R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2010, 01:53 PM   #5896
Tech Elite
 
san.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,289
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigger Brother View Post
What I'm trying to get at is simply, does the capacitor ONLY affect the braking power of the speedo?

If so, I won't need to change mine cos I've got plenty of brakes If, for example, it gives the boost profiles more power or something then obviously I'll look to change it out!

Thanks for the other info though
Oli
Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
...

If the capacitor is polarised and soldered on the battery wires correctly (plus to battery plus) it is used to store a bit of charge which is released abruptly to compensate the battery voltage if it is momentarily depleted during hard acceleration or brake. Otherwise, no idea.
Hope the reply above helps you.
__________________
Awesomatix USA||Roche RC USA||Sanwa
san. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 03:36 PM   #5897
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigger Brother View Post
What I'm trying to get at is simply, does the capacitor ONLY affect the braking power of the speedo?

If so, I won't need to change mine cos I've got plenty of brakes If, for example, it gives the boost profiles more power or something then obviously I'll look to change it out!

Thanks for the other info though
Oli
Quote:
Originally Posted by san. View Post
Hope the reply above helps you.
Well said from niznai....

And thanks SAN
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 03:41 PM   #5898
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inconceivable View Post
I've been away from Speed Passion for a while (since my LP 1.5's - which are still running strong in my off road mod vehicles). Anyway, I'm really thinking of picking up the new EX for my 17.5 1/12th scale. Is the only way to get to the advanced features with the new LCD box ? The stock box does not allow changes to these upper settings, correct ? Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsedgley View Post
the standard box can be used to alter all the 15 options HTH
Yes and No....

The GT2.1 EX...came installed the 205g software which is for MOD motor use, no SUPERCHARGER feature on that verison of software. Then we have 528STOCK and 528MOD along with the no timing software = 508_no_timing for user to upload and use....

In order to upload the software onto the ESC, you will need the LCD box. So...the LCD is a good investment for you, that box itself can also replaced the plastic programmer box that came with the ESC.

Some ppl might have friend that has the LCD box, then you can have him to upload the software for you and then you can use the plastic box for adjustment. Once the SUPERCHARGER software is uploaded, the plastic box can adjust all 15 functions.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 07:25 PM   #5899
Tech Elite
 
Arahawak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: A.D. 2030
Posts: 3,436
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
Yes and No....

The GT2.1 EX...came installed the 205g software which is for MOD motor use, no SUPERCHARGER feature on that verison of software. Then we have 528STOCK and 528MOD along with the no timing software = 508_no_timing for user to upload and use....
hi solara, where do I get the 528stock software? I got the LCD thing but not sure what software is in my GT LPF 2.0

this 528stock has turbo I suppose? And can be used for the GT LPF 2.0?
__________________
Support Bacteria - its the only culture some people have!
Arahawak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 07:35 PM   #5900
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arahawak View Post
hi solara, where do I get the 528stock software? I got the LCD thing but not sure what software is in my GT LPF 2.0

this 528stock has turbo I suppose? And can be used for the GT LPF 2.0?
You can go on speedpassion.net and download the software from the website.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:39 AM   #5901
Tech Addict
 
encore75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SnoHoCo, WA
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to encore75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arahawak View Post
hi solara, where do I get the 528stock software? I got the LCD thing but not sure what software is in my GT LPF 2.0

this 528stock has turbo I suppose? And can be used for the GT LPF 2.0?
Here's a bit more help if you don't know where to navigate...

Go here: http://www.speedpassion.net/us/produ...802LPFcb&c=ESC

...and you can see the applicable downloads for the 2.0LPF. You'll see the 528 software under the 7/8/2010 date.
__________________
Tamiya TB-Evolution V & TA05-R | Kyosho Ultima SC & RB5 | Associated FT RC18T
encore75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:42 AM   #5902
Tech Elite
 
Arahawak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: A.D. 2030
Posts: 3,436
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encore75 View Post
Here's a bit more help if you don't know where to navigate...

Go here: http://www.speedpassion.net/us/produ...802LPFcb&c=ESC

...and you can see the applicable downloads for the 2.0LPF. You'll see the 528 software under the 7/8/2010 date.
got it.. thanks
__________________
Support Bacteria - its the only culture some people have!
Arahawak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:05 PM   #5903
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Thanks everyone above that helped Arahawak........
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:03 PM   #5904
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 83
Default

I was wondering if anyone has run into the same issue that we have with our 2.0Pro in our Mod (version 3 4.0T) touring car.

Lights on esc are as per instructions on full gas and full brake, but after having used the car the esc light blinks green when on neutral. According to instructions there should be no light on when in neutral.
Have tried reprogramming radio to esc and also changed sensor wire and these had no effect on the issue.

Even when the light blinks on neutral the car is running normal.
jarkko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:02 PM   #5905
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Default

@ Solara

I know that GT 2.0 has constant 400 A and burst 800 A, so with GT 2.1 Pro stock how many amps for constant and burst ? before... I installed friend's T3 with GT Pro stock 2.0 with 4 small capacitors and 12 awg cables ...and when i received my new GT Pro stock 2.1 , I only received 1 medium size Capacitor and 14 awg cables....any differences on performance because I haven't install it yet..

Thanks,
Bijono
bijono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:32 PM   #5906
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarkko View Post
I was wondering if anyone has run into the same issue that we have with our 2.0Pro in our Mod (version 3 4.0T) touring car.

Lights on esc are as per instructions on full gas and full brake, but after having used the car the esc light blinks green when on neutral. According to instructions there should be no light on when in neutral.
Have tried reprogramming radio to esc and also changed sensor wire and these had no effect on the issue.

Even when the light blinks on neutral the car is running normal.
I had that problem, turned out the sensor board on the motor was gone so it was in sensorless mode.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:18 AM   #5907
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarkko View Post
I was wondering if anyone has run into the same issue that we have with our 2.0Pro in our Mod (version 3 4.0T) touring car.

Lights on esc are as per instructions on full gas and full brake, but after having used the car the esc light blinks green when on neutral. According to instructions there should be no light on when in neutral.
Have tried reprogramming radio to esc and also changed sensor wire and these had no effect on the issue.

Even when the light blinks on neutral the car is running normal.
Open up the V3 motor's endbell, clean up the sensor board and reseat the sensor and check the esc light again...hope those lights are OFF after that.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:32 AM   #5908
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,037
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bijono View Post
@ Solara

I know that GT 2.0 has constant 400 A and burst 800 A, so with GT 2.1 Pro stock how many amps for constant and burst ? before... I installed friend's T3 with GT Pro stock 2.0 with 4 small capacitors and 12 awg cables ...and when i received my new GT Pro stock 2.1 , I only received 1 medium size Capacitor and 14 awg cables....any differences on performance because I haven't install it yet..

Thanks,
Bijono
We constantly update our capacity's model and size...your duo cap version is the current model for the Gt2.1 ProStock. We have been using the same cap for GT2.1 ProStock and it is proved to be good for racing.

The GT2 PRO (not pro stock) used the 4 caps and 12ga wire simply because the PRO unit is mainly use with MOD motor...if you are going to use the 2.1 ProStock with MOD motor like 7.5 or 8.5T, you should upgrade the wire to 12ga and the 4 caps...

GT2.1 ProStock is aimed for stock motor racing...but it can be use with 7.5 and 8.5 with the right software.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:43 AM   #5909
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,053
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

The cool thing is... If you just load 528_Stock on the GT 2.0 Pro, it works perfectly fine for stock too! The new upgraded power capacitor that Solara had mentioned before is also a very good upgrade for stock racing.

-Korey
__________________
Pro Spec America/Apex RC - Team ORCA - Awesomatix USA - Roche RC USA - AVID - Sweep - Protoform - Pro-One RC - Slapmaster Tools - Hebiki Design Works - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers - Timezone Hobbies
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 11:30 AM   #5910
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
The cool thing is... If you just load 528_Stock on the GT 2.0 Pro, it works perfectly fine for stock too! The new upgraded power capacitor that Solara had mentioned before is also a very good upgrade for stock racing.

-Korey
so if using the gt2.0pro for stock racing, (13.5), on a track where punch is of upmost importance, which would be the better cap to use? and can you really tell the difference, bearing in mind im no mark.r. or elliot.h.
__________________
tamiya 416x
hobbywing
spektrum dx3r
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0