R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2010, 08:47 PM   #2566
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,560
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

if I got time tonight, I'll look into it. Right now, getting other stuff ready.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:50 PM   #2567
Tech Master
 
The Hawaiian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: by a lake, FL
Posts: 1,811
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post

Are you guys also running 1S?
not me I'm just getting use to lipos and brushless motor's...

I'll stick with my 2s for now
__________________
Justin "haole boy" Perry USCG (CGC Firebush)
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility, da BEST clay off-road track in Florida.
!!Treat me the way you want to be Treated!!Race me the way you want to be Raced!!
The Hawaiian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:26 AM   #2568
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

cain try and pull back the timing a bit. if its cogging/stuttering at speed you could most likely be overtimed.
The new software ramps up timing for more rpm hence why its more so a hassle with the 107/110 software.
Like irgo mentioned pull back motor timing or alternatively just back of timing on the esc.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 06:17 AM   #2569
Tech Master
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to mr crum
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
capacitor is on the ESC.

Timing is stock on the motors. running 22.5 degree as that is what I have seen posted by others running 1S.

Are you guys also running 1S?
just tryin to think of anything that could be causing it weird that it works fine on 2s but coggs on on 1s
__________________
SPEED PASSION TEAM DRIVER
ADAB RACING FACTORY PILOT
WWW.ADRENALINERACEWAY.COM
FL INDOOR R/C COMPLEX
TEAM B.R. RACING
mr crum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 07:47 PM   #2570
Tech Addict
 
Akudou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: KL
Posts: 749
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Anyone flashed the SP Feigao endless esc before? Is it capable of being flashed just like the 2.0?
Akudou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:33 PM   #2571
Tech Fanatic
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

I recently posted that I had an SP 13.5 v3 that seemed to have sensor problems... 'bjspinner' provided some key insight into what might be the problem, and then later posted a 'how-to' on "fixing" it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
Have you had a look at how close the sensor is to the rotor on the ver 3 motor?

You may be able to shim (remove shim/s and move to the pinnion end of rotor) the rotor closer to the sensor board.

We were dynoing motors and found on the version 2 this would stop cogging as the motor warmed up( also increased power by 5 watts)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
pull the motor ends of the can and remove the rotor.Where are the shims placed on the rotor( my bet 3 on the sensor end).

Get the sensor end and leave it intact, now place the rotor into the bearing and see how much gap there is between the rotor and the sensor board.

Remove a shim at a time and see how the gap closes up,put that shim at the other end so as to not increase the total end play and give it a try.

Just remember every thing expands when it is hot so dont go to close to the sensor board with the rotor.
To be safe, I did some more research and found where Shawn had posted some recommended sensor/rotor spacing information...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn Palmer View Post
Use the shims at the back of the rotor to make sure the rotor doesn't actually hit the sensors on the sensor board as it rotates. About 1 mm is fairly standard spacing between the rotor and the sensors.

As far as spacing goes - yes, it can make a difference. the closer the proximity of the sensor to the rotor the stronger the signal is to the ESC. Although there is some convoluted instances where close and strong could be too close and too strong for some ESCs, being farther and farther away can in most cases start to degrade the signal and you potentially lose some accuracy.

Generally though within the space available in a motor - not much worry about too far away, just make sure you're not scraping the sensors with the rotor .
I tore down my SP 13.5 v3 and found that the rotor to sensor spacing was approximately 2mm -- roughly twice what Shawn had recommended! I have adjusted the spacing down to 1mm, and have only been able to do a workbench test, but Tuesday night I hope to get in a full track test on "practice night"... I'll report my findings then in the hope that some of this might help someone else...

Thanks for everyone's input...
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:37 PM   #2572
Tech Fanatic
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr crum View Post
just tryin to think of anything that could be causing it weird that it works fine on 2s but coggs on on 1s
Just a shot in the dark, but I've been chasing sensor gremlins with my v3 13.5, and I wonder if the rotor to sensor spacing was too great, would that make the sensor more "voltage sensative" with some versions of the software..? If it did this might be a part of your problem...?
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:51 PM   #2573
Tech Elite
 
san.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 4,289
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by san. View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I think they're looking for another release of software on or around the 19th
Any news?
Anyone?
__________________
Awesomatix USA||Roche RC USA||Sanwa
san. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 01:56 AM   #2574
Tech Master
 
Drillit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oreganastan Pacific Wonderland home to Indoor Farming
Posts: 1,059
Default

To all those who are trying to help with the 12th scale 1s "stuttering" issue.......this IS normal when YOU hold it in your hand and free rev the chassis!!!!!!!
This setup (pin spur diff axle) really likes to Bark and Growl when tested like that

Put The Car On The Track to do the testing

Cain, if you have read all of TryHards posts, Ed has had "success" (?) with the 107 and 110 using 4 cell nimh, I on the other hand run 1s and have NOT been able to get it to perform at all I mean it works, just no initial punch, running 17.5 v3 and 13.5 v3 . I had to dig up the old 312 to make it work!

I have hope that SP will be a 'player' in the 1s game in the future.

Mark
__________________
Mark Tilley
Got T-Bar ? ......... Oregons No ZigZag rule sucks
Bias the weight to the end you want to hit the wall with first!
Searchin fer answers in the Fog.......that's what I found

Last edited by Drillit; 02-22-2010 at 02:36 AM. Reason: better choice of performing word
Drillit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 02:47 AM   #2575
Tech Master
 
Drillit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oreganastan Pacific Wonderland home to Indoor Farming
Posts: 1,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by san. View Post
Anyone?
when you read the whole thread, you will find that SP USA will not "Share the 'Ware before it's Time"..........


If Adam and crew are not satisfied with it, why would/should they just throw something out here to us, the public, just because it is 'new'?!
__________________
Mark Tilley
Got T-Bar ? ......... Oregons No ZigZag rule sucks
Bias the weight to the end you want to hit the wall with first!
Searchin fer answers in the Fog.......that's what I found
Drillit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:16 AM   #2576
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akudou View Post
Anyone flashed the SP Feigao endless esc before? Is it capable of being flashed just like the 2.0?
no
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:17 AM   #2577
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by san. View Post
Anyone?
It's being tested right now
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 07:32 AM   #2578
Tech Master
 
The Hawaiian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: by a lake, FL
Posts: 1,811
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
It's being tested right now
cool...can't wait
__________________
Justin "haole boy" Perry USCG (CGC Firebush)
NewRed Hobbies & Indoor Facility, da BEST clay off-road track in Florida.
!!Treat me the way you want to be Treated!!Race me the way you want to be Raced!!
The Hawaiian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 07:45 AM   #2579
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 26,560
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drillit View Post
To all those who are trying to help with the 12th scale 1s "stuttering" issue.......this IS normal when YOU hold it in your hand and free rev the chassis!!!!!!!
This setup (pin spur diff axle) really likes to Bark and Growl when tested like that

Put The Car On The Track to do the testing

Cain, if you have read all of TryHards posts, Ed has had "success" (?) with the 107 and 110 using 4 cell nimh, I on the other hand run 1s and have NOT been able to get it to perform at all I mean it works, just no initial punch, running 17.5 v3 and 13.5 v3 . I had to dig up the old 312 to make it work!

I have hope that SP will be a 'player' in the 1s game in the future.

Mark
Thank for the info and everyone else who helped. What are the settings you are running on the 312 software when you use the V3.0 17.5 , as well as what your settings are on the motor? Do you change any of the sensor spacing? (the distance of the rotor to the sensor, mine has 3 shims I believe on the sensor side)

Originally I was going to run the 323, but someone a the track had internet and let me load up whatever software I wanted after downloading it.

So, I went with the 107 after talking to others who said that the high end shuddering / whirring occuring was normal. It was actually happening when the motor sort of kicked in to the next gear it seemed, assuming this is because of the software.

Anyway, with that sorted I went ahead and ran the vehicle, and here is what I found throughout the night that I hope someone can help with:

setup:

- Associated RC12r5.1 set to stock configuration
- Magenta tires all around ( I think they are Jacos)
- 76T Spur
- SMC 25C 4000mah 1S Lipo
- Spektrum SR3500 Receiver
- AMBrc Transponder
- Futaba S9602? servo
- TQ Booster (white shrinkwrap version)
- Speed Passion GT2.0 LPF or Pro (tried both)
- Speed Passion V3.0 17.5 motor

I had the issue of basically the vehicle going into "coast" mode as I would describe it. when driving the vehicle, and it happened often on start up, it would just go to about 60% throttle or so and just hang out there. One whole race it did this for the entire race. the next one when it did it, I would "crash", and that would kick it over to be able to really go to full throttle. I tried a variety of different things:

- With and without (no receiver pack) booster (ESC runs fine with no booster as well as electronics)
- Different speed control (changed from GT2.0 LPF to GT2.0Pro)
- Different battery (SMC 25C to an SMC CMax)

When I ran the ESC with boost, I made sure and left the ESC off and switched the booster on. When I ran the ESC only, I turned the booster off, and turned the ESC on. (everything still hooked up)

Also tried retarding the timing on the motor, as well as changing settings on the ESC as far as timing goes and punch. Still had the problem.

Any ideas? It wasn't a brown out like what I saw the Tekin driver using the Novak booster was getting as I could get this "coast" effect with the TQ Booster as well as without it, and the car basically didn't just "die" in a way like his was. it would just go into this "coast" mode. Almost like when real cars go into 3rd gear when something is wrong in the other ones. when it was working, it had some punch and definitely had good speed.

Really need help here as other than myself, no one else runs the speed passions indoors at the track I go to, it pretty much a Tekin show, and I think maybe some LRPs thrown in too.

As a side note, I lent another driver the 17.5 ultra Shawn sent me awhile back, and he liked it enough that he wanted to hang on to it for a bit more.
__________________
< Team Associated RC10B6D>
< Durango DESC410V2, DEX410V5>
Cain is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:57 AM   #2580
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Tomorrow Speed Passion

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
It's being tested right now
Tested today, so what else other than 100222 firmware?

We have seen There is DMTS and Torque Limit from Speed Passion.

Will the new software had "The New Advanced Function" ?

Will Speed Passion LCD Professional had "The New Advanced Function" ?

what could be surprising on the new software ?

Glad to see Adam with new Secrets / Myth.

and i had Myth too, that LCD Professional might got more capability,
than we know now, has not yet been used.

The Myth is Speed Passion LCD Professional did not keep settings on LCD Professional.
The 3 Profiles Settings is saved at GT Esc it self.
The fact is came up when ESC firmware change , Settings Change as well.
while LCD Professional Firmware was not Changed at all.
Another Fact is that SP LCD Professional can not carried any ESC Firmware
in it.
And they (aliens) say why would need to carry such big computer while
Speed Passion LCD Professional can do it.

Wow That's the Myth, and why would need LCD Professional ?
Speed Passion Answer it with Tiny USB Interface,
and came up with the new Sighting Software, that may looks like
Log Software, it look's very nice there.


So maybe we cant wait to see The New Software.
And let's see How Professional is Speed Passion LCD Professional.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:47 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0