R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2011, 02:44 AM   #8176
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 139
Default

hello. i buy a speed passion citrix 21.5 3.0 and out of box it is very slow.i set endpoints and the gearing is all ok. i plug a program card into the esc to crank up the power and it only gives me three options for tuning. my other speed passion esc(a 2.0 citrix) has 8 or 9 differnt things to tune. so of these three i dont know what is being changed.
can anyone help?

thnx
freakyfreakyflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:18 AM   #8177
Tech Elite
 
tonyv2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 3,697
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tonyv2382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyv2382 View Post
Turned on my LPF 2.0 in my cougar today and got some smoke out of my capacitor. Im not sure if any smoke came out for the esc but its all working fine. The capacitor just smells.

This is a brand new esc. Batteries were still connected, I just turned the switch on and poof. It did stop after the 3rd time I turned it on but Im afraid something may have gone wrong. I have never seen this happen. Took my car outside to inspect it and it seems fine, and drives fine.

I ordered a new cap from SP, do you guys think I need a new esc or would replacing the cap do the trick?
any ideas guys?
__________________
~ No, I don't do Trades ~
tonyv2382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:22 AM   #8178
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,318
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyv2382 View Post
any ideas guys?
maybe a bad BEC in the speedo?
__________________
Serpent USA www.serpentamerica.com, Maclan , Xpert, Gens Ace, MIP, www.miponline.com,Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, Slavich Designs, JSpec custom stickers and apparel.

CHECK OUT GARCIA GRAPHIX ON FACEBOOK -LOOKING FOR 2017 TEAM DRIVER'S!
Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:30 AM   #8179
Tech Elite
 
tonyv2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 3,697
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tonyv2382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul Garcia View Post
maybe a bad BEC in the speedo?
Maybe I dunno, I tested it for while last night and it seems to be ok, I know for a fact the cap cant be though. Will replacing the cap help or should I just send it back to SP?
__________________
~ No, I don't do Trades ~
tonyv2382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:40 AM   #8180
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Those can explode sometimes, dunno why. Just replace it and your speedo works like a charm again. And dont use it without cap.
Sootaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:51 AM   #8181
Tech Elite
 
tonyv2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 3,697
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tonyv2382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sootaj View Post
Those can explode sometimes, dunno why. Just replace it and your speedo works like a charm again. And dont use it without cap.
yA WEIRD LOL

I called the toll free number and they told me to stop using the speedo and get the new cap they have which I already have on order. I hope that the speedo is ok though and doesnt leave me stranded come race day. It was so weird. just connected the battery and poof.
__________________
~ No, I don't do Trades ~
tonyv2382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:21 PM   #8182
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,000
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
I am trying to connect my esc to the pc but the box just says connecting and the SP software has everything grayed out..what am I missing? ps my version is

V1.07_110119 lCD
and esc is V1.10_090205MOD but it won't let me update the esc? is the sofware not supported on windows 64bit?

esc is a gt 2.1EX

my LCD Box quit working...it won't show anymore text how do I go about returning it? and what is the turn around?
__________________
question still stands
__________________
T5M 7.5
22 3.0 7.5
SickWitiTRacing(Jayson)
NitroLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:31 AM   #8183
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakyfreakyflo View Post
hello. i buy a speed passion citrix 21.5 3.0 and out of box it is very slow.i set endpoints and the gearing is all ok. i plug a program card into the esc to crank up the power and it only gives me three options for tuning. my other speed passion esc(a 2.0 citrix) has 8 or 9 differnt things to tune. so of these three i dont know what is being changed.
can anyone help?

thnx
Make sure the sensor cable is in good condition and plugged in. 21.5 is slow no matter what you do because it is still a 21.5 with no timing advance on the ESC itself....

Cirtix club spec has only 3 options, there are no TIMING that you can add.

I don't know what Cirtix 2.0 that you are talking about..no such thing. I am you are either mistaking the Short Course Master or the GT2 series. They are not the same.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:32 AM   #8184
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyv2382 View Post
any ideas guys?
Not trying to make a joke..make sure red wire of the cap go to positive side of the ESC and black wire of the cap go to negative side from the ESC. If not working, just try another CAP. You must run the GT (or any esc) with cap...your ESC is fine if you are not running a race without a cap before. Just need a new cap.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:35 AM   #8185
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
question still stands
Is your box from SPEED PASSION? Just asking...
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:47 AM   #8186
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
question still stands
Are you using a 1s lipo? Connect your esc to a 2s lipo and try again.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:56 AM   #8187
Tech Elite
 
tonyv2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 3,697
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tonyv2382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Not trying to make a joke..make sure red wire of the cap go to positive side of the ESC and black wire of the cap go to negative side from the ESC. If not working, just try another CAP. You must run the GT (or any esc) with cap...your ESC is fine if you are not running a race without a cap before. Just need a new cap.
Everything was installed fine. I sent it back to SP for service.
__________________
~ No, I don't do Trades ~
tonyv2382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:04 PM   #8188
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,039
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyv2382 View Post
Everything was installed fine. I sent it back to SP for service.
OK...we will look into it.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:59 PM   #8189
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Hi guys,


I am going to run this speedo in 17.5T boosted TC class, and I am currently trying this setup: SP 323 + SP V3 17.5T

I am running med-high traction carpet on a small & technical layout. With the above setup it feels kinda dead on the bottom end. It is decent on the straight, but in the infield not much is going on, until all of the sudden a massive burst of power comes into play. This makes it very difficult to drive. It feels like an on/off switch with a big delay.

Any ideas?
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 05:30 AM   #8190
Tech Elite
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
Hi guys,


I am going to run this speedo in 17.5T boosted TC class, and I am currently trying this setup: SP 323 + SP V3 17.5T

I am running med-high traction carpet on a small & technical layout. With the above setup it feels kinda dead on the bottom end. It is decent on the straight, but in the infield not much is going on, until all of the sudden a massive burst of power comes into play. This makes it very difficult to drive. It feels like an on/off switch with a big delay.

Any ideas?
try turning your turbo delay to 0 and boost start rpm down try 2000rpm
mattwoodcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0