R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2011, 12:27 PM   #6931
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahamoti View Post
Is there a way to figure out rough topend RPM for a motor, taking timing into account?

For instance, using 17.5T = 2200kV (ballpark) with a 1S setup, max RPM on a full battery figures to be ~9.2k, or, with an ~83mm rollout, about 26mph, which seems on the low side. That makes sense, because this doesn't add 10* endbell + ESC boost/turbo timing advance... any way of figuring this in?

All I'm really trying to get is a topend RPM, so I can use that to figure boost slope.
You need a motor dyno machine...or I think NOVAK has that software that you can do while you are racing....also, under load or no load..? Big different in RPM.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 03:50 PM   #6932
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Guys,

Hoping someone can really help me here.

I've been running 205 mod software on a smallish size tarmac track with pretty good success on a 4T V3 SP motor geared about 7.6. DRRS at level 7/8 and AMTS timing at 26.25

Its just lacking a little top speed so was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to which software to use to add a little boost timing or is this the same as AMTS (dont really understand)? What would I change to get this extra top speed and would I need to change the gearing much?

Thanks or the responses
rc_jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:35 PM   #6933
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_jammer View Post
Hi Guys,

Hoping someone can really help me here.

I've been running 205 mod software on a smallish size tarmac track with pretty good success on a 4T V3 SP motor geared about 7.6. DRRS at level 7/8 and AMTS timing at 26.25

Its just lacking a little top speed so was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to which software to use to add a little boost timing or is this the same as AMTS (dont really understand)? What would I change to get this extra top speed and would I need to change the gearing much?

Thanks or the responses
what are your temp after a run that will determine how much wiggle room you have i would say for more top end remove some timing and add some teeth to the pinion most important to watch temp tho
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 09:07 PM   #6934
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,488
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_jammer View Post
Hi Guys,

Hoping someone can really help me here.

I've been running 205 mod software on a smallish size tarmac track with pretty good success on a 4T V3 SP motor geared about 7.6. DRRS at level 7/8 and AMTS timing at 26.25

Its just lacking a little top speed so was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to which software to use to add a little boost timing or is this the same as AMTS (dont really understand)? What would I change to get this extra top speed and would I need to change the gearing much?

Thanks or the responses
Pretty simple. Drop the timing to 18.75 or less and gear up.
__________________
#49, #25a, #91, #7, #12 the ones to watch.... UPDATE. #12 is your new AMA GNC #1

A Northwest Team of Positive actions
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:02 AM   #6935
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
You need a motor dyno machine...or I think NOVAK has that software that you can do while you are racing....also, under load or no load..? Big different in RPM.
Sp engineer has it, the next new esc firmware is rpm log included.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:33 PM   #6936
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

hi guys.

just mounted my new SP GT2.0 and a 4.0. im going to run on a large outdoor track and what to use timing. but im am a little confused about what software to use, 422, 528, 212 ???

Steven
__________________
Steven Olsen
CAR: Awsomatix A700L.
Nosram 7000 Batteries.
Nosram Comet HD ESC.
Nosram Pure 2 evolution Motor.
StevenOlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:44 PM   #6937
Tech Master
 
g12314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 1,277
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to g12314 Send a message via Yahoo to g12314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenOlsen View Post
hi guys.

just mounted my new SP GT2.0 and a 4.0. im going to run on a large outdoor track and what to use timing. but im am a little confused about what software to use, 422, 528, 212 ???

Steven
Setups to use as starting points are here: http://www.speedpassion.net/en/escsetup.asp
__________________
"PREPARE TO QUALIFY"
g12314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:09 PM   #6938
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quick question...

I have boosted stock software on my ESC. I want to run mod. Do i need to flash to a different firmware. OR is setting setting SC BOOST LEVEL to "OFF" enough to disable the supercharge items 12-15. If it does effectively shut off boost. Is there any advantage to running a MOD specific firmware for mod motors over using stock software with boost off?

Also does interface V1.35 contain new mod and stock software?

Thanks
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:23 PM   #6939
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,402
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Sp engineer has it, the next new esc firmware is rpm log included.
Excellent, you are the only person who cares.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:47 PM   #6940
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,592
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
Quick question...

I have boosted stock software on my ESC. I want to run mod. Do i need to flash to a different firmware. OR is setting setting SC BOOST LEVEL to "OFF" enough to disable the supercharge items 12-15. If it does effectively shut off boost. Is there any advantage to running a MOD specific firmware for mod motors over using stock software with boost off?

Also does interface V1.35 contain new mod and stock software?

Thanks
You need to re-flash it. Turning off boost alone isn't enough..there is still timing advance before WOT so to be fair, just use the 508 software.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 04:57 AM   #6941
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks charlieB!!!

Last nite i had tried a 10.5 in my cough durango and was thermal-ling.. i had boost to OFF but it did not seem enough.. (we run a very tight carpet offroad track)
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 06:20 AM   #6942
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

just flashed 508, i'll test it next race see how it goes. I see that now there is only punch and no timing options at all. Im hoping this cures my problem from last nite..
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 10:03 AM   #6943
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys

I would like a good set up for an asphalt track with a huge 70m straight motor is a SP13.5v3 and the speedo is a GT2.0 with 528 stock softwere ;-)

Thanks in advance Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 08:57 PM   #6944
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,488
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Sp engineer has it, the next new esc firmware is rpm log included.
you must mean the next one after this one


Charlie B. you going to make to Reedy this year?
__________________
#49, #25a, #91, #7, #12 the ones to watch.... UPDATE. #12 is your new AMA GNC #1

A Northwest Team of Positive actions
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 11:24 PM   #6945
Tech Elite
 
tonyv2382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 3,697
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tonyv2382
Default

Hey guys just picked up an LPF GT2.0 carbon esc for my new losi 22. I just didnt feel like spending 200+ on another brand and Ive heard great things about SP. Now can this version be upgraded in terms of software? And how many drive profiles does it have? Ive had the best luck with LRP in the past and Im hoping to have the same smoothness here. Plus the smaller footprint of this esc will be good because theres not much room under the shell on the car. very tight space.

Any other feedback is good to hear, Im new to the brand.
__________________
~ No, I don't do Trades ~
tonyv2382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0