R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2010, 08:45 PM   #3721
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,591
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlight13 View Post
I will eventually play around with the Supercharger 230/231 software, but what is the best non-supercharger firmware for a 17.5 Touring Car? Thanks...
Personally i liked the 09107 the best. I would gear my car at 3.2 and temp out at about 125* F after a 7 minute race at a track 170x70 with my Cyclone TC. I miss those days.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 11:12 PM   #3722
Tech Addict
 
mlight13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
Personally i liked the 09107 the best. I would gear my car at 3.2 and temp out at about 125* F after a 7 minute race at a track 170x70 with my Cyclone TC. I miss those days.
Geez....3.2???? That seems so low! I was guessing like 4.5 or so. If I do install the 230 firmware with supercharger...what FDR would be recommended for an outdoor parking lot asphalt track small/medium size and sometimes technical?

Also, what are some settings that have worked well so far for the 230 software in a 17.5 motor? I am looking for a good "real world" example of where I should start with all the values. My motor will be at 0* timing since it's not adjustable. It's a XERUN 2500kv motor. I have never tuned a brushless esc or motor as this will be my first time. I usually don't have the time to mess with settings at the track as the tracks by me are only temporary ones set up on race days in parking lots. Thanks for any help that can be provided.
__________________
Mark

Last edited by mlight13; 04-08-2010 at 12:17 AM.
mlight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 12:49 AM   #3723
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,591
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlight13 View Post
Geez....3.2???? That seems so low! I was guessing like 4.5 or so. If I do install the 230 firmware with supercharger...what FDR would be recommended for an outdoor parking lot asphalt track small/medium size and sometimes technical?

Also, what are some settings that have worked well so far for the 230 software in a 17.5 motor? I am looking for a good "real world" example of where I should start with all the values. My motor will be at 0* timing since it's not adjustable. It's a XERUN 2500kv motor. I have never tuned a brushless esc or motor as this will be my first time. I usually don't have the time to mess with settings at the track as the tracks by me are only temporary ones set up on race days in parking lots. Thanks for any help that can be provided.
With the 230 i would be about 6.0 to 6.2. As far as settings, well, it really comes down to preference as now there are so many variables. for Parkinglot tracks in San Diego, i would start with this set up and adjust accordingly.
4/8
9/7
12/8
13/7
14/2
15/3
TAKE THE TIME to get to know your car and software. It will be the difference between winning and losing, Blowing up ur stuff and not blowing up. There is no magic set up so know what i gave you is a general setting. And yes, 3.2 is what i geared at the San Diego tracks as well.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:28 AM   #3724
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default Gt2 pro sensorless ??

I have a GT2 pro, can it be run sensorless. I want to run a 10.5 motor sensorless in my wet car. If it does run sensorless how do you set it up. thanks for any advise
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 04:47 AM   #3725
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
I have a GT2 pro, can it be run sensorless. I want to run a 10.5 motor sensorless in my wet car. If it does run sensorless how do you set it up. thanks for any advise
If you run it sensorless you cannot have any benefit of the new softwares (110,107 and supercharged beta)
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 05:59 AM   #3726
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
If you run it sensorless you cannot have any benefit of the new softwares (110,107 and supercharged beta)
Thats ok Im not bothered about out right speed as its going in my wet car, Can I use any motor with it in sensorless mode or do I have to buy a sensorless motor ??? Im a bit lost with this
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 06:43 AM   #3727
Tech Champion
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
Thats ok Im not bothered about out right speed as its going in my wet car, Can I use any motor with it in sensorless mode or do I have to buy a sensorless motor ??? Im a bit lost with this
yes can run sensoreless with any motor ..
__________________
Kuala Terengganu Rc Club Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=wall&gid=357083332025
smilekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 06:47 AM   #3728
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys..

Can someone post or PM me a location that has the LCD USB program box? I'd like to upgrade my software but can find them instock anywhere..
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:56 AM   #3729
Tech Addict
 
mlight13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 675
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
With the 230 i would be about 6.0 to 6.2. As far as settings, well, it really comes down to preference as now there are so many variables. for Parkinglot tracks in San Diego, i would start with this set up and adjust accordingly.
4/8
9/7
12/8
13/7
14/2
15/3
TAKE THE TIME to get to know your car and software. It will be the difference between winning and losing, Blowing up ur stuff and not blowing up. There is no magic set up so know what i gave you is a general setting. And yes, 3.2 is what i geared at the San Diego tracks as well.
Thanks for the help. Maybe after I get this thing all set up, you can help me set up my actual car, the Cyclone S. If I am still having trouble with the ESC setup, I will head up to one of your OC Circuit races and ask for some help, if you don't mind. Thanks again...
__________________
Mark
mlight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:04 PM   #3730
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smilekt View Post
yes can run sensoreless with any motor ..
I assume I just solder the three wires to the motor and leave the sensor wire off and thats it ????
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 03:14 PM   #3731
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,591
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlight13 View Post
Thanks for the help. Maybe after I get this thing all set up, you can help me set up my actual car, the Cyclone S. If I am still having trouble with the ESC setup, I will head up to one of your OC Circuit races and ask for some help, if you don't mind. Thanks again...
NP Mark, hit me up anytime. I don't think you will have any issues. I just uploaded the 231 Software to one of the local racers yesterday and 3 cars took only 10 minutes tops with set up and esc reset.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 12:16 AM   #3732
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,815
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default GT2.0 Pro GT2.0 LPF

Well I Finally got my hands on my desired ESCs.
Got a GT2.0 LPF and GT2.0 LPF

GT2.0 Pro is paired with a Novak Ballistic 8.5t
E4FS Chassi, which is the best all around firmware for it?
Medium Sized track or large track.

GT2.0 LPF is paired with a Novak Ballistic 10.5
E4RS Chassi, which is the best all around firmware for it?
Small Drift trac, throttle needs to be smooth.

Next question is:
Earlier in the thread someone mentioned 9107 is the best non turbo firmware or what they preferre. I don't see a 9107 but i see a 91107 firmware.

Some firmware have STOCK and some do not, what designation does this have ?

What do the letters a_T c_t mean ?
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 09:54 AM   #3733
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 479
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
If you run it sensorless you cannot have any benefit of the new softwares (110,107 and supercharged beta)
Can any1 cfm tat 110, 107 and supercharger software cannot run on sensorless? If so, what is the best software for sensorless stock motors ?
ronaldo-1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 11:13 AM   #3734
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Offroad guy here,

*ducks*

I just bought an FT B4 from another member here on the board, and it came with a SpeedPassion LPF GT 2.0 (blue), and I know ziltch about it. Actually...I know ziltch about all of these new ESC's, as I've been outta the RC game for many many years now, probably near 15.

Anyway, I have a few questions. First, I'll be running a Losi 17.5 BL motor, will this be a problem? Second, I don't have a sensor cable, do I need one with a SpeedPassion connector on one end and a Losi connector on the other, or are they all universal? Also, it didn't come with a receiver cable, but the seller is supposed to be sending this to me...but where on the speedo does it plug in? I don't really see a spot for a receiver connector?

And finally...the seller is also supposed to be sending me the program card, will I be able to tell using that what software version I have installed on my speedo?

edit -Oops, sorry one more question, what is FDR?

I'm sorry for all the newbie questions from this offroader, but the onroad crowd seems to be more knowledgable on the SpeedPassion stuff. I promise I'll leave after I get my answers.
Burl Swift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 11:16 PM   #3735
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldo-1234 View Post
Can any1 cfm tat 110, 107 and supercharger software cannot run on sensorless? If so, what is the best software for sensorless stock motors ?
I didn't say that you cannot run on sensorless with 110 & 107.You can do it if you want but your car will slow like a snail.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0