Novarossi 4BTT
Schumacher SX3 - Speed Passion Reventon Pro - Speed Passion V3 6.5
Schumacher SV2 - Speed Passion Reventon Pro - Speed Passion V3 8.5
Radio - Futaba 3VCS 2.4Ghz - R603FS - FrSky TFR4
knighthawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:24 AM   #10534
Tech Regular
 
Timbo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99
Default FFS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi4cxl View Post
Lord knows why you're all having issues with these speedos... I've never once had an issue with a speed control since I started in the hobby 10 year ago.

Odd.
This is a new esc and new software.
Nobody are having issues,just sharing settings,and helping with all new hardware.

FYI this is the fastest esc on the market and the best software that's only getting better.
So in other words,nobody needs un-educated opinions or people who don't want to contribute to a great forum.
__________________
Serpent ERYX/S411 Le#189,#024,TE/Airtronics/MuchMore FLETA 4/Ryan Dezign-
"The finest RC paintwork in Australia"/LEESPEED/Ame T-Shox/THiNK Carbon.
"If at first you don't succeed,.....tell'em it's the "Beta" 1.0 version"
Timbo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:06 AM   #10535
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 234
Default

It wasn't a dig at this Speedo you backwards cretin. I own one. All I ever seem to see with Speedos on this forum are issue after issue. Ust stating its odd that so many have issues. Guess I must have good luck with them!
Mi4cxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:34 AM   #10536
Tech Addict
 
wollow86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hobart
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hi people.

My club has an endurance race coming up in December. Its nothing super long, only doing 30mins. The class is typically 17.5 boosted, and I have a really good esc setup for that right now, the car is an absolute weapon.

But there's no way my current setup is going to do 30mins. Even if it could do it from a heat perspective, 6mins costs me about 2800mah. So after 12mins my largest packs being 6900mah are going to be pretty tired.

I think most of the guys are going to run blinky. But I feel running a much softer boost profile might be the ticket. I'm just not sure how to acheive the right balance there, or where I should be looking to modify my profile to keep the temps low enough to make 30mins, but also make the packs last long enough to get away with a one stop strategy, or 2 stop at worst.

The track is a large outdoor asphalt track, with med-low grip. The run will be during summer, but even on a warmer day my current setup wont crack 80*C. It has a long section of track that is full throttle, essentially sweeper on and off the straight and obviously the straight itself.

My current setup is:
44 Boost
20 Turbo
First notch on a D3
350rpm/deg
4000 start
.1 delay
DDRS 8
5.35 FDR
Hot lap of 18.0 for me, fastest guys just under the 18, slowest in the 20s

So any suggestion of how I can change what I have to lower temps for a longer run, and improve the efficiency would be awesome.
__________________
Supporting Aussie hobby shops:
- www.MRJRacing.com.au - - www.feralbatteries.com.au - - www.actionrc.com.au -
wollow86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:06 AM   #10537
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bumpy View Post
Just out of interest. What servo are you using on the steering? If its a higher output/voltage servo it'll use more power than the bec is designed to output, therefore brown out.
I use an Align 620 servos in all my cars. They are the same as the savox 1257/1258. I use it with my LPF 2.0 and gtb2 with no problems. I put the capacitor in and it solved the problem.
429racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:44 AM   #10538
Tech Regular
 
Timbo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99
Default Long races

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollow86 View Post
Hi people.

My club has an endurance race coming up in December. Its nothing super long, only doing 30mins. The class is typically 17.5 boosted, and I have a really good esc setup for that right now, the car is an absolute weapon.

But there's no way my current setup is going to do 30mins. Even if it could do it from a heat perspective, 6mins costs me about 2800mah. So after 12mins my largest packs being 6900mah are going to be pretty tired.

I think most of the guys are going to run blinky. But I feel running a much softer boost profile might be the ticket. I'm just not sure how to acheive the right balance there, or where I should be looking to modify my profile to keep the temps low enough to make 30mins, but also make the packs last long enough to get away with a one stop strategy, or 2 stop at worst.

The track is a large outdoor asphalt track, with med-low grip. The run will be during summer, but even on a warmer day my current setup wont crack 80*C. It has a long section of track that is full throttle, essentially sweeper on and off the straight and obviously the straight itself.

My current setup is:
44 Boost
20 Turbo
First notch on a D3
350rpm/deg
4000 start
.1 delay
DDRS 8
5.35 FDR
Hot lap of 18.0 for me, fastest guys just under the 18, slowest in the 20s

So any suggestion of how I can change what I have to lower temps for a longer run, and improve the efficiency would be awesome.
We had a similar event at TFTR in Melbourne not that long ago,but,I would ask Ari at northern beaches hobby centre as he would be able to advise better than me as he would prob know what event you guys are entering.
I would add more fans,go easy on timing increase FDR slightly and most of all,be consistent.
Also post this question in our TFTR Templestowe Flat Track Racers thread and I'm sure you will get heaps of ideas.
Cheers
Tim
__________________
Serpent ERYX/S411 Le#189,#024,TE/Airtronics/MuchMore FLETA 4/Ryan Dezign-
"The finest RC paintwork in Australia"/LEESPEED/Ame T-Shox/THiNK Carbon.
"If at first you don't succeed,.....tell'em it's the "Beta" 1.0 version"
Timbo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:51 AM   #10539
Tech Regular
 
Timbo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi4cxl View Post
It wasn't a dig at this Speedo you backwards cretin. I own one. All I ever seem to see with Speedos on this forum are issue after issue. Ust stating its odd that so many have issues. Guess I must have good luck with them!
Well this backwards cretin helped you run your esc cooler.
__________________
Serpent ERYX/S411 Le#189,#024,TE/Airtronics/MuchMore FLETA 4/Ryan Dezign-
"The finest RC paintwork in Australia"/LEESPEED/Ame T-Shox/THiNK Carbon.
"If at first you don't succeed,.....tell'em it's the "Beta" 1.0 version"
Timbo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:09 AM   #10540
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
It will never be final....once we have that done, we will post it on the site, then we will move on to something better and faster. Our driver never satisfied to just 1 stage of the products. We are changing the software bi-weekly.

The programmer box can only read the CURRENT ESC temp and the lipo voltage, will not be able to read the MOTOR TEMP as we disabled that feature due to the conflict of the ESC thermal protection. Good old temp gun on the black spot of the motor will work...

As well as motor highest RPM...isn't that everyone want to see that..? Are you willing to mount a 500grams data logging device on the car and screw up the weight balance...?
never final
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:24 AM   #10541
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys

After a bit of help

My GT2.0 stopped working on saturday , it was fitted to my WGT with a thunder power 17.5 motor

It lost speed on the track and i came back and the speedo and motor were cool , it feels like there is no turbo and boost , it was perfect for most of the daty , swapped out the sensor cable and motor ,

Eventually i sinned and fitted my old Tekin and everything was working .

Anyone seen this problem before ???

Thanks Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:45 AM   #10542
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Hey guys

After a bit of help

My GT2.0 stopped working on saturday , it was fitted to my WGT with a thunder power 17.5 motor

It lost speed on the track and i came back and the speedo and motor were cool , it feels like there is no turbo and boost , it was perfect for most of the daty , swapped out the sensor cable and motor ,

Eventually i sinned and fitted my old Tekin and everything was working .

Anyone seen this problem before ???

Thanks Phil
Check your sensor wire , if the sensor is bad or unplugged the turbo will disengage
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:48 AM   #10543
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

If that doesn't work reinstall the software
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:11 PM   #10544
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
Check your sensor wire , if the sensor is bad or unplugged the turbo will disengage
i did , only thing that fixed it was another speedo
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:11 PM   #10545
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
If that doesn't work reinstall the software
will try this though
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
kaven turcotte
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0