R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2010, 04:34 AM   #4801
Tech Rookie
 
razor41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 15
Thumbs up Speed Passion GT2.1 Capacitor

Just thought I would share some findings with everyone.

I drive a Tamiya 416WE with a GM 13.5T motor and recently got a Speed Passion GT 2.1 (previously had and LRP SPX). Now my car not only looks very sexy but is alot faster down the straight and has a better power band, punchy but smooth.

I did notice though how weak the brakes are. They work, yes, but they arnt as good as the SPX I had. I tried all ESC settings and combinations with no sucsess, messing with the EPA on the transmitter, re-calibrate ESC ect ect.. I use an LRP 5900mah 50C Lipo so I dont think its a bad supply. The SPX on the same car/setup/electronics has much better brakes even on its low settings.

I noticed my GT 2.1 came with a single large capacitor. On the Speed Passion web site it pictures a unit with 4 small capacitors so I replaced it with the optional 'high power capacitor' which I assume is the same thing, looks the same anyway.

This made and *EPIC* difference to the brakes and low down power for that matter. The brakes now lock up the wheels with ease, I've have had to tone them down slightly now.

Has anyone else had their GT 2.1 come with 1 large capacitor instead of the 4 small ones?
__________________
X-Factory UK
Exotek - Vampire - Tekin - Tuning Haus - Hiro Seiko - Avid
razor41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 01:00 PM   #4802
Tech Adept
 
altreyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 139
Default

I'm using this one (look at the photo is the Super Capacitor for 6cells/2sLiPo) on my 2,1 with a 10,5V3 SP. For me is working really well. I'm coming from SPX too and i have a SXX SS too. For many things at the moment i prefer to use the SP 2,1 and one of the things that i like is the brake.
A friend of mine is racing with the original capacitor and what i saw (same car, same setup) my car is having temperature more low and punch and brake is much better, so i think the Super capacitor is helping me on this.


Also congratulations to Speedpassion for another World, incredible job.


__________________
Yokomo BD7 - Yokomo R12C
Orca-Gm120
Reedy-Lrp
Helios EX10
altreyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 04:08 PM   #4803
Tech Master
 
RCHR Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WEST Coast for Life!
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by altreyx View Post
I'm using this one (look at the photo is the Super Capacitor for 6cells/2sLiPo) on my 2,1 with a 10,5V3 SP. For me is working really well. I'm coming from SPX too and i have a SXX SS too. For many things at the moment i prefer to use the SP 2,1 and one of the things that i like is the brake.
A friend of mine is racing with the original capacitor and what i saw (same car, same setup) my car is having temperature more low and punch and brake is much better, so i think the Super capacitor is helping me on this.


Also congratulations to Speedpassion for another World, incredible job.



The SP cap for 6cell 1500f is discontinued. But the super 4barrel cap is still available an works well. We will hopefully see a new version soon. SP always satisfies our top performing racing needs!
__________________
Speed Passion USA Team / SpeedPower Lipos / Radio Control Hobbies and Raceway
RCHR Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 08:33 PM   #4804
Tech Elite
 
tha Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: H-Town TX
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 100 (99%+)
Default GT2.1 for 12scale

hi guys i wanted to set up my 12scale again and i wanted to get the 2.1sp but im not sure that it will work with a one cell lipo ....does anyone know if it will or what all do i need to get to get it to work
tha Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 03:50 AM   #4805
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

The 4 cap option capacitir board works great. alternatively the TOP Racing super cap is a good choice.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 08:02 AM   #4806
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha Beast View Post
hi guys i wanted to set up my 12scale again and i wanted to get the 2.1sp but im not sure that it will work with a one cell lipo ....does anyone know if it will or what all do i need to get to get it to work
i run 2.0 in my wgt and i have to run receiver pack or u could run a booster
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 03:26 PM   #4807
Tech Elite
 
tha Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: H-Town TX
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 100 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr crum View Post
i run 2.0 in my wgt and i have to run receiver pack or u could run a booster
your running 1s lipo right ??? so then just a receiver pack and that will do the trick? and i need the 7.4 volt receiver pack right??? and would that mean that there will be 11volts would be in the receiver??
tha Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 03:31 PM   #4808
Tech Elite
 
LMRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rome, GA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha Beast View Post
your running 1s lipo right ??? so then just a receiver pack and that will do the trick? and i need the 7.4 volt receiver pack right??? and would that mean that there will be 11volts would be in the receiver??
No, because you would be linking the batterys in parallel instead of in series, you'd only be adding to the capacity of the battery not the voltage
LMRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 03:35 PM   #4809
Tech Elite
 
tha Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: H-Town TX
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 100 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMRacing View Post
No, because you would be linking the batterys in parallel instead of in series, you'd only be adding to the capacity of the battery not the voltage
how would i do that??
tha Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 10:18 AM   #4810
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tha Beast View Post
your running 1s lipo right ??? so then just a receiver pack and that will do the trick? and i need the 7.4 volt receiver pack right??? and would that mean that there will be 11volts would be in the receiver??
yes running 1s i would recommend 6.6life receiver pack little less voltage some servos dont like that high voltage cause when u charge the 7.4 its actually 8.4 receiver can handle 9.6 (spektrum) but the servo can be damaged with too much voltage
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 01:08 PM   #4811
Tech Fanatic
 
shesha's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 826
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to shesha
Default

Hi .. I have been out of the electric scene for some time now, well the last time I was running electric I was racing Team Associated RC10L Pan car if my memory serves right and running Novak ESC with Brushed Reedy Motors, need to catch up so been doing some reading now...

A friend of mine asked me a question in regards to running a Speed Passion ESC with a Trinity Motor DU something..... will they work together specifically the question is about the sensor cable.

Anyone car to advise me on this one plz.

Thx
__________________
R.C.C.C.K - Team Kuwait
shesha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 02:11 PM   #4812
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bournemouth.UK
Posts: 59
Default

Hi guys, im also suffering weak brakes with my gt 2 pro with 4t v3 and 10.5 v3

they are too progresive, im after more aggresive brakes and just cant seem to get them to be sharp with just a little movement with the throttle stick

ive also tried all the esc settings but from what i can make out if the initial brakes are at a max of 40% surely they never are going to be blinding with little stick movement, they will be 40% of the max brakes or am i wrong ?

ive been reading the above posts regarding capacitors, from the start i run with the following spec capacitor

105 dec c
25v
2200uf

its a cylinder type one as used by reinhard..could this spec capacitor be the issue..

ive found what is labelled as super active capacitor but as it looks like the one that came with my esc i dont know if its the same as what i have,

what capacitor comes with esc 2.0 pro gt ????

the one ive found is pt no sp98801std-c01 (is this the supplied gt pro one)
is this one the same sp98801-c01 or the upgraded version

i just want better brakes as i have to start braking too early to get into a hairpin, markwhen others can cream me on braking

cheers in advance

mark
mark williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 02:15 PM   #4813
Tech Regular
 
qcrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: IA Quad Cities
Posts: 306
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Shesha, I've run my SP ESC with SP, Trinity and Novak motors without a problem They all take the same sensor cable.
__________________
Schumacher Cars
Speed Passion Powered
qcrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 03:01 PM   #4814
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark williams View Post
Hi guys, im also suffering weak brakes with my gt 2 pro with 4t v3 and 10.5 v3

they are too progresive, im after more aggresive brakes and just cant seem to get them to be sharp with just a little movement with the throttle stick

ive also tried all the esc settings but from what i can make out if the initial brakes are at a max of 40% surely they never are going to be blinding with little stick movement, they will be 40% of the max brakes or am i wrong ?

ive been reading the above posts regarding capacitors, from the start i run with the following spec capacitor

105 dec c
25v
2200uf

its a cylinder type one as used by reinhard..could this spec capacitor be the issue..

ive found what is labelled as super active capacitor but as it looks like the one that came with my esc i dont know if its the same as what i have,

what capacitor comes with esc 2.0 pro gt ????

the one ive found is pt no sp98801std-c01 (is this the supplied gt pro one)
is this one the same sp98801-c01 or the upgraded version

i just want better brakes as i have to start braking too early to get into a hairpin, markwhen others can cream me on braking

cheers in advance

mark
I have the same problem with a V2 Pro and a SPV3 17.5 with the standard cap it came with.
Barger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 03:26 PM   #4815
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barger View Post
I have the same problem with a V2 Pro and a SPV3 17.5 with the standard cap it came with.
Are you running brake force setting at 100% as well as reverse force to 100% ?!?!?
Make sure to recalibrate radio after making changes.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0