R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2012, 12:29 PM   #9271
Tech Master
 
LonnyJ1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ. USA
Posts: 1,141
Default

Yes
__________________
Lonny
LonnyJ1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 06:36 PM   #9272
Tech Regular
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief View Post
Guy's

I'm goint to be running 17.5 blinky in my TC6. I just wanted to double check that I will need to buy the LCD program box to install the 508 blinky software
right? Does the HobbyWing 2in1 LCD program box work also?
Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LonnyJ1950 View Post
Yes
Can someone elaborate on this? I just got my SP esc, and I thought that setting the timing to 0 with the box, was good enough to set into blinky mode.

Thanks
R Doyel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:26 PM   #9273
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey fellas,

Does anyone have a manual for the old Exige 1.1 ESC?
Recently got one with a bunch of other stuff and trying to see if it works, it just beeps.
Shimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:52 PM   #9274
Tech Master
 
LonnyJ1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ. USA
Posts: 1,141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R Doyel View Post
Can someone elaborate on this? I just got my SP esc, and I thought that setting the timing to 0 with the box, was good enough to set into blinky mode.

Thanks
To get it to blink so it's legal for "blinky" class you have to download the software from SP to a PC then use the USB connection through the LCD box to install it in the speed control.
__________________
Lonny
LonnyJ1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:53 PM   #9275
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R Doyel View Post
Can someone elaborate on this? I just got my SP esc, and I thought that setting the timing to 0 with the box, was good enough to set into blinky mode.

Thanks
What has happened my friend is you have run smack dab head first into the problem of customer information and lack of marketing in my opinion. The box that comes with your speedo only allows you to manipulate the software already installed on the esc. The other box which is sold seperately is used to interface your speedo with your computer so you can use SpeedPassion software to change the software on the speedy to the blink software that makes the speedo led blink so you and the tech person at the track know you can race in the blinky class whatever motor it is your running.

This happened to me as well and to a lot of other people to. Would be nice if they FINALLY updated the website or esc information so you can know that you need another product in order to upgrade the speedo firmware. Would be nice..


http://www.speedpassion.net/us/produ...=SPLCD01&c=OPT
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:12 PM   #9276
Tech Regular
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
What has happened my friend is you have run smack dab head first into the problem of customer information and lack of marketing in my opinion. The box that comes with your speedo only allows you to manipulate the software already installed on the esc. The other box which is sold seperately is used to interface your speedo with your computer so you can use SpeedPassion software to change the software on the speedy to the blink software that makes the speedo led blink so you and the tech person at the track know you can race in the blinky class whatever motor it is your running.

This happened to me as well and to a lot of other people to. Would be nice if they FINALLY updated the website or esc information so you can know that you need another product in order to upgrade the speedo firmware. Would be nice..


http://www.speedpassion.net/us/produ...=SPLCD01&c=OPT
This is the reason that I got rid of my Tekins.....

Does this new box come with a cable?
R Doyel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 12:47 AM   #9277
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

The speed passion box does come with the usb cable. Are you telling me the Tekin Hotwire does not come with the usb cable?
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:30 AM   #9278
Tech Master
 
blade954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Hi was wondering can you use the Hobbywing LCD program box to upgrade the Speed Passion GT2.0, Sorry for the question but very new to the electric side.....
__________________
HEI | Xray | Hudy | Ko Propo | FX- Engines | Novak |
Ryper Hobbies | AKA | Byrons | Blade Grafix
blade954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:22 AM   #9279
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 181
Default 13.5 Settings

I ran the 2.1 Prostock on Sunday in 13.5 TC and have a couple of questions.

I was geared at 7.48 FDR and the motor came off 72C max. The ambient temps were cold all day (around 10C) so this may have been a little warm.

My main question is for the attached setup and track which is approx 40m x 30m do I need to gear lower 7.73 or 7.99? Acceleration could have been better and my lap times did get better when I geared down to 7.48 from 7.2.

I wonder if it is down to the turbo kicking in as I accelerate hard out of some of the corners at full throttle that is bogging down the acceleration.

Has anyone tried setting timing to 64 and just setting a very high boost timing acceleration value? I was wondering if it would be better to rely on the RPM of the motor to set the timing rather than holding full throttle? If I used say 700RPM/Deg that would mean 64 timing would be applied at 49800 RPM rather than when I hold full throttle for a period of time?
Attached Thumbnails
The Speed Passion Thread-trackplanred.gif  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf WLRC Setup Sheet.pdf (209.1 KB, 101 views)

Last edited by dvaid852456; 04-16-2012 at 05:47 AM.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:38 AM   #9280
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
I ran the 2.1 Prostock on Sunday in 13.5 TC and had a couple of questions.

I was geared at 7.48 FDR and the motor came off 72C max. The ambient temps were cold all day so this may have been a little warm.

My main question is for the attached track and setup which is approx 40m x 30m do I need to gear lower 7.73 or 7.99? Acceleration could have been better and my lap times did get better when I geared down to 7.48 from 7.2.
Try this:
5.8 fdr 7 can timing
36 boost, 300acc, 4k start rpm
24 turbo, 24 slope, delay off

I took this from this indoor race they had in china, it was for another esc but it translates well into sp since their max timing is 64 on the esc as well. Just remember to temp every 2 mins.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:42 AM   #9281
Tech Initiate
 
hectickurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 30
Default Reventon S

Will the Reventon S run stock supercharger firmware or is it blinky only?
__________________
non illegitimatis carborundum!

Xray T3R, Hobbywing electronics. Yeah baby!

Rob(not Lee) Streeter
hectickurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:53 AM   #9282
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade954 View Post
Hi was wondering can you use the Hobbywing LCD program box to upgrade the Speed Passion GT2.0, Sorry for the question but very new to the electric side.....
Yes you can, and it would also work with a Orion LCD box, since the unit is just a link between PC and ESC when all three are connected.
When using the PC software, you can change the ESC firmware, and change settings in the three profile with any LCD Box.
FFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:19 AM   #9283
Tech Master
 
blade954's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFred View Post
Yes you can, and it would also work with a Orion LCD box, since the unit is just a link between PC and ESC when all three are connected.
When using the PC software, you can change the ESC firmware, and change settings in the three profile with any LCD Box.
Thanks for the reply FFred greatly appreciated.....
__________________
HEI | Xray | Hudy | Ko Propo | FX- Engines | Novak |
Ryper Hobbies | AKA | Byrons | Blade Grafix
blade954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:37 AM   #9284
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
I ran the 2.1 Prostock on Sunday in 13.5 TC and have a couple of questions.

I was geared at 7.48 FDR and the motor came off 72C max. The ambient temps were cold all day (around 10C) so this may have been a little warm.

My main question is for the attached setup and track which is approx 40m x 30m do I need to gear lower 7.73 or 7.99? Acceleration could have been better and my lap times did get better when I geared down to 7.48 from 7.2.

I wonder if it is down to the turbo kicking in as I accelerate hard out of some of the corners at full throttle that is bogging down the acceleration.

Has anyone tried setting timing to 64 and just setting a very high boost timing acceleration value? I was wondering if it would be better to rely on the RPM of the motor to set the timing rather than holding full throttle? If I used say 700RPM/Deg that would mean 64 timing would be applied at 49800 RPM rather than when I hold full throttle for a period of time?
I was at the exact same meeting yesterday running 13.5. I dont know if im over geared or what. I was running a Reedy 13.5 at 40 timing on the endbell at 6.4FDR. Running the same speedo as yourself and the same software. We was running at 48 and 16 with the slop setting at 30/0.1s, 0.2s and 400rpm/deg. Running that the motor came off around 75 deg
jordan.norwood@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 08:15 AM   #9285
Tech Regular
 
R Doyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
The speed passion box does come with the usb cable. Are you telling me the Tekin Hotwire does not come with the usb cable?
It does, that's not what I meant.

I was hoping to not have to use a PC interface, to just run blinky.
R Doyel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0