R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2010, 06:14 AM   #5056
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

how is the speedo on 1s 12scale with 10.5 motor
do you need a extra batery for servo speed.
and does it compeet to bd and tekins?
thanks
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:53 AM   #5057
Tech Addict
 
mlight13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Hiya Marcos, we found this as well, on smaller indoor tracks with additional 'mechanical' timing the 110 software runs more consistently and more importantly cooler than the 528 with SC turned off. Wonder if the SP guys have found this at all? (Trinity 10.5's BTW )
Has anyone else tried to run 528 with the turbo off similar to to the traditional firmware such as the 107 and 110? If so, how were the results and what are the correct settings? Thanks...
__________________
Mark
mlight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:00 AM   #5058
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,065
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Hello all. I just started running mod at my local track, and went with the speedpassion GT 2.0 pro for my speedo. I am running a 4.5, and have my speedo set at 0 timing advance, and also have it set at its most mild profile setting (forget what thats called... only had it a week). I chose those settings because i wanted a nice soft feel to the acceleration. I dont need it to be very agressive yet, as I get used to the 4.5. So I have two questions for you.

1.) Do I need to update any software or firmware? All I did was fire it up, calibrate it to my transmitter, and ran through the 10 or 12 settings with the included programing box, and vuala.

2.) What is the "initial brake" setting? Just an fyi, I run 100% brakes on the speedo, and dial them down to desired strength on my transmitter.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I started reading about 100 pages back, but quickly got lost in a sea of models and SP related things, and had no idea what i was reading... so i figured i would ask. Forgive me if this has been asked before.

-Cpt.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 03:29 PM   #5059
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Hello all. I just started running mod at my local track, and went with the speedpassion GT 2.0 pro for my speedo. I am running a 4.5, and have my speedo set at 0 timing advance, and also have it set at its most mild profile setting (forget what thats called... only had it a week). I chose those settings because i wanted a nice soft feel to the acceleration. I dont need it to be very agressive yet, as I get used to the 4.5. So I have two questions for you.

1.) Do I need to update any software or firmware? All I did was fire it up, calibrate it to my transmitter, and ran through the 10 or 12 settings with the included programing box, and vuala.

2.) What is the "initial brake" setting? Just an fyi, I run 100% brakes on the speedo, and dial them down to desired strength on my transmitter.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I started reading about 100 pages back, but quickly got lost in a sea of models and SP related things, and had no idea what i was reading... so i figured i would ask. Forgive me if this has been asked before.

-Cpt.
initial brake is the amount of braking you want when you first hit the brakes and asfar as the software without knowing whats on it i cant tell you if it needs upgrading hope this helps
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:29 PM   #5060
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,065
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr crum View Post
initial brake is the amount of braking you want when you first hit the brakes and asfar as the software without knowing whats on it i cant tell you if it needs upgrading hope this helps
I hear what you are saying about initial brakes, but the values then dont make sense.

For example, you cant set it to 100%.... so that you get 100% brakes right off the bat. That doesn't seem right . You can set it to "drag brake", and a few small % increments up to 40%.

still dont understand it.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 07:32 PM   #5061
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Has there ever been a race won on RCTech?
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
I hear what you are saying about initial brakes, but the values then dont make sense.

For example, you cant set it to 100%.... so that you get 100% brakes right off the bat. That doesn't seem right . You can set it to "drag brake", and a few small % increments up to 40%.

still dont understand it.
OK initial brake force is the amount of brakes applied when the throttle is located at neutral. So if you set it a 40% it will give you 40% of your brakes right away. Usually I have never set it to anything except "Drag Brake Force" because it would act as an e-brake rather than smooth drag brakes. Then adjust your drag brake force so you have some natural slow down to the car so you don't have to use the transmitter for a very small amount of brakes. Then the maximum brake force is the overall amount of braking supplied from the esc. So instead of being able to lock the wheels at full brake you can have it adjusted such as you are doing with your TX.

Hope that helps...

Also on the software if it is fresh from the factory the software you have is 205 and is fine for MOD. There is newer software available which refines 205, but 205 will be fine during the MOD learning process. You need the LCD programmer to update to the newer software.

-james
__________________
Speed Passion U.S.A. - Turtlemaster Racing
www.speedpasion.net
Anemic_SluG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:19 PM   #5062
Tech Master
 
RCHR Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WEST Coast for Life!
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlight13 View Post
Has anyone else tried to run 528 with the turbo off similar to to the traditional firmware such as the 107 and 110? If so, how were the results and what are the correct settings? Thanks...
I ran today with 528 and SC off. I also ran with SC on, and didnt really matter cause track is tight with no straitaway, so having it off was just fine. This WAS OFFROAD SHORT COURSE. GT Prostock 2.1 esc with SP 17.5 V3 motor. I was accused of cheating with a 13.5! Truck was faster than the comp and geared low. Truck is Kyosho Ultima SC. FDR used was 8.45 (24/78)

Started with recommended settings for 528 stock*, then lowered timing to "5" and turned off boost and set DDRS to 8. Ran strong !!!

Came out with the win and lapped the field twice.
__________________
Speed Passion USA Team / SpeedPower Lipos / Radio Control Hobbies and Raceway
RCHR Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:41 PM   #5063
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,490
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I'm just wondering if us Speedpassion drivers can expect any LIVE factory support while at Nats. well over a second off the pace and burnt up a motor and esc trying to find it.


btw, zero timing does not mean, smoother or lower power
__________________
#49, #25a, #91, #7, #12 the ones to watch.... UPDATE. #12 is your new AMA GNC #1

A Northwest Team of Positive actions
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:00 PM   #5064
Tech Addict
 
mlight13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCHR Racer View Post
I ran today with 528 and SC off. I also ran with SC on, and didnt really matter cause track is tight with no straitaway, so having it off was just fine. This WAS OFFROAD SHORT COURSE. GT Prostock 2.1 esc with SP 17.5 V3 motor. I was accused of cheating with a 13.5! Truck was faster than the comp and geared low. Truck is Kyosho Ultima SC. FDR used was 8.45 (24/78)

Started with recommended settings for 528 stock*, then lowered timing to "5" and turned off boost and set DDRS to 8. Ran strong !!!

Came out with the win and lapped the field twice.
Sounds good, but what about settings 13-15? Do these make a difference with the SC turned OFF in setting 12?
__________________
Mark
mlight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:15 AM   #5065
Tech Addict
 
StickyFingaz's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 12 (88%+)
Default

First experience filing an RMA... excellent service from Albert from KG in Illinois. Had an new item from the factory in no time.

Also, does anybody know what difference between the silver and black rotors are for mod? Thx.
__________________
Team Tamiya/TRF - Team KO PROPO - NorCal Hobbies
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:02 AM   #5066
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: teruel, spain
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minizmudejar View Post
hello, I have been burned a drive phase mosfets.....
I want buy internal mosfets to LPF 2.0 and LPF 1.1. Can somebody tell me a link or the reference number to buy the mosfets?
Thanks.
Any one knows to this answer?
minizmudejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 08:25 AM   #5067
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,754
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
First experience filing an RMA... excellent service from Albert from KG in Illinois. Had an new item from the factory in no time.

Also, does anybody know what difference between the silver and black rotors are for mod? Thx.
From what I have seen if you are using the same size rotor the Silver ones have stronger magnets and have more drag brake feel.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:09 AM   #5068
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,065
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemic_SluG View Post
Hope that helps...
Absolutley. It does...however, I still can't picture in my head how one would use that as a tuning tool... but I digress.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemic_SluG View Post
Also on the software if it is fresh from the factory the software you have is 205 and is fine for MOD. There is newer software available which refines 205, but 205 will be fine during the MOD learning process. You need the LCD programmer to update to the newer software.

-james
Awesome.. thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
btw, zero timing does not mean, smoother or lower power
I assume you are talking to me... what would you suggest with my 4.5 then? power delivery sure SEEMED smooth running the least agressive settings, but the motor was coming off pretty dang hot, and I wasn't running the car very hard at all.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:08 PM   #5069
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Absolutley. It does...however, I still can't picture in my head how one would use that as a tuning tool... but I digress.


Awesome.. thanks

I assume you are talking to me... what would you suggest with my 4.5 then? power delivery sure SEEMED smooth running the least agressive settings, but the motor was coming off pretty dang hot, and I wasn't running the car very hard at all.
We run esc timing on 15 degrees and DRSS on 5 or 6.
Lower timing gives more punch/torque.
If you getting hot its most likely overgeared.
we race mod with foam tyres so uaully roll out at around 22-25mm track dependant with a 4.5V2
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:30 PM   #5070
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,490
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post

I assume you are talking to me... what would you suggest with my 4.5 then? power delivery sure SEEMED smooth running the least agressive settings, but the motor was coming off pretty dang hot, and I wasn't running the car very hard at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
We run esc timing on 15 degrees and DRSS on 5 or 6.
Lower timing gives more punch/torque.
If you getting hot its most likely overgeared.
we race mod with foam tyres so uaully roll out at around 22-25mm track dependant with a 4.5V2
yea what he said,, but you can still run your DRSS at 2 or 3 to give you that easy feel out of the corners
__________________
#49, #25a, #91, #7, #12 the ones to watch.... UPDATE. #12 is your new AMA GNC #1

A Northwest Team of Positive actions
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0