R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2010, 12:01 PM   #5881
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Set reverse force to full, and you will have lockup brake power.
No idea why a reverse setting should have that effect, but its true.
hi thanks for your input , mine was set to 100% reverse force , and like reuben / geubes had very limited brakes ..
shaun207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:18 PM   #5882
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
THANKS....I was totally forgot about this function.

Yes...my REVERSE setting is ALWAYS 100%....it is not just using it for reverse, it is somehow engineered to help for the brakes.

On tight track setting...I use as high as 20% drag braking and only 75% brakes with 100% reverse...I have NEVER expereinced my brake is fading or disappeared........but I don't usually yake the brake and do a complete stop just to cut into the inside line. I usually let the car roll into the corner and carry as much corner speed as possible....or I will hit the board and broke..LOL
heres your other reply ( 5876 ) I don't drive exactly like that and I don't experience brake fading....
________________
I/we appreciate your help , but i know reuben is a very good and consistent driver , and he does'nt as you say " yake the brake to do a complete stop to cut the inside line " it was a very sharp corner , with no chance to let it roll arround the corner .. so i didnt really understand your comments ..

and as reuben said , there was a few there yesturday with brake issues ..
with me, my brake issues was another problem to add to the list !!

Last edited by shaun207; 10-25-2010 at 12:51 PM.
shaun207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 01:05 PM   #5883
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Set reverse force to full, and you will have lockup brake power.
No idea why a reverse setting should have that effect, but its true.
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
I have experienced the same thing. It happens on larger tracks and while a bigger cap works for a little bit, it still comes back. Another thing i have seen with the 100528 is that even when NO drag brakes are set up, i still get drag brakes after a long straight..Not sure if anyone has found a solution other then staying on the throttle..
Then this need to be resolve from SP....will have SAM to look over it and see is that something he can do in SOFTWARE or this is a hardware problem. Thanks again....
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 01:07 PM   #5884
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun207 View Post
heres your other reply ( 5876 ) I don't drive exactly like that and I don't experience brake fading....
________________
I/we appreciate your help , but i know reuben is a very good and consistent driver , and he does'nt as you say " yake the brake to do a complete stop to cut the inside line " it was a very sharp corner , with no chance to let it roll arround the corner .. so i didnt really understand your comments ..

and as reuben said , there was a few there yesturday with brake issues ..
with me, my brake issues was another problem to add to the list !!
I was trying to say I don't have the brake problem when running a 1/8th on road track with brake issue....may be I don't use my brake ENOUGH to tell the different. And may be the way I drive, I don't use much brake...

I will gather some info and see what is the solution....
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 02:45 PM   #5885
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
I was trying to say I don't have the brake problem when running a 1/8th on road track with brake issue....may be I don't use my brake ENOUGH to tell the different. And may be the way I drive, I don't use much brake...

I will gather some info and see what is the solution....
Ive never seen the issue running 1/10th for the last year with the SP, but we have just started indoor season now, and I think it was very track specific - hard on the throttle onto the straight, and because there was no sweeper at the end, it was on the brakes as late as possible to slow the car enough to make the tight hairpin at the end, followed by another straight and hairpin.

I was loosing 0.3 roughly per lap becase I had to be on the brakes much sooner and softer to slow the car enough to take a tight fast line through the corner.

it was ok if you were on the brakes early and applied them slower, but applying them quickly and late and the brakes seemed to go soft for about 2-3ft meaning missing the apex.



thats an idea of the track, it was at the end of the 2 simultaneous straights.

Like I said, First time ive ever noticed a lack in brakes, it was also more noticable when the grip came up. And it might be the last one, as a week previous racing at another venue, using 100% brake and 25% reverse I had plenty of brakes.
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:02 PM   #5886
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,595
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Ran the Silver Arrow System last weekend with the Cirtix Slotless 2200KV motor.



Initial thoughts:
ESC is HUGE! But actually ran very cool to my surprise. I have to admit, i did not know what to expect from the Cirtix Slotless motor, but to my pleasant surprise, it was very torquey yet smooth.

Car:
Ofna Ultra GTP2E. The car is about 8 lbs so it is a beast. Ran the stock spur and a 17T pinion. (Stock was 14t)

Performance:
Previously, i had a Novak HV system with a 6.5 HV motor i borrowed from my E Revo. Although the HV system had much more torque off the line, the RIP from the Cirtix Slotless motor was very impressive. Infact, to my surprise, i ran out of GEAR! I could gear this system up probably another 4 teeth. I was temping at 109* all day. Driving against the other GT8 cars, with 2650kv motors with Tekin or mamba systems, the power was right there, just a little but lacking on the 170' straight. Nothing a few for teeth for gearing can fix.

Final Thoughts:
With the boom in 8th scale electric buggies hitting the offroad tracks in Socal, it is a no brainer it would eventually be hitting the Onroad scene as well. With the GT8 cars sprouting everywhere, the New Cirtix Slotless motors Hold their own. I will do another report on its performance in a couple of weeks when i run my GT8 car again at Surf City Raceway.
Thumbs up on Speedpassion's Big Bore motor and ESC. Definitely a goos system to go with.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:44 AM   #5887
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Posts: 417
Send a message via MSN to Bigger Brother
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
....how about a bigger capacitor..?
Is it just the braking power that the capacitor affects? My GT2.0 Pro only came with a small 2-capacitor board when I bought it (about a year ago). Was thinking about getting the 4-capacitor board that seems to come with the speedos now.....

Or does the capacitor affect anything else? I've seen the factory drivers (Marc, Elliott, Viktor etc) running with something else different.... again, is this just for braking feel?

Thanks
__________________
Oli Meggitt | London, UK
.:. Essex Winter Series .:. CML Racing .:. ToniSport .:. Zen Racing .:. Moorespeed RC .:. OTM Racing .:. RC Racing TV .:. RIDE R/C Scoreboards
Bigger Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:43 AM   #5888
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigger Brother View Post
Is it just the braking power that the capacitor affects? My GT2.0 Pro only came with a small 2-capacitor board when I bought it (about a year ago). Was thinking about getting the 4-capacitor board that seems to come with the speedos now.....

Or does the capacitor affect anything else? I've seen the factory drivers (Marc, Elliott, Viktor etc) running with something else different.... again, is this just for braking feel?

Thanks
If you asked those who attended IIC....Hara's Tekin, was using 4 capacitors (or 3) instead of the standard 1 capacitor. That was used because of the indoor tight carpet setup that required monster braking...

Speed Passion has the 4 caps version for the GT2 PRO version ESC simply because it was designed for MOD motor...however, with the Supercharger program used on stock motor, using the 4 caps version is not a bad idea.

We have drivers even running a pair of 4 caps for the open ESC 13.5 on carpet and use massive braking....however, it does help on braking, just a little faster on lap time.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:54 AM   #5889
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

I take it there is no issue with creating a bank of capacitors in parallel then provided the same 25v units are used? eg 4x 2200uf 25v rather than one...

Also the speed passion 1.5F super capacitor is out of stock and has been for some time, is this due back in stock at all?

I too was having the brake fade issue at the same track as the others,

Is there no software update that can aid the problem also?

Many thanks

Matt
mattsedgley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:56 AM   #5890
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsedgley View Post
I take it there is no issue with creating a bank of capacitors in parallel then provided the same 25v units are used? eg 4x 2200uf 25v rather than one...

Also the speed passion 1.5F super capacitor is out of stock and has been for some time, is this due back in stock at all?

I too was having the brake fade issue at the same track as the others,

Is there no software update that can aid the problem also?

Many thanks

Matt
The issue is reported to the software person incharge...if there is anything he can do it, it will be fix or improve on the next version.

The speed passion 1.5F super capacitor is discontinued.....use this.

New Option High Power Capacitor EXT98802-C01

http://www.speedpassion.net/us/produ...8802-C01&c=OPT
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:59 AM   #5891
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

This is my Serpent 960 @ I-Hobby Expo 2010....the true 1/8th On Road Racing machine...F1 of RC. Silver Arrow II ESC with Cirtix 2500kv motor powered with 4 cells of Speed Power 4600mah 35C Lipo saddle packs. This is with the SPEED PASSION Serpent 960 motor mount along with the Serpent 966 conversion kits (without their motor conversion parts). The Speed Passion Motor mount is alot more beefier then the Serpent carbon fiber version.



__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/

Last edited by Solara; 10-26-2010 at 03:34 PM.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:21 AM   #5892
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Solara, Many thanks for the information,

Can you elaborate further on what the capacitor is doing during a run on the car, essentially it's bridged accross the battery, does it do anything durning acceleration or is it only used during braking?

Also the standard cap on a 2.1 is 2200uf 25V the ones you are suggesting I presume are 470uf 16V four in parallel gives less capacity than the single 2200uf version?

does the voltage play any part? are they ever chgarged to a voltage over 8.4v?

Many thanks

Matt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
The issue is reported to the software person incharge...if there is anything he can do it, it will be fix or improve on the next version.

The speed passion 1.5F super capacitor is discontinued.....use this.

New Option High Power Capacitor EXT98802-C01
mattsedgley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 12:59 PM   #5893
Tech Regular
 
inconceivable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've been away from Speed Passion for a while (since my LP 1.5's - which are still running strong in my off road mod vehicles). Anyway, I'm really thinking of picking up the new EX for my 17.5 1/12th scale. Is the only way to get to the advanced features with the new LCD box ? The stock box does not allow changes to these upper settings, correct ? Thanks.
__________________
"And now the Matador shall dance with the blind shoe maker"
"America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed. - Eleanor Roosevelt, 1936"
inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 01:03 PM   #5894
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

the standard box can be used to alter all the 15 options HTH
mattsedgley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 01:06 PM   #5895
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Posts: 417
Send a message via MSN to Bigger Brother
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
If you asked those who attended IIC....Hara's Tekin, was using 4 capacitors (or 3) instead of the standard 1 capacitor. That was used because of the indoor tight carpet setup that required monster braking...

Speed Passion has the 4 caps version for the GT2 PRO version ESC simply because it was designed for MOD motor...however, with the Supercharger program used on stock motor, using the 4 caps version is not a bad idea.

We have drivers even running a pair of 4 caps for the open ESC 13.5 on carpet and use massive braking....however, it does help on braking, just a little faster on lap time.
What I'm trying to get at is simply, does the capacitor ONLY affect the braking power of the speedo?

If so, I won't need to change mine cos I've got plenty of brakes If, for example, it gives the boost profiles more power or something then obviously I'll look to change it out!

Thanks for the other info though
Oli
__________________
Oli Meggitt | London, UK
.:. Essex Winter Series .:. CML Racing .:. ToniSport .:. Zen Racing .:. Moorespeed RC .:. OTM Racing .:. RC Racing TV .:. RIDE R/C Scoreboards
Bigger Brother is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0