R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2010, 11:22 AM   #4141
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_kid9 View Post
For a 4.0, start at DRRS to 5, esc timing at max (26.25?), middle on the motor, and FDR at 8.9. 205 software.
i wouldnt run max timing with a mod motor 15 degress is the max timing that i would run , the 4.0 motor makes so much power that you dont need all of that timing. I tested it in the past and it wasnt any faster , just created alot more heat.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 11:58 AM   #4142
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Default

The increase in timing takes away bottom and makes the car more drivable and linear. My car comes off the track at 135* or so, so it doesn't seem to generate too much heat. Rheinard, Wilck, etc have their sec's set like that.
the_kid9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 12:25 PM   #4143
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Area 11

There's more about This new SP firmware that while it's still in beta,

that would be Area 11 Shawn Palmer talk's about, it's really good.

no one knows yet about Area 11, but Shawn might have been there....
or seen one...

With Area 11 we might go back time.

yes, it's a Log ,...

On Area 11 we will be able to know thing's such RPM log and Max RPM on load.

This has been uncovered story that Speed Passion GT 2 is a living creatures.
it knows what is your your speed currently because the ESC can read your RPM to decide when Super Charge is engage, under load condition.
it will record your v3 rpm with logger.

and they will sent all information to the future of Speed Passion PC Interface

it's in the Area 11
i believe Shawn Palmer Knows the secrets.

and we all want it to uncover it all, The Secrets of Area 11.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 01:52 PM   #4144
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
i wouldnt run max timing with a mod motor 15 degress is the max timing that i would run , the 4.0 motor makes so much power that you dont need all of that timing. I tested it in the past and it wasnt any faster , just created alot more heat.
I can tell you for a fact that you can max out the esc timing on the V3 4.0T motor. At the New Zealand Nats I qualified 2nd (with 3 top Australian racers competing) in Touring Modified using max timing on the esc, 205g software and a gear ratio of 7.8:1. The motor was coming off around 70 degrees. You must understand this was on a huge track so the gear ratio will probably not be right for you. I would start at 8.7:1 or so.

More timing makes the car feel smoother down low but more mid range/top speed.

Mike
ixlr8nz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 02:10 PM   #4145
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,592
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Most of us here in Cali run 26* timing with the 205 as well.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 03:58 PM   #4146
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Eastern, England, UK
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
This is a bloody S h i t show going on here guys..

Discuss SP products... but SP fan boys please keep it real. SP users are using SP with HW soft ware.. get over it.

The software is the same or similar.. Deal with it!
The hardware is the same or similar.. Deal with it!
People are mixing ESC,LED,LCD,and softwares with success... Deal with it!

Bottom line get over it and help when you can help.. It should not be us against them or visaversa.

Fact is i can spend 200$ for a charger with a trinity sticker on it. or i can pay 60$ with a different sticker on it from China. Both chargers do the same thing... Lets not try to blow smoke up each others arses... Lets just face facts and work together


You can't tell people to get out of a SP thread because they use a HW LCD or HW software.. it would be similar to saying over on a Losi xxx-cr forum that if you talk about using proline tires on JC rims instead of losi rims and tires you should be censored or kicked out. You cannot crap on a guy on a losi thread if he is using AE front spindles ect ect... OR a proline or jc body.. its silly and most of the people on here would not expect that kind of moderation.

FACT is HW and SP seem to have a great product..... Honda/Acura. Toyota/Lexus... ECT ECT call it what u want...

HOORAY ............. someone talking common sense

I totally agree with your post.

AND has anyone heard from the "main SP man" Mr Palmer on this thread lately??
__________________
Mi4LP / Speed Passion GT Pro V 2.1 Pro Stock / GM 10.5 Pro Stock
Cat SX / Speed Passion GT Pro V 2.0 / Speed Passion 6.5 V2
Mugen MBX6T / Ninja BO1A
baldman666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 10:05 PM   #4147
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

hey guys anybody running sc s/w on 1s single cell from what ive found everything maxed and still no performance at all
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 05:05 AM   #4148
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

guys, i searched all the forum but couldn't get a straight answer for my gt2.0 pro esc
1- can i use a brushed motor with this?
2- if yes, how i connect it?
3- which software should be installed and which settings should be selected.
thanks in advance.
khaledome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:29 AM   #4149
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khaledome View Post
guys, i searched all the forum but couldn't get a straight answer for my gt2.0 pro esc
1- can i use a brushed motor with this?
2- if yes, how i connect it?
3- which software should be installed and which settings should be selected.
thanks in advance.
do you have instruction manual it should tell you everything if you dont i will look at mine and post it for you
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:46 AM   #4150
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

in the manual says nothing about the brushed motor.
there is only a sentence that saying in the brushed motors it supports 5-6 cells nimh or 2 cell lipo. nothing more.
khaledome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 07:24 AM   #4151
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khaledome View Post
in the manual says nothing about the brushed motor.
there is only a sentence that saying in the brushed motors it supports 5-6 cells nimh or 2 cell lipo. nothing more.
i agree with you Khaeledome about brushed motor abilities on SP GT 2.x.

it was disabled by it's firmware,

i have been asking adam and shawn about it previously.

and the reason why Brushed Mode is disabled by SP Firmware, they
never answer it until now,
but now we understand that Brushed Mode Firmware is replaced with
a complex method of Super Charge. ( it's about how the Memory will Fit on SP GT 2.xx stucture )

any way Speed Passion capable to release Brushed Firmware for GT 2.xx
may be just like separated :
- Firmware Mod ver 205Gxx
- Firmware Stock
- Firmware Super Charge

So why not
- Firmware Brushed
because Brushed Firmware is simpler.
and that's the secrets

well too bad right now GT 2.xx is not available yet firmware brushed mode.
i do still like brushed motor ( memories )
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:00 AM   #4152
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
Most of us here in Cali run 26* timing with the 205 as well.
My bad I never used the 205 those settings that I used were to the older software
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:04 AM   #4153
Tech Fanatic
 
jw_rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 887
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am using the 205 in my GT 2.0 and it does perform vey well for me with the timing advance at high settings, very smooth off the bottom with a lot of mid pull and good top end.
jw_rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:03 AM   #4154
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
for mod ,depending on the track size i would start with this set up:

1-1
2-3
3-4
4-6
5-3
6-1
7-1
8-1
9-5
10-1
with the SP 4.0 I would start around a 9.25 fdr to a 9.5 fdr.

Leave the motor timing in the middle (default)

hope this helps
Thanks Dude!
__________________
TEM doesn't advertise for free! Does anyone else notice that a LOT of companies are not even packaging decals with their products?
TEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 11:31 AM   #4155
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,177
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEM View Post
Thanks Dude!
Fyi those settings are with the original software not the 205
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0