R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2012, 10:16 AM   #9451
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

As far as I know...there are no fix for the 1S cutoff. I have several versions that I have tested....no matter how GOOD and how MUCH I charged a good lipo, it will cut off at 6 minutes or so, on boost stock and mod, on 12th scale...it does not really cutted off, it stop, and back on, then couple laps down, do it again and again....

I leave the cut off completely turned off and never have a problem again, and still haven't have a 1S lipo buffed or went bad so far...

I personally never use lipo cut off........never need it.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:32 PM   #9452
Tech Adept
 
Jonnydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Jonnydb Send a message via Skype™ to Jonnydb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
just a Team Powers Dyno , it measures A draw and motor Revs

are you using a lipo? the only that i dont like using this dyno, because after few tests the battery will lose the power

i didnt find yet a good volt regulator to use with power supply, to work with 7.2v
__________________
T.O.P Racing Brazil
Jonnydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 08:54 AM   #9453
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,602
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yeh you would probably need to source a pretty expensive lab power supply (adjustable, very high current, clean and filtered power) to do that. I know I looked at one and it cost around $1000 that could properly emulate a 3.7 or 7.4v Pack at high sudden amp draws. In the end it wasnt worth it.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 10:19 AM   #9454
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I would think topping off the charge on your battery between dyno pulls would be sufficient.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:11 PM   #9455
Tech Fanatic
 
onekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sweden but from New Zealand
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Where can I find the manual to this esc? The top one

http://www.redrc.net/2007/11/speed-p...o-feigao-escs/

Is it any good? I got it in a job lot of RC stuff
__________________
XB2 CE
XB4 16
Sanwa
Hobbywing
#kiwipaint on facebook
onekiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:33 PM   #9456
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
Where can I find the manual to this esc? The top one

http://www.redrc.net/2007/11/speed-p...o-feigao-escs/

Is it any good? I got it in a job lot of RC stuff
None....but what would you like to know about this ESC? Just hook it up like the current SP ESC and calibrate the same way and see that works or not.

If it make the motor move, it is GOOD...but if you are talking about is that any good for RACING....then I would say buy a new ESC. That ESC is like 4 years old products.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:32 PM   #9457
Tech Adept
 
Jonnydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brazil
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Jonnydb Send a message via Skype™ to Jonnydb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clegg View Post
Yeh you would probably need to source a pretty expensive lab power supply (adjustable, very high current, clean and filtered power) to do that. I know I looked at one and it cost around $1000 that could properly emulate a 3.7 or 7.4v Pack at high sudden amp draws. In the end it wasnt worth it.

dont need that only a good regulator... maybe the motor only draw 10A unload.
__________________
T.O.P Racing Brazil
Jonnydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:34 PM   #9458
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

So I got a V3 17.5 and it has started to give me some issues. It shutters bad, and will just not move until I give it a push sometimes. So is this going to be a sensor board or is it a bad phase?
ikpthegame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:37 AM   #9459
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,296
Default

Any one know why the MMM 13.5 motors are taking so long to get back into stock?
cheers.
__________________
SCHUMACHER MI5 EVO/TEAM POWERS/SANWA/DX4R PRO.

SERPENT F110/TEAMPOWERS 21.5.

LOSI 22 2.0/TEAM POWERS 8.5
malcnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 04:23 AM   #9460
Tech Fanatic
 
onekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sweden but from New Zealand
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
None....but what would you like to know about this ESC? Just hook it up like the current SP ESC and calibrate the same way and see that works or not.

If it make the motor move, it is GOOD...but if you are talking about is that any good for RACING....then I would say buy a new ESC. That ESC is like 4 years old products.

Sorry its this one at the top

Mine hasn't got the HW name on it.
Can this be upgraded?
__________________
XB2 CE
XB4 16
Sanwa
Hobbywing
#kiwipaint on facebook
onekiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:11 AM   #9461
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ikpthegame View Post
So I got a V3 17.5 and it has started to give me some issues. It shutters bad, and will just not move until I give it a push sometimes. So is this going to be a sensor board or is it a bad phase?
Try replacing the sensor wire (several times) first. Then move onto the sensor board on the motor. Finally, if you are still having issues, it could be the sensor port on the ESC, but that is very rare.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:58 AM   #9462
Tech Master
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lompoc, Ca.
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Try replacing the sensor wire (several times) first. Then move onto the sensor board on the motor. Finally, if you are still having issues, it could be the sensor port on the ESC, but that is very rare.
It appears to me that the sensor modules are kind of fragile compared to other motors I've used. I just got a MMM 13.5 and 2 of the pins soldered to the PCB from the Hall effect board were not soldered adequately and came loose right off the bat. it seems the pins are just a tad too short and are difficult to get a good solder bond. I would say that if your motor is cogging, it's probably because of the sensor module or the cable. That's been my experience with the V3 motors.
YoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:27 AM   #9463
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcnz View Post
Any one know why the MMM 13.5 motors are taking so long to get back into stock?
cheers.
MMM's should be back in stock by the end of May or early June.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:38 AM   #9464
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ikpthegame View Post
So I got a V3 17.5 and it has started to give me some issues. It shutters bad, and will just not move until I give it a push sometimes. So is this going to be a sensor board or is it a bad phase?
Cogging is cause by several things...(1) ESC software mal-fucntioned (2) Motor sensor board went bad (3) sensor cable went bad (4) Sensor socket on ESC went bad...

Best way to check is use the same ESC with different motor....if it works on the other motor, then the sensor board within the motor went bad, replace with a new one.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:39 AM   #9465
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
Sorry its this one at the top

Mine hasn't got the HW name on it.
Can this be upgraded?
No, they are not upgradable.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0