R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2011, 11:47 PM   #6841
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Send a message via MSN to RevMaxx
Default

which firmware should work best for 12th scale 1S.
am running SP V3 4.0T motor now...

esc settings would be nice...

t-i-a
RevMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 02:34 PM   #6842
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitzrockey View Post
Thanks, its weird I can turn the esc off then on and it works for a bit agian, it seems when the car gets bonked it does it.
Open up the end bell of the motor and reseat the sensor unit.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 02:36 PM   #6843
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RevMaxx View Post
which firmware should work best for 12th scale 1S.
am running SP V3 4.0T motor now...

esc settings would be nice...

t-i-a
Mod motor usually use the 205g version.....1S or 2S, don't matters.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 02:54 PM   #6844
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Solara

Is there any chance of getting a "push control" like the Tekn has in the next update from SP ???

i liked it on the tekin in the 12th because it was like an anti brake and let the car roll more ???

cheeRS Phil
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 07:55 PM   #6845
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fly-over Country
Posts: 540
Default

Has anyone had problems with savox servos and the Speed Passion GT2.0 ESC's? I'm not convinced the ESC has anything to do with the troubles people are having with Savox servos and Spektrum rx's. Any input? Some claim it is the BEC in the ESC, I think it is the Rx.
Banshee8530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 10:04 PM   #6846
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,491
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banshee8530 View Post
Has anyone had problems with savox servos and the Speed Passion GT2.0 ESC's? I'm not convinced the ESC has anything to do with the troubles people are having with Savox servos and Spektrum rx's. Any input? Some claim it is the BEC in the ESC, I think it is the Rx.
some claim the servo sucks to much voltage
__________________
#49, #25a, #91, #7, #12 the ones to watch.... UPDATE. #12 is your new AMA GNC #1

A Northwest Team of Positive actions
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:10 PM   #6847
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hi,

I've just picked up a gt2.1 pro stock and a d3 9.5T

What software should I load on the esc? Unsure whether I should be using the modified or stock software on a 9.5T motor.
J-PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:34 PM   #6848
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fly-over Country
Posts: 540
Default

The voltage SHOULD be limited by the BEC... I stress should... twice. Most ESC's have a 3.0A current capability on the BEC regardless of the Voltage value, some are 5.5V, some 5.75V, some 6V. The one constant I see is the Spektrum RX. Not trying to bash Spektrum, just wondering if anyone can offer a good explanation to the problem... are some internal BEC's not limited on Current/AMPS? I know the Speed Passion literature says it is. Has anyone had this issue with a speed passion? Will the Rx's BEC curcuitry cause this?

curious.
Banshee8530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:54 PM   #6849
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banshee8530 View Post
The voltage SHOULD be limited by the BEC... I stress should... twice. Most ESC's have a 3.0A current capability on the BEC regardless of the Voltage value, some are 5.5V, some 5.75V, some 6V. The one constant I see is the Spektrum RX. Not trying to bash Spektrum, just wondering if anyone can offer a good explanation to the problem... are some internal BEC's not limited on Current/AMPS? I know the Speed Passion literature says it is. Has anyone had this issue with a speed passion? Will the Rx's BEC curcuitry cause this?

curious.
The output voltage from the ESC is regulated to 5.75 or 6 depending on model. The voltage should not drop unless there is more then the 3As being drawn from the BEC at the given moment. Running a nice big capacitor on the RX'er end (also known as a glitch buster) will help the BEC keep a constant output voltage, for when the servo needs alot of power.

Rx'ers, dont have BEC's.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 01:04 AM   #6850
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banshee8530 View Post
Has anyone had problems with savox servos and the Speed Passion GT2.0 ESC's? I'm not convinced the ESC has anything to do with the troubles people are having with Savox servos and Spektrum rx's. Any input? Some claim it is the BEC in the ESC, I think it is the Rx.
I am running a Savox and a GT2.0pro without any problems ,

Its not a voltage thing it is Amps the servo wants to pull
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:31 AM   #6851
Tech Elite
 
tedstryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Coast like butta toast
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I'd figure I'll ask my question here i have the Speed Passion Short Course Master ESC Sensored...can you use another motor with this ESC?..I've read that this ESC doesn't work with other motors...is this true? i was looking into running a 17.5 sensored motor with it..anybody that has any experience with it or any info on what motors will work..would be really appreciated..
__________________
A.E.RC8B3E
A.E.T5M
TLR 22T 2.0 TLR 22 3.0
Kyosho RT5
YOKOMO B-MAX4 III
tedstryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:46 AM   #6852
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Hey Solara

Is there any chance of getting a "push control" like the Tekn has in the next update from SP ???

i liked it on the tekin in the 12th because it was like an anti brake and let the car roll more ???

cheeRS Phil
On our next generation ESC, we will have that feature on the firmware...your request is forwarded to the HQ, thanks.

P.S...the feeling of push control vs the radio "sub-trim" setting it going forward is not the same..? I use the radio sub trim setting (set the motor roll forward) on my TC when racing 21.5 class to act as a rolling start(push) kinda effect...I would like to know what are the different between the 2. Thanks.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:12 AM   #6853
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedstryker View Post
I'd figure I'll ask my question here i have the Speed Passion Short Course Master ESC Sensored...can you use another motor with this ESC?..I've read that this ESC doesn't work with other motors...is this true? i was looking into running a 17.5 sensored motor with it..anybody that has any experience with it or any info on what motors will work..would be really appreciated..
The original/early batch of the SCM dated like a year ago can only limited to SP motors and Trinity motors. If you purchased your SCM unit like October last year and later should be able to use all motors. However, if your unit is purchased used, then it cannot be tell....see you can borrow a motor and give that a try.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:47 AM   #6854
Tech Elite
 
tedstryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Coast like butta toast
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
The original/early batch of the SCM dated like a year ago can only limited to SP motors and Trinity motors. If you purchased your SCM unit like October last year and later should be able to use all motors. However, if your unit is purchased used, then it cannot be tell....see you can borrow a motor and give that a try.
just checked my purchase order 10/25/10 looks like I'm good to go with any motor...

thank you ...
__________________
A.E.RC8B3E
A.E.T5M
TLR 22T 2.0 TLR 22 3.0
Kyosho RT5
YOKOMO B-MAX4 III
tedstryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:59 AM   #6855
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fly-over Country
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
The output voltage from the ESC is regulated to 5.75 or 6 depending on model. The voltage should not drop unless there is more then the 3As being drawn from the BEC at the given moment. Running a nice big capacitor on the RX'er end (also known as a glitch buster) will help the BEC keep a constant output voltage, for when the servo needs alot of power.

Rx'ers, dont have BEC's.
Isn't the bus bar in Rx's designed to allow power to come to the Rx through any servo port? I thought that was BEC circuitry... otherwise we would have two Rx leads on every esc, one for signal and one for power. That's what I was getting at, I know Rx's don't have a literal BEC, but they do have the bus bar to allow it to work. Not trying to be snotty, just clarifying.
Banshee8530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0