R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2010, 01:44 PM   #2266
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,354
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

dsyed1,

What motor timing are you using on your SP Ver 3 17.5R motor?

I have found the 107 software to be the faster than the 110. I am still experimenting with settings, so I will give your setup a go.

Thank you,

Regards,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:14 PM   #2267
Tech Regular
 
dsyed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caltek1 View Post
dsyed1,

What motor timing are you using on your SP Ver 3 17.5R motor?

I have found the 107 software to be the faster than the 110. I am still experimenting with settings, so I will give your setup a go.

Thank you,

Regards,

Calvin.
i am running max physical timing on the motor (10 degrees i believe), and max on the esc 26 degrees... depending on your driving style you may get varying temp readings .. so i would recommend 22 degrees on esc to start with and max on motor

if you feel you still need more power and are temping below 155-160F then go to 26 degrees on esc
dsyed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:28 PM   #2268
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara View Post
I have yet to try 10.5....but you can definitely use the 1107 or 1110 software for 10.5 motor. My guess is 5.8 final drive but that is just my guess...use your last final drive from your previously used speedo to start and keep checking on motor temp and speed.

AMTS set at 6, DRRS set at 7....motor timing @ stock.
Great, Thank you
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:58 PM   #2269
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by my4ari View Post
Can anyone shed some light on whats going on with my motors. I have had 2 ultra sportsman 13.5 motors and both have cooked themselves after only a very short time of having them. The 2nd one cooked yesterday after only the 2nd run from new. I used the suggested gearing that the motor came with and after the first run was temp at 58deg celcius. After 3 mins of my 2nd race, about 3 mins into it the motor suddenly slowed so i pulled off. Temp gun showed 134deg celcius. Cars drivetrain is really free running and the speed control (Speed Passion GT2.0 Pro) was only at 56deg. I really dont know what im doing wrong but its getting really really expensive having to buy motors all the time and quite frankly, 2 motors in such a short time im regretting ever buying speed passion products. Please help
What ESC?
What S/W?
What Gearing?
What kind of Car?
indoor/outdoor?

I wouldn't trash the the motors until you actually post a reason why you have 2 blown motors
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:13 PM   #2270
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,354
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

dsyed1,

Thank you for the info. I have been running max timing in the speedo and mid on the motor witha FDR of 5.18.

I will try more timing before changing the gearing.

Regards,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:33 PM   #2271
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyed1 View Post
by no means this is an official and detailed comparison analysis of the different speed controls, I have all three of them and tried running them all and ended up staying with SP gear
That's good

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyed1 View Post
i am racing in the 17.5 class so everyone runs 17.5 from one brand or another, people are running anything from a duo, duo2, lrp x12, novak and speed passion v2 and v3 motors, but speedos are mostly either tekin or spx also most folks here are using similar 40c to 50c type lipo batteries as well
Same enough Power comparison

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyed1 View Post
my motor temps are around 155-160 in the above setup, not sure the temp on the esc but i have the stock sp fan running on it..
too bad cannot get the ESC Temp...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyed1 View Post
i am currently racing with the same cars as well (xray t2/t3) that are running Tekin and SPX... I know off the line at start of the race my car has much more torque but Tekin 203 will pass me fairly easily once the turbo kicks in...
Now this is the fact when happen in the line,
So far Turbo realy great, yes ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyed1 View Post
I think what i was trying to point out to in my observation is that car setup and driving skills are also a big part of the equation...
I Agree with that,

your comparison details is very useful,

too bad miss the esc temps

So Turbo is fast, i believe Speed Passion
must improve something on this.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 10:19 PM   #2272
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Default Speed Passion - Hobbywing? LCD

Hi guys im new to the site been reading your thread some good stuff about the 2.0 which ive just bought...got the v3 10.5 too!

Right il get to the question... ive bought a hobbywing LCD PROGRAMMER as it looks the same and does the same etc as i cant get hold of a speed passion one anywhere!

It is on there website as i cant post URL yet but the prgram for the pc and box etc all look the same!

It should work with my Sp GT2.0LPF right? Please say yes!
Russ
rjmracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 10:38 PM   #2273
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmracer View Post
Hi guys im new to the site been reading your thread some good stuff about the 2.0 which ive just bought...got the v3 10.5 too!

Right il get to the question... ive bought a hobbywing LCD PROGRAMMER as it looks the same and does the same etc as i cant get hold of a speed passion one anywhere!

It is on there website as i cant post URL yet but the prgram for the pc and box etc all look the same!

It should work with my Sp GT2.0LPF right? Please say yes!
Russ
Russ, i am afraid, although they are the same LCD unit, the software in the HW LCD is completely different and will not allow you to install the Speedpassion Software. I made the mistake to try the HW software and once i did it, i could no longer revert back to the Speedpassion stuff. I had to send my LCD box to Speedpassion to get it Re-Flashed. Big pain in the you know what...
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 11:19 PM   #2274
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
Russ, i am afraid, although they are the same LCD unit, the software in the HW LCD is completely different and will not allow you to install the Speedpassion Software. I made the mistake to try the HW software and once i did it, i could no longer revert back to the Speedpassion stuff. I had to send my LCD box to Speedpassion to get it Re-Flashed. Big pain in the you know what...
you are taking it wrong way using HW software on SpeedPassion LCD

He is not Using HW Software on SpeedPassion LCD but
he is using HW LCD and running SP Software, that will work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmracer View Post
Hi guys im new to the site been reading your thread some good stuff about the 2.0 which ive just bought...got the v3 10.5 too!

Right il get to the question... ive bought a hobbywing LCD PROGRAMMER as it looks the same and does the same etc as i cant get hold of a speed passion one anywhere!

It is on there website as i cant post URL yet but the prgram for the pc and box etc all look the same!

It should work with my Sp GT2.0LPF right? Please say yes!
Russ
__________________
Quark Force

Last edited by irgo; 02-08-2010 at 11:29 PM.
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 11:59 PM   #2275
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
Russ, i am afraid, although they are the same LCD unit, the software in the HW LCD is completely different and will not allow you to install the Speedpassion Software. I made the mistake to try the HW software and once i did it, i could no longer revert back to the Speedpassion stuff. I had to send my LCD box to Speedpassion to get it Re-Flashed. Big pain in the you know what...
Here you go, yes it works........

Charlie you either need to read peoples posts properly or you need to stop trying to mislead people. As discussed before am willing to stay quiet for the sake of the SP 'Brand' but lets not mislead people eh?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post

Basically all I have done is Flash the LCD Programmer with the Speed Passion Ver 1.32 Software, funnily enough, as soon as you do this the start up welcome screen on the programmer then reads Speed Passion V1.02??





.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 12:19 AM   #2276
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 743
Default

I don't think it's a case of misleading people, people just need to realize that if they happen to brick there LCD programmer or ESC because the incorrect software was used then it's all on them and they will have no right to come on here and ask Speed Passion "BUT WHY ?"

Since Charlie has already experienced a failure on an LCD programmer by using the incorrect software I think he has every right to forewarn people.
__________________
Xray T4 2017 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray T4 2017 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 ~ R1 Wurks 13.5
Xray X12 2016 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 ~ Orca TX 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 12:26 AM   #2277
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
I don't think it's a case of misleading people, people just need to realize that if they happen to brick there LCD programmer or ESC because the incorrect software was used then it's all on them and they will have no right to come on here and ask Speed Passion "BUT WHY ?"

Since Charlie has already experienced a failure on an LCD programmer by using the incorrect software I think he has every right to forewarn people.
As I stated before..... you guys need to READ the posts before jumping on the SP defence band wagon.
So far the only LCD units that have gone tits up are the SP ones, the HW ones can rotate back and forth as often as you like, intentional hobbling anyone?

If like us here in the UK, you are UNABLE to buy the SP ones as the Distibutor doesn't have them, AND there IS a guy here selling HW ones for 20 then we are going to HAVE to buy and use the Hobbywing one.

It just beggars belief the way that Americans think that the rest of the world just doesn't exist lol (unless it's got oil of course lol)
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 12:51 AM   #2278
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Dont really see what benefit its going to bring if there is going to be damage done to poeples programmers or esc's. Most likely scenario is bad publicity for not only SP but HW too.
Have to agree with Cherry the hassles has been with SP programmers but it must have been due to smome other hassles seeing i have been changing back and forth for a while with my SP programmer and have had no issues.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 01:29 AM   #2279
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Here you go, yes it works........

Charlie you either need to read peoples posts properly or you need to stop trying to mislead people. As discussed before am willing to stay quiet for the sake of the SP 'Brand' but lets not mislead people eh?
Congratulates ! Welcome To the Speed Passion World.
When The Speed is your Passion.

After That, why Don't you try To Run
HW Software on your HW LCD back?
up your HW Firmware to HW LCD back.
show us the Image results again ?
will You cherry2blost?
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 01:45 AM   #2280
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Plymouth, New Zealand
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
What ESC?
What S/W?
What Gearing?
What kind of Car?
indoor/outdoor?

I wouldn't trash the the motors until you actually post a reason why you have 2 blown motors
Running SP GT2.0 brand new (also the first run) with all the stock settings
Gearing was 5.25
Schumacher Mi3.5pro
Outdoor smooth medium grip asphalt.

As for a reason why i have 2 blown motors, I wouldnt have a clue. Up until November last year i ran a Novak GTB with SS13.5 motor running 4.5FDR without any issues. Thought i was upgrading by buying th SP GT2.0 and SP 13.5 motor. First GT2.0 was faulty and SP replaced it immediately as it never worked properly, and now my motor issues. What else can i say, it must just be my bad luck
my4ari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed Passion GT Competition Brushless ESC v2.0 Low Profile, LPF pink_sleeve Electric On-Road 13 07-08-2009 10:17 AM


Tags
gt2, lack of help, overpriced, poor customer service, reventon, reventon pro, speed passion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0