R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2010, 08:12 PM   #3181
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default Supercharged?

I Ran my first race with the new software and it was not what I had hoped. I tried everything as far as gearing and timing. I have both a Tekin and Mamba and they are both far better. I won't give up on Speedpassion just yet but the program has to get better if they want them to be hot sellers.
latemodel13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 08:19 PM   #3182
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 526
Default

Well I had a club meeting today and I can say the car was very fast. We had the nationals here a few weeks ago and the best lap in 13.5 was 21.7. I did a 21.6 today!!!!! My race time was only 1 sec off the fastest ever too.

I used the following settings on our huge track:

Xray T2008
Novak 13.5 old version
gear ratio 4.0:1

AMTS Timing 7 degrees
DRRS Max
Boost Max
Punch setting 2
Motor temp around 70 degrees

I think the important thing is to have the AMTS setting quite low.

I do have one problem though:

If I hit a curb from time to time the throttle position changes. This is very frustrating and happened in the final. After I hit the curb the car ran slowly (felt like half throttle). When I reset the ESC it is all good again.

Has anyone had this happen before? I realise I may be able to fix this by setting full throttle at less than a full pull of the trigger but dont really want to do that yet.

regards
Michael Jones
ixlr8nz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 08:53 PM   #3183
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,747
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixlr8nz View Post
Well I had a club meeting today and I can say the car was very fast. We had the nationals here a few weeks ago and the best lap in 13.5 was 21.7. I did a 21.6 today!!!!! My race time was only 1 sec off the fastest ever too.

I used the following settings on our huge track:

Xray T2008
Novak 13.5 old version
gear ratio 4.0:1

AMTS Timing 7 degrees
DRRS Max
Boost Max
Punch setting 2
Motor temp around 70 degrees

I think the important thing is to have the AMTS setting quite low.

I do have one problem though:

If I hit a curb from time to time the throttle position changes. This is very frustrating and happened in the final. After I hit the curb the car ran slowly (felt like half throttle). When I reset the ESC it is all good again.

Has anyone had this happen before? I realise I may be able to fix this by setting full throttle at less than a full pull of the trigger but dont really want to do that yet.

regards
Michael Jones
its recommended to set the speedo with the EPA at 100, then set your epa to 110/120 whatever your radio goes too. Newer software seem to be more sensitive to triggering full throttle.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 10:29 PM   #3184
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

After the first race day with the new s/w I feel that it is definetly better than before but I need to get it tuned in more properly. Our track has only a 75ft straight with a sweeper at both ends and with a 17.5 geared at a 7.38fdr it seemed that the charger didn't come in till 2/3 the way down the straight even with the delay off and the start rpm at 4000, I guess I just need to drop a few more teeth to get it to come in earlier. I tried dropping timing in the esc and it got worse, next week i'll try dropping motor timing to see if that helps, but when I first installed it today I had less motor timing and it was a SNAIL but the setting were as shawn recomended. Looking foward to hearing other peoples experiences with the new s/w.
Gwoodrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 10:54 PM   #3185
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixlr8nz View Post
Well I had a club meeting today and I can say the car was very fast. We had the nationals here a few weeks ago and the best lap in 13.5 was 21.7. I did a 21.6 today!!!!! My race time was only 1 sec off the fastest ever too.

I used the following settings on our huge track:

Xray T2008
Novak 13.5 old version
gear ratio 4.0:1

AMTS Timing 7 degrees
DRRS Max
Boost Max
Punch setting 2
Motor temp around 70 degrees

I think the important thing is to have the AMTS setting quite low.

I do have one problem though:

If I hit a curb from time to time the throttle position changes. This is very frustrating and happened in the final. After I hit the curb the car ran slowly (felt like half throttle). When I reset the ESC it is all good again.

Has anyone had this happen before? I realise I may be able to fix this by setting full throttle at less than a full pull of the trigger but dont really want to do that yet.

regards
Michael Jones
This has happened to me also. In my case it was a failed "cold" solder joint both times.

Just a thought?

Rob.........
__________________
*Restructuring* :)
Robio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:23 PM   #3186
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,492
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwoodrc View Post
After the first race day with the new s/w I feel that it is definetly better than before but I need to get it tuned in more properly. Our track has only a 75ft straight with a sweeper at both ends and with a 17.5 geared at a 7.38fdr it seemed that the charger didn't come in till 2/3 the way down the straight even with the delay off and the start rpm at 4000, I guess I just need to drop a few more teeth to get it to come in earlier. I tried dropping timing in the esc and it got worse, next week i'll try dropping motor timing to see if that helps, but when I first installed it today I had less motor timing and it was a SNAIL but the setting were as shawn recomended. Looking foward to hearing other peoples experiences with the new s/w.
just a guess has i haven't run it yet, but i would think you would want the start rpm higher, dumping to much timing to soon will make it slower, i least i think it does. I believe thats why the other poster found it was better to lower the timing in the esc. i also think you would want to have some motor timing, all just a guess on my part.
__________________
#49, #25a, #91, #7, #12 the ones to watch.... UPDATE. #12 is your new AMA GNC #1

A Northwest Team of Positive actions
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:43 PM   #3187
Tech Fanatic
 
Taman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GC, Aust
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Hi,
I was under the impression that Marc Reinhard etc use this esc so I would assume this esc would be equal to any other esc in this performance range, would this be a fair assumtion? Only asking as I'm trying to decide if I should buy the SP GT Pro

thanks
Taman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:46 PM   #3188
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 526
Default

Mikexray: thanks, ill give it a go

Rob: thanks, I will resolder all my joints just in case.


thanks guys and good luck.
Michael Jones
ixlr8nz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:49 PM   #3189
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taman View Post
Hi,
I was under the impression that Marc Reinhard etc use this esc so I would assume this esc would be equal to any other esc in this performance range, would this be a fair assumtion? Only asking as I'm trying to decide if I should buy the SP GT Pro

thanks
That would be a fair assumption. I think it's a fine piece of equipment. I'm pretty sure they're not shooting for second best.

Rob........
__________________
*Restructuring* :)
Robio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:59 PM   #3190
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixlr8nz View Post
Mikexray: thanks, ill give it a go

Rob: thanks, I will resolder all my joints just in case.


thanks guys and good luck.
Michael Jones
Michael, your welcome.

Hey, let us know if that solves it. Or you could just not hit any curbing I never do

One of the times it happened I did'nt notice the loose connection. Recalibrated, and went back out. Same as you after a hit I had about half punch and green lights flashing. Found the bad connection after looking closer.

Hope that solves it for you.

Take care, Rob....
__________________
*Restructuring* :)
Robio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 01:40 AM   #3191
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

For those not noticing performance difference between the beta and old stock firmware. What I did, was downgrade to an older version, then re upgrade to new version but don't calibrate it.

Tried it again today, settled on a 6.82 FDR for 17.5T with the older version of the Team Orion Vortex motor. After a 5min race the motor was around 75 degrees, on a Sunny Aussie day. Used a heat sink with no fan. Settings were as follow:
"DRRS" Start Mode: Level IX
"AMTS" Timing: 11.25degrees
Neutral Range: 6%
12:5
13:1
14:1
15:3

With this new software, the top end was I think the same as the tekins but was lacking in punch. Will run this again on Tuesday night and may try other settings and with a DUO1.

ixlr8nz:
Yes the throttle position problem did happen to me, but only once and I don't think I hit something really hard as well. What I did was turn it on then off and then switch ti back on again. When I did this, I hit stuff so hard my battery moved a little in the tape and the throttle position never changed again. But I also have my throttle epa set to 130%.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 03:00 AM   #3192
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stokka View Post
In Vista/Windows 7 copy the files to the speedpassion folder as described.

First time you run the program right click the SpeedPassion program and choose "Run as administrator". Then the database would rebuild.
THANKS STOKKA!
Now it works, if you happen to Florence offer a good bottle of Chianti
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 03:23 AM   #3193
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone tried the new software yet with 10.5? What settings did you use? I'm struggling to get it to not cook motors. Running tc indoors on carpet. Med size track. Lrp x12 motor geared at 7.0
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 03:56 AM   #3194
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjh28 View Post
Will the current LCD Program Card be sufficient with the new software, or should I wait for the new one to be released?

Will the Hobbywing Unit work or does it have to be the Speedpassion one?

Does anyone know where you can buy the 12g wire in the coulours that come with the GT2.0? I need to rewire an ESC and want to have these colours to better differentiate the different phases of the motor and the battery.
I'm in AUS, but prepared to buy from OS.

Thanks.
Anyone with answers to these??
All help will be much appreciated.
__________________
He who dies with the most toys wins, if it's a tie, then it's he with the best.
sjh28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 04:03 AM   #3195
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjh28 View Post
Anyone with answers to these??
All help will be much appreciated.
I'm using the hobbywing LCD to upgrade and it's working fine. But to adjust the settings for the beta version you need to use the plastic led setting card. For the wires, I searched "Speed passion" on the world's most famous online bidding site and I found the three colored 12AWG wires you were looking for.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0