R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2010, 05:00 PM   #2446
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
That's correct,
That's why i am asking to adam
when is speed passion LCD Professional
to allow Torque Limit Custom Value, DMTS 2.0, etc.
even Graphics adjustment software allowed us to have multi curved.

this our mandate.

WOWZERS^that is CRRRRRRaaaazy. Maybe he got the defintion of "mandate" confused with something else.

From what I can see SP came out with a new ESC for a reason. I know that the 2.0 is a great speedo. I ran one myself for quite a while and really liked it. Once I figured out that all the settings have a certain purpose. I am pretty sure the timing settings on the esc work best for specific motors. I just dont understand why some are so demanding from a company..(not to make it sound like they are not listening to us) and should be listening to everything you say at all . They have there own R&D with people who know what they are talking about because unlike us are actually on top of there ISh

I know they have great customer support but I kinda feel sorry for them at times when I read this thread

M
__________________
Houston,Texas
Serpent 733 EVO
Mikes Hobby shop-Porter Texas/ Gulf coast Raceway"Electric Is For Hairdryers"..Eric Koger
Chris Totcky@facebook.com
Tha Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 06:03 PM   #2447
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,171
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmracer View Post
Right guys got my 2.0 lpf and v3 10.5 motor the other week done one test session so far and impressed... didnt get enough runs to get the gearing right though but it seems with the new v3 it needs to be geared right down compared to the other motors that are out atm (lrp x12) i ended up gearing on 5.6 on a medium sized track and i think there was still room for more gearing down ....motor wasnt that hot and was still ripping out of the corners this was with all pf the speedo settings on full punch and timing... timing was also full 10 degress on the motor! and yeah from what the guys have said on this thread the brakes are very smooth!

Just after a bit of comfidence really with the different firmware upgrades for the speedo just ordered my LCD PROGRAMMER and after reading some positive things people have said that there is quite an improvment to be had from the software that comes on the speedo from the factory whats peoples poinions on this from testing? and has anyone found one thats really good with 10.5 brushless? I know there are some on this thread but its so long now id need to hire someone to read through it for me ! lol

Cheers guys....SP all the way!
ok, when you get your programmer, grab the v1.32 software off the SP site, and then load onto the ESC the top firmware (107Stock).
Settings I ended up on with that were;
Timining; 22deg
DRRS; 7
Drag brake; 5%
Initial brake; as drag
dead band; 6ms
Thermal protect; on
FDR; ~6.2 to start, check temps and gear accordingly
Motor was an SP v3 10.5t... I'd also leave the motor timing at max, seems to like that.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:06 PM   #2448
Tech Regular
 
louielou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 309
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default speedpassion 2.0 pro

i got a speedpassion pro 2.0 for any one who is interested. $140.00 obo
__________________
Thanks
Luis

email-vegaloulou@aol.com
Ebay account LOU840
louielou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:50 PM   #2449
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Default SP

Thanks Ed (Tryhard) ive got you on my msn so il let you know what happens when my LCD PROGRAMMER arrives! It aint far off with the software that comes with it but it could do with some improvment what kind of improvment did you notice when upgrading? Thanks again!
rjmracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:07 PM   #2450
Tech Fanatic
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 952
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfrahm View Post
I searched the thread, and never found what I was looking for, so here goes...


When I first got an SP ESC (GT2.0 LPF), and Ultrasportsman 13.5, I also ordered an SP sensor cable -- everything worked great...

When I bought the second GT2.0 LPF, I used it with a Novak motor -- everything worked great...

However, when I did some motor swapping and changed from the Ultrasportsman 13.5 to a v3 13.5, I needed another sensor cable, and all the hobby shop had were LRP cables. I figured "No Problem" -- they are "compatible", right?

The original LPF worked fine at first, then during the second heat race, the car started to run rough and lost speed..???? After the race, I found that the sensor cable had worked loose at the ESC... Plugged it back in - made SURE it was fully seated, ran fine in the third heat... Then in the main, same thing -- cogging at low speed, lost top end -- sensor cable loose again...

At home, I realized that the LRP cable plug seems to be a hair smaller, and doesn't "lock into the ESC"... ????? (even fully seated, it pulls out easily with just a small tug on the cable..)

OH -- PS: at the track I tried to change to a Novak cable, but no-go -- it would NOT fully seat in the ESC.. As noted earlier, I've run Novak motors/cables with the other LPF, so I know it SHOULD work, but...?

I now suspect that "compatible" really isn't, and that the quality control on these little cables isn't what I thought it was...?

Any advice on sensor cables? Are the SpeedPassion cables that much better? (I NEVER had a problem with this ESC using the SP cable with the previous motor...)

Thanks in advance for any help...
UPDATE:
I rushed an order for an SP sensor cable from Stormer, and I also seemed to get the LRP cable better seated in the meantime... Saturday night, the SP13.5v3 and LRP cable was fine in practice -- I figured "problem solved"... WRONG! -- In the first heat, the motor/ESC again reverted to sensorless mode, cogging at low speeds, and losing 10-15% of top end speed... I changed to the SP sensor cable for the second heat -- motor/ESC ran great, so I figured "problem solved"... WRONG! In the third heat, the motor/ESC again reverted to sensorless operation, cogging, etc... I gave up and installed the old Ultrasportsman 13.5R for the A-main (with SP Sensor cable) -- ran perfect...

I now assume the problem is with the motor -- most likely a bad sensor assembly, as the motor runs fine otherwise...

QUESTION: What is the part number for the v3 sensor assembly? Where can I order one...?
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:48 PM   #2451
Tech Fanatic
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 952
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default v3 Sensor Unit...

OK -- According to the Speed Passion site, the v3 sensor is: SB128...?
Schumacher USA lists the v3 sensor as: SB218..?

I assumed one site or the other has a typo, so I ordered the SB218 from Schumacher USA... I hope that's right... (too late now.. LOL!)
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:55 PM   #2452
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfrahm View Post
UPDATE:
I rushed an order for an SP sensor cable from Stormer, and I also seemed to get the LRP cable better seated in the meantime... Saturday night, the SP13.5v3 and LRP cable was fine in practice -- I figured "problem solved"... WRONG! -- In the first heat, the motor/ESC again reverted to sensorless mode, cogging at low speeds, and losing 10-15% of top end speed... I changed to the SP sensor cable for the second heat -- motor/ESC ran great, so I figured "problem solved"... WRONG! In the third heat, the motor/ESC again reverted to sensorless operation, cogging, etc... I gave up and installed the old Ultrasportsman 13.5R for the A-main (with SP Sensor cable) -- ran perfect...

I now assume the problem is with the motor -- most likely a bad sensor assembly, as the motor runs fine otherwise...

QUESTION: What is the part number for the v3 sensor assembly? Where can I order one...?
Have you had a look at how close the sensor is to the rotor on the ver 3 motor?

You may be able to shim (remove shim/s and move to the pinnion end of rotor) the rotor closer to the sensor board.

We were dynoing motors and found on the version 2 this would stop cogging as the motor warmed up( also increased power by 5 watts)
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:04 PM   #2453
Tech Fanatic
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 952
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
Have you had a look at how close the sensor is to the rotor on the ver 3 motor?

You may be able to shim (remove shim/s and move to the pinnion end of rotor) the rotor closer to the sensor board.

We were dynoing motors and found on the version 2 this would stop cogging as the motor warmed up( also increased power by 5 watts)
Hmmm... That might make sense... every time I change the cable, the process would push on the sensor assembly, right? Then as the motor runs, the sensor could move/vibrate back away from the rotor...??? From the video of how to disassemble the v3's, it looks like the sensor is held in place by being sandwiched between two soft vinyl pads, which might (?) allow for movement of the sensor unit...? On the other hand, from the external view, this motor has zero endplay of the rotor in the can, so I don't know how much there is to "shim" unless I can move a shim from one end to the other, but the video doesn't make it clear how the rotor is shimmed, so...?
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:17 PM   #2454
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfrahm View Post
Hmmm... That might make sense... every time I change the cable, the process would push on the sensor assembly, right? Then as the motor runs, the sensor could move/vibrate back away from the rotor...??? From the video of how to disassemble the v3's, it looks like the sensor is held in place by being sandwiched between two soft vinyl pads, which might (?) allow for movement of the sensor unit...? On the other hand, from the external view, this motor has zero endplay of the rotor in the can, so I don't know how much there is to "shim" unless I can move a shim from one end to the other, but the video doesn't make it clear how the rotor is shimmed, so...?


pull the motor ends of the can and remove the rotor.Where are the shims placed on the rotor( my bet 3 on the sensor end).

Get the sensor end and leave it intact, now place the rotor into the bearing and see how much gap there is between the rotor and the sensor board.

Remove a shim at a time and see how the gap closes up,put that shim at the other end so as to not increase the total end play and give it a try.

Just remember every thing expands when it is hot so dont go to close to the sensor board with the rotor.
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:18 PM   #2455
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Scramento, Ca
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tha Skinny View Post
WOWZERS^that is CRRRRRRaaaazy. Maybe he got the defintion of "mandate" confused with something else.

From what I can see SP came out with a new ESC for a reason. I know that the 2.0 is a great speedo. I ran one myself for quite a while and really liked it. Once I figured out that all the settings have a certain purpose. I am pretty sure the timing settings on the esc work best for specific motors. I just dont understand why some are so demanding from a company..(not to make it sound like they are not listening to us) and should be listening to everything you say at all . They have there own R&D with people who know what they are talking about because unlike us are actually on top of there ISh

I know they have great customer support but I kinda feel sorry for them at times when I read this thread

M
+10
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP Cirtix Stock/Novak 25.5
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS/21.5
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:32 PM   #2456
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the speedpassion update software will work with a apple computer? I've found a great deal on a iBook but no sense in getting it if the speedpassion stuff won't work on it as that's what I'm trying to get a laptop for the track
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:40 PM   #2457
Tech Fanatic
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 952
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
Get the sensor end and leave it intact, now place the rotor into the bearing and see how much gap there is between the rotor and the sensor board.

Remove a shim at a time and see how the gap closes up,put that shim at the other end so as to not increase the total end play and give it a try.
Thanks -- very clearly written... I was having trouble figuring out how to see the spacing inside the can... Your tip to remove the sensor end and placing the rotor into the bearing with this assembly outside the can is one of those "obvious" things that made me go 'DOH!'... Thanks again...
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:26 AM   #2458
Boz
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Iím using a GT2.0 Pro in a T4 and I have 8.5 and 10.5 V3.0 motors to choose from.

From the reading above, I should upload a different SW when using my 8.5?


Which software should I upload when using the 8.5 V3.0 in T4?

Which software should I upload when using the 10.5 V3.0 in T4?
__________________
Chris Bozich
Xray XB4 and XB2
Futaba 4PX and servo's
Powered by Nosram motors and FX engines.
Many thanks to HEI and Perth RC for their support over the years.
Boz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:50 AM   #2459
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Hey does anyone know the release date of the new software??

Cannot wait to test the 2.1 stock software


Alex
__________________
v-dezign // black diamond

Hoot RC for Local Supplies > www.hootrc.com.au
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:43 AM   #2460
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me_MrTyson View Post
Hey does anyone know the release date of the new software??

Cannot wait to test the 2.1 stock software


Alex
On Page 157? this was said:

"I think they're looking for another release of software on or around the 19th"

whether this is the 2.1 software? or just more team software from mayb the birds, who knows...
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0