R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2010, 03:11 AM   #2656
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
New Software

There's new software like above they includes Overall calculation.
The mix of those kind software with Speed Passion easiness.
will be Powerful.

so now speedpassion didn't lag of knowledge.
Don't worry Irgo, as GM-racing is/was also distributed by Schumacher/Schumacher-USA the software developers will be well aware of how good the GM software is. I'm sure the next generation software will have some of the best innovations included.
Rocking Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:38 AM   #2657
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FIVE 7 View Post
Hey Adam,

Any idea if the new firmware will work with a 12th Scale, 17.5, 1S LiPo car? Better then the 323 or 312? I know, I said the dreaded word, "1S"....sorry. Been playin around with timming and gearing and seeing as how the Nemisis motors don"t seem to like timming, I have set my timming to zero with a little better results. I am now going to try setting the ESC LPF timming down from 26 to 22 and then gear up a tooth or 2 to see if that helps.

Any thoughts.....

Thanks,

Brent
I've been telling people for over a year you'll get more from a couple teeth on your pinion, over some static timing in your motor. Nobody believes me until they try it. So I think you on the right path.
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 06:31 AM   #2658
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Aruba
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to Pica
Default Super Capacitor

Adam,

For the mod 3.5T V3 Sp Motor,

can I use two super capacitor 4-6cell on my setup?
Also add a high voltage fan for the ESC GT 2.0 Pro?

For the 9.5T v3 can I use the 107, or 110

Thanks in advance
Pica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 07:33 AM   #2659
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I've been telling people for over a year you'll get more from a couple teeth on your pinion, over some static timing in your motor. Nobody believes me until they try it. So I think you on the right path.
Higher FDR would be great starting point.


Adam, are you still with Speed Passion ?

Who will be in Tune here Directly from Speed Passion for Worlds ?
http://www.speedpassion.net/en/contactus.asp
__________________
Quark Force

Last edited by irgo; 02-25-2010 at 09:19 AM.
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:23 AM   #2660
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I'm running 110 with a 10.5 and I didn't really find it made the motor too hot. With moderate motor timing (duo 1 middle hole) and ESC timing on either of the top two settings it got a little warm but you could feel it was over timed so it was pretty obvious that running 5 mins would be trouble. You just need to be conservative with your gearing and test each setting thoroughly.

If the new software is anything like the tekin we'll be gearing our 10.5s lower than mod
110 is suppose to be cooler then 107...and I was referring to my prototype software that we are still testing, that has TURBO, BOOST, TIMING ADVANCE....by alot. Alot more then 110. Thats why it can be HOT if the AMTS was set higher then 6 (18.50)

Yes...+1 about get rid of the Nemisis....LOL
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:12 AM   #2661
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Can anybody tell me if a lpf v1.1 speedo will function okay with 1s mod?

Or do I need to budget for a new speedo?
The motor limit is quoted as 4t for 4.8V, but I'm hoping to get away with 3.5T with the lower voltage.

will be running a rx pack.


Thanks
tortoise 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:47 AM   #2662
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,042
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tortoise 1 View Post
Can anybody tell me if a lpf v1.1 speedo will function okay with 1s mod?

Or do I need to budget for a new speedo?
The motor limit is quoted as 4t for 4.8V, but I'm hoping to get away with 3.5T with the lower voltage.

will be running a rx pack.


Thanks
Nope...not for V1.1.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 04:49 PM   #2663
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Got sand? View Post
I have this motor(still new in box) which i've seen advertised as 6000kv and 450watts.Is this true?The rating seems high for a 7.5 motor, also what are the differences in the Offroad motors compared to the other Competition 2.0 motors?Other than the cans being of a closed design I haven't been able to find any info.This motor will be going in a monster truck along with a GT 2.0 LPF or GT 2.0 pro and 2 cell lipo so any suggestions on which esc and/or settings would help too.
I don't have an esc yet, would the LPF work or is it for stock class motors?I am a noob so bare with me, still trying to figure out things.abailey21 it would be cool if you could answer to at least some of the questions.I know i'm not a racer so my questions are not the highest priority but your the SP guy so gotta ask here.
Got sand? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 04:49 PM   #2664
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Here is how to Open The Switch Case
you dont have to Cut them if you want to.
just unsolder it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZc-6OwHFPc
got it to fit.........now when i go to turn the esc on it doesnt turn on.


when i press&hold the setup button the esc turns on and everything is normal

but when i let go of the setup button.......the esc turns off.

i have no idea on whats happening. I checked my soldering and there is no contact between all of the wires.

should i try setting up the esc again?

another thing is when the switch is in the on position the esc beeps so i took it out quickly bcuz i thought it was reverse polarity or the input voltage abnormal alert tone

Last edited by kriiiss; 02-25-2010 at 05:14 PM.
kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:05 PM   #2665
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pica View Post
Adam,

For the mod 3.5T V3 Sp Motor,

can I use two super capacitor 4-6cell on my setup?
Also add a high voltage fan for the ESC GT 2.0 Pro?

For the 9.5T v3 can I use the 107, or 110

Thanks in advance
I could use two super caps, but why would you?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:09 PM   #2666
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Speed Passion Turbo and Stock Firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
110 is suppose to be cooler then 107...and I was referring to my prototype software that we are still testing, that has TURBO, BOOST, TIMING ADVANCE....by alot. Alot more then 110. Thats why it can be HOT if the AMTS was set higher then 6 (18.50)

Yes...+1 about get rid of the Nemisis....LOL
No wonder That version is noted "Stock" only.

it was The Turbo and Boost, with Dynamic timing included,

i like Speed Passion leave them as scientific name's rather Turbo and Boost.
since what they (other Factory) called Turbo is not really a Turbo.

as i can remember There is only one it called Turbo (for real),
once like past previous Tekin Brushed controller (i forgot the name),
that work like 1S Boost, build inside the ESC,
that will active when last Throttle is taken.
but Today Tekin Turbo is not that real Turbo anymore.

That all simply Dynamic timing.
rather causing Controversy on other company by naming "turbo".

as those previous Stock Firmware is for Stock only.
and such 205G is for Mod, where it will work on Stock either.

The problem with these kind of software is always Update the firmware
each time we want to change between Stock or Mod.

take a lesson, GM software is simply Turn off the Turbo on their settings
rather Update the firmware.

And that's is why SpeedPassion build Torque Limit adjustment for their
Dynamic Timing, because this way is better with less Firmware Switch.

So name Turbo,Boost , is likely to help us to know that
it was Different kind of Dynamic Timing.
Where here in Speed Passion we saw it as "Stock" noted on it's firmware.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:19 PM   #2667
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriiiss View Post
got it to fit.........now when i go to turn the esc on it doesnt turn on.


when i press&hold the setup button the esc turns on and everything is normal

but when i let go of the setup button.......the esc turns off.

i have no idea on whats happening. I checked my soldering and there is no contact between all of the wires.

should i try setting up the esc again?

another thing is when the switch is in the on position the esc beeps so i took it out quickly bcuz i thought it was reverse polarity or the input voltage abnormal alert tone
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
I am very much sure all these switch/setup button pieces are very much the same...order that one, open it up, then solder just like the SP one does (left to right in order, red black white...)

Open up your broken switch and take a picture of the wires in order...then solder the same order onto the new switch...no bridging.

Solara wiring is wrong.


Kriss you are put wires the wrong way,

you might be inverted between wires,

keep in mind the red is at center,
try to invert the white and the black wires.

look again at the video
Speed Passion Switch
__________________
Quark Force

Last edited by irgo; 02-25-2010 at 05:31 PM.
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:40 PM   #2668
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kriiiss
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Solara wiring is wrong.


Kriss you are put wires the wrong way,

you might be inverted between wires,

keep in mind the red is at center,
try to invert the white and the black wires.

look again at the video
Speed Passion Switch
yup looked at the video right now and it looks like my wiring was wrong

thanks a lot irgo for pointing that out
kriiiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 06:04 PM   #2669
Tech Master
 
MOmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,471
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Based on what I am seeing, MOST of the people posting here are running the SP in On-road applications. What to do about Off-road?

I'm in the process of setting up a Sp GT v2.0 mated to a 10.5 BL motor (with the new power current plugin system by Banzai. Anyone have any tips or setups for Off-road 4wd? I think I have the layout figured out, but my concern is with the placement of the capacitor etc. Is there anything different I should know about off-road vs on-road?


MOmo
__________________
RACE CARS: B44.1, RC8.2E FT, SC10.2 4X4, B5M, YZ-2
RADIO: Futaba 4PKS/3PKS. BATTERY: Venom
ESC: SpeedPassion. MOTORS: SpeedPassion / Venom
"Im not a racer, but I play one on the Internet"
MOmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 06:22 PM   #2670
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Higher FDR would be great starting point.


Adam, are you still with Speed Passion ?

Who will be in Tune here Directly from Speed Passion for Worlds ?
http://www.speedpassion.net/en/contactus.asp
Irgo, YOU need to contact Speed Passion and tell them to send me to the worlds....please
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0